We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good grains...food...not so much”
Review of War Eagle Mill

War Eagle Mill
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Rogers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our Commitment To You Our flour comes to you the War Eagle way - stone ground slow to preserve all the nutrients and the deep, rich taste. Our farmers are committed to maintaining a natural, organic and Non-GMO environment for growing grain and work hand-in-hand with us to shorten the time between the field, the milling process and your table. Since 1832 to today, we remain committed to you and your family's health. You are our first priority. We provide an array of grains and flours and specialty items. The 2nd floor of the mill is a gift shop and the 3rd floor is our Bean Palace Cafe serving soups, sandwiches and our famous beans and War Eagle Mill cornbread!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good grains...food...not so much”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The grains are fantastic, and it was a cute little place. In the restaurant I ordered the beans and homemade cornbread...it was barely okay...maybe the other food was better but that's what they touted as being good, so I went for it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gingerblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    170
    46
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but food is OVERPRICED and latest changes are taking away from ambience”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We make an annual trip to northwest Arkansas and War Eagle Mill every fall. The valley where the mill is located is beautiful and the mill is definitely a step back in time. There is a restaurant on the top floor where we always have breakfast, then shop on the lower two floors. It was always a part of our trip to which we looked forward. This fall, when we had breakfast (there were 2 of us) we each had a biscuit and gravy, 2 pieces of bacon and a small coffee and it was $20. I was shocked! (This isn't a city, this is in the middle of nowhere and other local restaurants do not charge this much.) They have definitely raised the prices and the food wasn't very good. It was so disappointing! When we went down on the lower floors to shop, the amount of inventory seemed much less than previous years. One of the biggest disappointments was the change of their flours and milled grains from the cloth "sack" bags to paper bags. This really hurt the charm of the products. Their explanation was they are going "green". I think they are taking the cheap route. Overall, very sad to see the changes in a historical place. While we will visit next fall because it is a beautiful area, we won't dine in the restaurant. There are too many excellent places to dine in the northwest AR area where the food and value are so much better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marken76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, location... a "must" for the Ozark experience”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The drive and location are a perfect part of the Ozark experience. The history is interesting... and the mill is not only operational still, it continues to make and sell its own products... many of which we brought home. A "must" part of your travels through the Ozark mountains.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Ks
Level Contributor
164 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Photo opp!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is definitely a tourist attraction. We had taken a hike and needed something to fill our time for an hour or so. It worked out nice as a souvenir stop and snack shack. We ordered ice cream and cobbler after a lengthy hike and took some photos of the beautiful surroundings. There is an antique shop there, but we didn't spend that much time to investigate it. Worth a stop if it's in your path.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulieCirlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Historic Beauty & Serenity”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

War Eagle Mill is a Must See as far as I'm concerned. It's located about 1/2 way between Rogers and Eureka Springs, Arkansas. You must stop and visit the mill, walk across the bridge, go down to the river itself and just take in all the natural beauty of this area. Food at the Bean Palace Restaurant is always good and fresh. It's a very simple menu, but a great place for lunch and/or dessert. The mill products are wonderful also. Don't miss this spot while you're in NW Arkansas.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tourman1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to War Eagle Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing