We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but hard to get to”
Review of War Eagle Mill

War Eagle Mill
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Rogers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our Commitment To You Our flour comes to you the War Eagle way - stone ground slow to preserve all the nutrients and the deep, rich taste. Our farmers are committed to maintaining a natural, organic and Non-GMO environment for growing grain and work hand-in-hand with us to shorten the time between the field, the milling process and your table. Since 1832 to today, we remain committed to you and your family's health. You are our first priority. We provide an array of grains and flours and specialty items. The 2nd floor of the mill is a gift shop and the 3rd floor is our Bean Palace Cafe serving soups, sandwiches and our famous beans and War Eagle Mill cornbread!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
NA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Nice, but hard to get to”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Nice, but hard to get to and away from. (Road is small and old) parking can be difficult at times too--especially at high volume times like craft fairs.

Helpful?
Thank AARiley22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    173
    46
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

terrible it was terribible and it made me mad because i wasted money on everyting and gas and it was a total waste of time thanks

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank johhny c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
talihina
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Scenic drive awesome place to stop.”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Take a stroll through time and enjoy this working crisp mill, they offer a restaurant on the second floor and gift shop on 1st level. Exterior bathrooms that are sure to amuse the young. I know they have a arts and crafts show there 1 a year so if you are into that you might check dates.
Beautiful during the fall / winter / summer months. You can purchase things that are made at the mill and there are plenty of photo op's for the family. I have been here numerous times and always enjoy. It's a short scenic drive north of 412 and if you are on your way to Eureka Springs or Branson you can enjoy the back road way there and also see cave attractions on the way.
Drive safe and enjoy

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 182p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A working mill”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

A beautiful mill on War Eagle river that is grinding grain when you go in. Gift shop is great, but a little pricey. Drive or walk across the old iron and wood bridge. On top floor is Bean Palace Restaurant which specializes in beans and cornbread, little pricey, but good. No indoor restrooms, but a community outhouse that will gag you with the smell and amaze you with the herd of flys.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Suggsrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Nice Photo Op and interesting History”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We purposely planned our visit there before the annual craft fair to avoid the thousands of visitors who crowd that part of Arkansas every year. It's a beautiful area, but it is hard to appreciate fully in the midst of a horde of craft fair shoppers... unless that it your cup of tea.
Besides being a great place to take photos, War Eagle Mill has some really interesting history. It was built in 1832 and until this visit, I had not known any of it. If you go there, I urge you to google the story and read about the tenacious young couple who settled in this wild area and started it all. So interesting and gives you a new appreciation for the pioneers who carved out a living in the wilderness.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to War Eagle Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing