We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“closed”
Review of War Eagle Cavern

War Eagle Cavern
Ranked #2 of 26 things to do in Rogers
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: ARKANSAS' MOST POPULAR PRIVATE SHOW CAVE! Walk straight into a mountain through a huge natural entrance on the shores of Beaver Lake -- our story-telling guides make for great fun on our one-hour guided adventures! After the tour, feed the fish at our boat dock, explore our short nature trails, enjoy pretty lookouts along our bluff lines, and play in the Big Dig. Pan for real gems at the War Eagle Mining Co. - keep everything you find! Search for five lost Indian villages in the Lost in the Woods Maze, and shop in the area's most unique gift shop. We're pet and stroller friendly!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Central Point, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“closed”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I wanted to visit this place so bad. We drove all the way up there anticipating a day of fun. But it wasnt to be a sign on the gate said closed bats were sleeping. What a disapointment but it is what it is. If you do decide to visit you might want to call first to make sure they are open, the info I had led me to believe they would be open.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    62
    15
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cavern tour”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The cave tour was special, but on our return trip with our whole family we went on a night tour and it was a blast. you need knee pads and they take you to places most never see. You must make arrangments for this tour.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A little gem hidden in the woods.”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We passed this place by last year when we went to War Eagle Mill. We decided to check it out this time around and were pleasantly surprised. This is a first class operation in a lovely wooded setting. The trading post is nice and it is easy to see that the owners are working hard to do things right. There was a lot of work going on in the Cavern itself. The owner is incorporating part of what was the wild cave tour into the main tour by a new connection from one to the other. This will increase the size of the main tour. They were working on the expansion as we toured the cavern. I will definitely check it out when we return if the expansion work is completed as it was extremely disruptive to have to keep stopping the tour while they passed through with their equipment but this will only be a temporary inconvenience. Our guide was a great asset. We got to see some tiny bats hanging from the cavern ceiling.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bayoujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

While staying in Eureka Springs, my husband and I ventured out to visit the infamous hiding place of Jessie James and boy was it worth it. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. In one hour we got a history, geology, and zoology lesson that was as informative as it was fascinating. The trails are wide and smooth, but steep. I would not recommend this attraction to older people with knee issues. The gift shop is kind of touristy, but not overpriced. Definitely a must see in Arkansas!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dallasgoestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka Springs, AR, USA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best of three local caves in Eureka area”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great attraction and day trip from Eureka - access by car or boat...well worth the trip, visit the War Eagle Mill at the same time.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank rockcottagegardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed War Eagle Cavern also viewed

 

Been to War Eagle Cavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing