We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long wait”
Review of Wroxham Barns

Wroxham Barns
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Hoveton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wroxham Barns is one of Norfolk's leading tourist attractions. With its accent firmly on quality and with strong green credentials, it manages that really rather rare thing - of appealing to different ages. Grown-ups enjoy pottering around the shops and workshops, often chatting to the artists themselves or stopping to watch a craftsman create something unique. With a wood turner, stained glass specialist and Chris Hutchins from Norfolk Sketches, you will find the gift that is just that bit special. Fashion lovers should seek out the Gallery where labels such as Seasalt, Ness and Steilmann are on offer along sidehand bags, scarves, hats and more. And Sugar and Spice offers quirky children's pieces which are much more fun than items offered in the High Street. Foodie lovers are especially well catered for as the Pantry is packed with delicious food, much sourced locally so you can stock up your own store cupboards with jams, chutneys, oils,wines and more.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A long wait”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Having just visited wroxham barns restaurant I feel that I have to leave this review We were sat down given menus , order taken Hot drinks served, then sat there for 15 minutes waiting for 3 scones other tables being served before us Had to go up and ask where they were , had been forgotten Plenty of staff on, no organization. When I came to pay was asked whether I had given a £5 or £10 note wen I had given a £20 note good job I knew what I had given him. Poor customer service.

Helpful?
1 Thank janettyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russell777norwich, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Janettyg visited us on Easter Saturday (we think). We were very busy but we have no defence here. We were overstretched and cracks showed in our service. We let Janettyg down; all we can do is accept the criticism and learn from what happened. We think that we successfully raised our game as the Easter week progressed. But as Janettyg says, “poor customer service” and all we can do is apologise. We feel a little frustrated that Janettyg did not feel able to share her unhappiness whilst she was with us, or pick up a customer card before she left. We always welcome feedback, good or bad...and when bad, we will do everything in our gift to put matters right with our customer. To that end, we have emailed Janettyg to see how we can do that; she is local to us, let’s hope we have a chance to welcome her back as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    299
    269
    171
    58
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sliema
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dead in low season”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Together with a family with young children, we decided to visit Wroxham Barns, after having promised the two young kids that they are going to have a great day; what a let down, the entire place was dead! It is very evident that it being the low season, not much effort has been put into making the place as enjoyable as it is meant to be. All the rides were in fact all covered up and closed down, leading very little to do instead.

In warmer months, I am confident the place has potential but for the low season, my recommendation is to not be bothered!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyGuests2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice place to go with the kids and don't cost a lot walk around and feed the animals”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Lol but the goats do try and nick your food bag off u when walker theough that bit lol they eat the hold bag off food and bag out my kids hand they were screening lol but it was a nice day out and feel the baby lambs there bottle

Helpful?
Thank Hannahbarne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“village charm”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

nice little complex of shops, rural crafts and animals. Gets busy in the summer especially weekends. Not a great deal to see but the baby animals are lovely.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank leegoffin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brief Visit - But Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Visited later on Saturday 16th February on recommendation from my son. Delighted to find a very well presented and immaculately maintained visitor attraction / retail village.
Had a late lunch in the restaurant - sadly we couldn’t sample the hot menu as we were too late, but enjoyed our Baguettes and spectacular deserts all the same. Served by an extremely capable and friendly young Waiter - Jack - who fended off our banter very well - as we were disappointed not to be able to have the Sausage and Mash.
He went the extra mile to suggest alternatives, and duly served up a very tasty, fresh baguette for each of us with drinks, and even a complimentary cup of tea to finish.
We live 130 miles away from Wroxham Barns, but we are already planning a return visit, in good enough time to be able to visit the many and varied shop units selling Cider, Cakes, Fudge, Pottery, and Stained Glass Gifts.
We planned a game of Crazy Golf, but we were too late for that too - so its a must to arrive very early afternoon if you want to take in all that there is to offer.
All in all, a lovely place to spend a few hours among friendly and dedicated staff - with Free, plentiful Parking.
Cant wait to go back Thank You

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Family186336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wroxham Barns also viewed

 

Been to Wroxham Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing