We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring”
Review of Wroxham Barns

Wroxham Barns
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Hoveton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wroxham Barns is one of Norfolk's leading tourist attractions. With its accent firmly on quality and with strong green credentials, it manages that really rather rare thing - of appealing to different ages. Grown-ups enjoy pottering around the shops and workshops, often chatting to the artists themselves or stopping to watch a craftsman create something unique. With a wood turner, stained glass specialist and Chris Hutchins from Norfolk Sketches, you will find the gift that is just that bit special. Fashion lovers should seek out the Gallery where labels such as Seasalt, Ness and Steilmann are on offer along sidehand bags, scarves, hats and more. And Sugar and Spice offers quirky children's pieces which are much more fun than items offered in the High Street. Foodie lovers are especially well catered for as the Pantry is packed with delicious food, much sourced locally so you can stock up your own store cupboards with jams, chutneys, oils,wines and more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Shopping outlet at it's most uninspired!!! But then again I don't like shopping anywhere. Same old stuff to buy that no-one really wants IMO.

1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Oh dear, the headline of this review does not read well! Dear reader, I would just ask you to maybe read a few of the reviews here before deciding if you want to visit us at Wroxham Barns…and we really hope you do! I am grateful that Paul admits that he “don't like shopping anywhere” so maybe his view is somewhat biased! But we are pleased that Paul visited Norfolk and really hope that he enjoyed his time in our lovely county.
But to respond to Paul’s view that our shopping outlet is uninspired, I offer this overview of what you will find to entertain even the most discerning of shoppers… Sew Creative (brilliant quilting and patchwork shop), The Norfolk Gallery (uniquely we only display Norfolk “subjects” but wide range of mediums), Chris Hutchins Norfolk Sketches (Chris is a professional artist, has been with us for 28 years, stunning pencil sketches, big following), Sugar & Spice (children’s clothes, even if not relevant to you, lovely range and very good quality), Made By You Art Studio (based on the pottery café idea but you can also do decopatch and sand art; we are amazed by how many grown-ups want to have a go…and the standard of their creations!), Pat’s Wooden Crafts (Pat is a really good wood-turner who has brought together a really special collection of wood products, more than you could imagine and really interesting), Tim Foord Coastal Stained Glass (Tim has been with us for about 15 years and has developed a terrific range of stained glass products, from a very affordable set of coasters to a “made to order” fire screen, even a stained glass porthole for your broads boat), Tricia Francis Pottery (this is a really special workshop, and even more special work…a very clever and creative lady!), The Norfolk Cider Shop (Geoff Fisher sells his brother’s Norfolk Cider and Apple Juice, and all sorts of “apple” goodies…visitors love “trying before buying”), The Pantry Food Shop ( a real gift food emporium….we stock over 70 local beers, local wines, and over 200 pickles and chutneys. Visitors spend ages just browsing the amazing and different products). And in the Main gallery, you will find a very range of gift ideas (some local), lovely and different greetings cards and then there is the Clothes Gallery upstairs (we are sorry about the stairs, the downside of working with 200 year old Norfolk barns). We stock Pomodoro, Steilmann, Adini, Nomads, Seasalt, Ness, Tulchan, Alice Collins, and (new for Autumn/Winter 2013) we will have White Stuff and Joules #excited!
Our Bill LeGrice Rose & Plant Centre does not set out to be or claim to a garden centre. If you are interested in roses, then you will find it really interesting…Bill won gold at Hampton Flower Show just a few weeks ago.
And our restaurant, coffee shop, Junior Farm, Children’s Funfair and Mini Adventure Golf Course complete our offer to visitors, with or without children.
If you would like to contact me directly about this review, our response or anything else, please feel free. My email is ianrussell@wroxhambarns.co.uk.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 686 of 868 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Enjoyed a day at Wroxham Barns on a rainy Sunday afternoon and could recommend it to everyone. As I was not travelling with kids, did not check all that was available for them ( everyone I met said how Wroxham Barns is great for kids), but there was plenty to do for grown-ups too. Would most warmly recommend the art shop with its great selection of local art (if you are looking for a present to take home, this is the best place, as you really are spoiled for choice) and the lunch restaurant, with its very good value for money local food and excellent service. All around nice experience for the whole family.

Thank KaisaLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

How nice to have a visitor from Finland. And thank you KaisaLS for taking the time to share your experiences with fellow travellers….only sorry that you came on a rainy day…we don’t get many of those in Norfolk! That said it is a great place to visit when the weather is not great, lot’s undercover. Thanks to for acknowledging our service, our staff really appreciate it when visitors have a good time….that’s what makes our jobs so rewarding. Please come and see us again soon. Many thanks Ian Russell ianrussell@wroxhambarns.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

There are some interesting shopping outlets for artisan arts and crafts here and young children have some entertainment with some kind of farm animal centre. The Pantry cafe although looked promising was less than welcoming and the coffee was below average. It is free to enter the area the children's area had a fee, but not having entered this part I couldn't comment on its worth. A pleasant place to stop and browse if you are at all interested in arts and crafts.

Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you Barbara R for taking the time to share this review with travellers. We take onboard your comments about the welcome in the Coffee Shop…we never stop learning! Sorry you did not like the coffee. We use really top quality rain forest alliance Lavazza coffee and our milk is from Nortons Dairy (very local, very good but not cheap). Please Dear Visitor, if we serve you something that you are not happy with, just tell us and we will change straight away, we want you to leave us feeling we have done our best to look after you. But you are right…a great place if you are interested in artisan arts and crafts. If you would like to contact me directly about this review, our response or anything else, please feel free. My email is ianrussell@wroxhambarns.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a family day out with our 2 year old. The mini fairground is perfect for small children, really friendly staff good rides, the only downside was the bouncy castle was for over 4's, maybe another one could be out in for under 4's?
The cafe offered good quality food at reasonable prices, nothing flash just simple fresh sandwiches and jacket potatoes.
The farm is clean with well cared for animals and interactive sessions. A little expensive but worthwhile when the animals are obviously cared for very well.
Simply a great day out for young families, some craft shops on site but we didn't visit them. Staff are lovely, it's cleaned and well maintained, will be back again soon!

Thank Bam999Medic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

A very fair and accurate review and we thank Bam999Medic for taking the time to share with other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Many thanks Ian Russell ianrussell@wroxhambarns.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Love this place!!! Nice craft shops all in one place. Excellent place to get something a little different, especially for "people who have everything. The fudge sold in the sweet shop is just heavenly. I'm not a great fan of fudge but OH MY GOD.... this stuff is out of this world. (caramel fudge is best in my opinion)

Thank aldenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

And we love this review! Do come and see us again soon…..we are working on some yummy Christmas fudge recipes OMG! But seriously Dear Aldenb, it means a lot to me and the team when customers take the time to tell us when we do it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wroxham Barns also viewed

 

Been to Wroxham Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing