We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”
Review of catfish john's

catfish john's
Ranked #34 of 221 Restaurants in Rogers
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Neosho, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

My wife and I decided to skip the Bean Palace at War Eagle for Catfish Johns. Bad decision. The food was not very good and my wife only ate the beans served with the meal. Catfish had no flavor and was undercooked. The hush-puppies were very dry and crumbled when you try to eat them. Wait staff never showed up until we were getting ready to leave. They asked how we liked it and my wife told them it was not good. Asked where we were from and they told her that since we were not from the area that her palate was not good. Lame explanation for some poor food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    22
    5
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Down home Southern cooking....and hospitality....”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Didn't get my catfish dinner in Little Rock this trip so asked around about a good place to go in Rogers. Everyone recommended Catfish John's and I can understand why. Excellent catfish - big portions, not greasy, and tender - pinto beans to start and I had a side order of okra. WAY too much food to eat so took a doggy bag home. John was at the register talking to guests, walked around and chatted with us during the meal, wait staff were always there with fresh tea, funny (funny) card selection that we spent time on as we left. Lots of pictures on the wall and local memoribilia. Just a fun relaxing place to go for great food and service!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sammy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Little skimpy but not bad”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Pace was clean, good food, average price. You just didn't get a lot of food for what you paid. Family style place, good to bring the kids. Would go back again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank brenda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good Catfish”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with my kids following a ballgame in Fayetteville. Friendly service. Large portions. We were stuffed by the time we left. Fish was very fresh and done well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good folks, clean and bright!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Have gone here for years. Always good, always clean, always friendly! Have known the owner for years. Be sure to add this to your list for a good old family dinner! Be sure to ask for the tomato relish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kymberlyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to catfish john's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing