We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An enjoyable afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wroxham Barns

Wroxham Barns
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Hoveton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wroxham Barns is one of Norfolk's leading tourist attractions. With its accent firmly on quality and with strong green credentials, it manages that really rather rare thing - of appealing to different ages. Grown-ups enjoy pottering around the shops and workshops, often chatting to the artists themselves or stopping to watch a craftsman create something unique. With a wood turner, stained glass specialist and Chris Hutchins from Norfolk Sketches, you will find the gift that is just that bit special. Fashion lovers should seek out the Gallery where labels such as Seasalt, Ness and Steilmann are on offer along sidehand bags, scarves, hats and more. And Sugar and Spice offers quirky children's pieces which are much more fun than items offered in the High Street. Foodie lovers are especially well catered for as the Pantry is packed with delicious food, much sourced locally so you can stock up your own store cupboards with jams, chutneys, oils,wines and more.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Northampton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“An enjoyable afternoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

With children, I can understand how a full day could be spent here as there is so much to see and do. As a couple, we spent a relaxed few hours exploring the shops, visiting the farm and enjoying a picnic lunch. Highly recommend sampling some fresh apple juice in the shop and feeding the animals in the farm area.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sarat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    250
    151
    52
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day out, definitely a must for next year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We camped in Norfolk this year for our summer holiday to cut down on costs, our camp-site wasn’t the best (see separate review) but the attractions in Norfolk we visited were superb. Best of all though – Wroxham Barns. We saw a truck with Wroxham Barns poster that drove along seafront near to where we were staying in Great Yarmouth. We called the number for directions, staff on phone were very friendly and brown signs made it easy to find when we were in Wroxham. With 3 children under the age of 10 this was their favourite day out during our 4 day holiday. The entrance prices to see the animals was perfect (our 1 year old got in free), food to feed animals added extra entertainment, it only cost about 50p a bag. Selection of animals was great, and indoor play area meant me and hubby could give our knees a rest. Hubby bought some Norfolk cider which he is very fond of. I loved the Norfolk craft shops with some great gifts. There was even a fun-fair for the kids to keep them entertained all day, then a grassed area with picnic benches. Glad we bought our own food as the cafe would of cost to much for us all to eat at, that said, I treated myself to a home-made cake which was delicious and well worth the money. Really great day out, certainly will be visiting again when we return to Norfolk later this year to see family. 5 stars for a top day out with something for all ages (even the adults!!)

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank brendyderry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wroxhambarns, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Hello "BrendyDerry", it was so good to read your review, we are really pleased that you had such a good time when you visited us....it has to be the best part of our job when visitors have a good time. By the way, you may remember our sow, Lady May was expecting her piglets....she had 14 on Monday and they are all doing well. Please come and see us again soon. Best wishes Ian Russell, Director Wroxham Barns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Lovely place to visit. Entry is free although rides and pets section are charged. Lovely local fayre. Cafe prices are higher than other similar places but you can take ur own picnic and enjoy on the green . I'd ur in the area make sure you add wroxham barns to you list of places to visit

Helpful?
Thank JohnnyNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wroxhambarns, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Many thanks for your review, very much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best wishes Ian Russell, Director Wroxham Barns Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Lunch, Fantastic Assortment of Craft Shops & the Cutest Animals!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

Went to Wroxham Barns with my friend and her Grandson on July 29th, went to the coffee shop first and had a gorgeous slab of the moistest coffee cake I have ever eaten!!

Then wandered round the fantastic assortment of craft shops, reasonable prices and lovely assortment of items!

Then went to the Children's Zoo, where Kaden held a chick and a guinea pig much to his delight! We walked round looking at the various animals and fed the sheep which Kaden thought was hysterical as it tickled when he fed them! All the animals are very well cared for and gorgeous.....saw the hugest pig I have ever seen in my life!!

Then took Kaden to the indoor play area which he really loved and totally wore himself out, so my friend and I decided it was time for a well earned rest and some lunch!! So we went back to the coffee shop and ordered the crab salad and mushroom and leek risotto.....the portions were very generous and I have to say that the risotto was the best I have had anywhere....extremely fresh tasting and very tasty! I didn't think the meals were expensive as they were both under a tenner and as stated before the portions were very big!!

Didn't go to the Children's Fun Fair, outside playground or mini-golf as Kaden was fast asleep by that time, but they looked good from what we saw when we looked at them.

I wouldn't hesitate in recommending Wroxham Barns as it is a very diverse and fun day out!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank samipayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Called in to Wroxham Barns whilst on holiday in the area and enjoyed looking around. We are an older couple but I was impressed with the amenities for children.
We had a super lunch in the restaurant. Real quality food and served with a smile. All the staff were nice. Yes it was expensive but having eaten out all week at some dreadful pubs and hotels this was the ONLY good meal we had and was priced the same as the bad ones so no complaints there. In fact the staff here could give lessons to the other places we went to ! Norfolk Broads take note - you are going down rapidly so improve to these standards or lose. We spent £1800 in one week for cottage etc and our 5 star holiday in May in Italy was the same price ! Its a no brainer in future. So well done staff at Wroxham Barns for being the star of our week !

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank linda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wroxhambarns, Owner at Wroxham Barns, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Hello Linda, thank you so much for taking the trouble to review us, it is very much appreciated. The team are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit (and meal), please come and see us again soon. We share your frustrations about the variable quality of eating establishments in the UK (and the Broads in particular). We are members of the Broads Quality Charter (we achieved Gold), this is a really good inspection scheme for food outlets. To any visitor planning to eat out on The Broads, look out for the Broads Quality Charter establishments. Best wishes Ian Russell, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wroxham Barns also viewed

 

Been to Wroxham Barns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing