We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely day out, great for families”
Review of Wroxham Barns

Wroxham Barns
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Hoveton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wroxham Barns is one of Norfolk's leading tourist attractions. With its accent firmly on quality and with strong green credentials, it manages that really rather rare thing - of appealing to different ages. Grown-ups enjoy pottering around the shops and workshops, often chatting to the artists themselves or stopping to watch a craftsman create something unique. With a wood turner, stained glass specialist and Chris Hutchins from Norfolk Sketches, you will find the gift that is just that bit special. Fashion lovers should seek out the Gallery where labels such as Seasalt, Ness and Steilmann are on offer along sidehand bags, scarves, hats and more. And Sugar and Spice offers quirky children's pieces which are much more fun than items offered in the High Street. Foodie lovers are especially well catered for as the Pantry is packed with delicious food, much sourced locally so you can stock up your own store cupboards with jams, chutneys, oils,wines and more.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Wroxham Barns had something for everyone. Rides were a bit limited, but there was a variety of shops, with novel gift ideas. There was also a farm area, that u could pay once, but go in and out of all day. You could also buy bags of feed for the animals which my child and from what i could see, several other children enjoyed doing. Overall a plesant way to spend a couple of hours

Thank michelle f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for such lovely review, it makes the job very rewarding when we read of a visitor who has had a great time with us. The most important part about visiting Junior Farm is to get involved with the animal feeding…the little ones enjoy it, our staff are there to help and the children grow in confidence…as well as learning about the animals in a fun way. Please do come and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

695 - 699 of 868 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

At a loose end on our way into Norwich, we decided to stop for lunch there. We left feeling robbed! It cost £24 for a meagre lunch for two adults (sandwich/baguette, crisps & drinks) and two small children (lunchbox) in the cafe. Not worth the money.

1  Thank JayDeeAhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear JayDeeAhr This does seem quite a harsh and unrealistic review, but as ever we will try to respond in a constructive and courteous way. We will try to price what we think you had and see what it comes to.Here goes…
2 sandwiches….2 x £3.95 = £7.90
2 x Fairfields Farm Crisps…2 x £1 = £2
2 Cans of drink (Pepsi/Tango etc)…2 x £1 = £2.00
2 Childrens lunch boxes (sandwich, pombear crisps, fruit and box drink) 2 x £3.75 = £7.50
The total is £19.40. If we replace one sandwich with a baguette, the cost comes to £19.70….some way short of the £24 that JayDeeAhr refers to. They may well have spent £24 with us, and we would be grateful for the business, but they would have had more than they refer to in this review.
We will not be as cheap as a filling station or a supermarket but we really do believe that we charge a fair price for a good quality product in a lovely setting (free parking/play areas/craft studios/picnic areas etc) with attentive service.
We welcome all reviews, both complimentary and those that take us to task but reviews which are misleading are more difficult to accept. We leave it to you as to whether JayDeeAhr was actually “robbed”. We regularly pricematch against other local attractions and will always amend any price if it is clear that we are out of step with a similar item available in a comparable setting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just had a wonderful holiday (once again) in a wroxham cottage on the broads and this time found Wroxham Barns. A lovely family attraction very close by. We attended as an extended family (8 adults and 2 children) and it was good to have no charge to get into the grounds which has a token operated fairground, mini golf, a small play ground to enjoy (a sandpit would be a nice addition here) crafts/shops, restaurant/cafes and ice creams. We opted for the hot dogs/burgers cooked outside and they went down a storm, shame about those pesky wasps also wanting a bite. My 4 year old had a blast in the fairground and particularly enjoyed the ride on cars/tractors. I am actually glad that they do not let dogs in the place as its lovely and clean and can let my toddler roam quite freely. My son really wanted to go into the play barn but with 8 adults and 2 children paying the fee to get into the farm/play barn was just too much, a fee for just the children to go in the play barn would be better. So we cannot comment on the farm/play barn. Other than that its a fabulous place and one that we are glad that we found.....oh and one last thing.....the homemade fudge is to die for!

1  Thank claire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Claire H Many thanks for taking the time to share your review of Wroxham Barns with fellow travellers, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. Sorry about the wasps…been a problem for many outdoor attractions over past few weeks…think we are on top of the problem now with some new kit. The sandpit idea is a really good suggestion…will look at that for next year. The funfair is perfect for 4 year olds. So pleased that you had a wonderful holiday on the Broads…please tell all your friends and we hope you will come back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

There is something for everyone at Wroxham Barns! Bouncy castle a particular favourite with the youngest, train rides another activity they really loved. The older generation competed on the mini golf course and there were even the odd hole-in-ones. Could not resist an ice cream, and wondered through the amazing and understated range of shops, especially liked the pottery and Norfolk apple juice shops. Made for a really nice family day out, highly recommended. Looking forward to seeing the animals on our next visit. Environment well looked after, reasonable prices, and ambient atmosphere. To be frank the place does not look especially exciting from the outside so it was a really pleasant surprise and far exceeded our expectations when we visited.

1  Thank jonathon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wroxhambarns, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Many thanks to Jonathon d. sounds like you all had great fun on our new bouncy castle slide. The train ride is so popular with the little ones. The Mini-Golf is a fiendish course, anyone can have fun playing but it is a really challenging course. We have hosted the British Championships and the English Open (yes this is a serious sport) and the current course record is 27 (think about it, 18 holes…27 shots!). Really pleased that you enjoyed our studios and workshops, they are a central part of what Wroxham Barns is all about…independent, very knowledgeable and well-established. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Took family to the barns whilst on a 4 night break near Norwich. Two grandparents, two young adults, 8 year old and 20 month old grandchildren. There was something for everyone.

The grandson particularly had a great time making a ladybird home, seeing the animals, playing crazy golf and going on all the adventure playground rides. Excellent fun and excellent value.

If you are in the area and not sure which attraction to go to, then go to this one.

Free parking, free to walk round, fair payment to go on rides and play crazy golf. By the way, the crazy golf course really is well thought out.

1  Thank Teenagerfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wroxhambarns, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you Teenagercametoo for such a “simply brilliant” review…you have said everything we would want to say and it is so much better coming from you. Really pleased that you had a great time, please come and see us again, hope the rest of you say in Norwich was enjoyable (I am sure it was, it is such a lovely area to visit) Best wishes Ian Russell MBE, Director, Wroxham Barns. ianrussell@wroxhambarns.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wroxham Barns also viewed

 

Been to Wroxham Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing