We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Hoveton

“Very tasty local Thai Restaurant ”
Review of Yim Siam

Yim Siam
Ranked #7 of 18 Restaurants in Hoveton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Award winning Thai restaurant producing tasty authentic Thai cuisine, using home grown organic and loacl free range ingredients in every dish.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A small, often quiet local Thai in a small shopping precinct (but with very close parking). Very nice menu and the food we had was very tasty. They do takeaway also. Would recommend supporting them as after losing the local Indian Wroxham can not afford to have another restaurant close

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank MGowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 232 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

Found this restaurant open on a rainy midweek ,when quiet everywhere else .chose soup and tempura prawns for our starters followed by crispy duck plate and sizzling beef with ginger and vegetables ,with noodles and rice as sides .all delicious and freshly prepared.tge flavours were so good . lovely people there too .will definitely return .

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2019

We ordered a take away as we always liked this takeaway (before new management) the food came to £32 for two starters, two curries and one rice which is a lot but fine if it’s nice... but it wasn’t and we both had terrible stomach upset afterwards. Some of the food was undercooked, some was reheated and some was not as described as per the menu and was very watery. I sent and email off to express my disappointment and never even had a response or apology. They’re overpriced and obviously not hygienic. If you, like me, expect a decent meal for £32 and not to be very ill as a result of eating it, I strongly recommend you dine elsewhere.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank a0zzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

I couldn't find this restaurant in Horning, as shown on the map, but the address gives the reason why; it's in Wroxham, well Hoveton actually. Surprised nobody appears to have picked this on reading the recent reviews.
Don't let the run down decor put you off. The food is good with a choice of what you want with your Pad Choi for example. Prices keen and service prompt.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2019

This restaurant was recommended to us by a local so we were had high expectations. We rang to book a table and the phone wasn’t answered however they called back shortly afterwards to take our booking.
Upon arrival we were seated and were pleased to see a fan near our table as it was a very warm evening. Our order was taken - there was a confused look when trying to order an orange and lemonade and it took 2 staff members to understand our request but we got it in the end.
From this point onwards the evening went downhill. We ordered the mixed starters for 3 and a mushroom soup to begin with. The soup arrived 5 minutes after the starters and despite tables around us being given a bowl of prawn crackers, none were offered to us.
A group of around 10 people arrived and were quite loud and brash. We felt sorry for the table of 2 who were sat next to them, in fact they finished and left soon after and the next couple to be sat next to them walked out.
The ‘noisy table’ must have said they were hot as the next thing we knew the fan was been moved towards them. We asked the guy who had moved it why he had taken it and could he bring it back and was told ‘it’s not my restaurant, she’s the manager’. I’m not sure what this had to do with anything unless they felt that a table of 10 would spend more money than us. We’re not entirely sure why they needed the fan as they spent most of their time outside or shouting across to each other.
The ‘manager’ came over to us to clear our glasses and asked us if we wanted anything else or just the bill - we hadn’t had our main courses yet! We did remark that first they moved the fan and then they offered the bill, perhaps they wanted us to leave? No response.
Our main courses arrived and they were nothing special. Very runny sauces and the crab rice was missing one vital ingredient - crab! We decided by this point to eat up and get out of there.
The bill was £125 for 5 people; not great value and we won’t be back. On a positive note, the young waiter and waitress were very polite.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linzviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yim Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing