We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food OK. Service terrible.”
Review of The Star of India - CLOSED

The Star of India
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Paris, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food OK. Service terrible.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food is as you would expect from an average Indian restaurant.

The service was so slow it spoiled the evening. After being told "it's just coming now.." a couple of times while we waited over an hour and a quarter, we had given up and were putting our coats on when the food appeared.

My daughter was over tired by the time the food arrived so didn't eat much..

No sign of the "Friendly Owners" in other reviews unfortunately.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann_n_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    40
    9
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Tasty Indian”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for a takeaway after mooring up. The manager was very friendly and chatty, we didn't have to wait long for our food and even after a ten minute walk back in the freezing cold our food was piping hot! It tasted fresh and full of flavours! Would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca11767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely food, Friendly owners, The only good food hygene rated Indian for miles!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a lovely meal here, food hot and tasty, well presented. Very friendly, personal service, owner introduced himself. Restaurant very basic but clean.
If you check out the food standards agency app most indian restaurants do badly but this one does very well which was important to us.
They will also deliver rurally for a few quid extra which is great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrsvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Horrendous! We ordered a take away which we picked up, inside the restaurant was practically empty apart from a couple who looked like they were not enjoying it. The food was terrible like another review we too ended up with a bright red coconut concoction that went in the bin along with the so called chicken tikka. To be fair though the garlic curry was very nice and we could not understand why the quality of the food was so hit and miss and miss is what we will be doing when we return next year.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun4444d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“SUPERB DELIVERY CURRY”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

What does one want from a delivery curry. One wants it to be piping hot, tasting as a good as a restaurant meal and a correct order. Well readers I got all three tonight from the Star. By the way it was also delivered on time on a Friday night. So if you live nearby or are holidaying in the area you will not be disappointed. I have also eaten here and the whole experience was very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kamanoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Star of India also viewed

 
Hoveton, Wroxham
Hoveton, Wroxham
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing