We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Poulsbo, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Petra Moon Hotel was fantastic. The staff was hospitable, warm, and friendly both at the front desk and in the restaurant. The room was very comfortable and well appointed. Great bathroom. Breakfast in the hotel dining room was delicious (omelet bar, pancake bar, lots of options). And you can't beat the location if you're visiting the monuments at Petra. Petra Moon is maybe a three-minute walk from the front gate and about five minutes from nearby restaurants. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moreworld2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    568
    133
    22
    11
See reviews for
313
678
129
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had a very good experience at this hotel. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Shower was great - good water pressure and temperature (however, Jordan does not have much water or rainfall, so take a quick one!). Dinner buffet was very nice and excellent for the money. Breakfast buffet is included and was also very good. Aside from the buffets, you can choose to eat on the rooftop terrace, which has a lovely view. The staff was friendly - even the owner, who we had the pleasure of meeting, and he helped us with some useful tips. The location is a 3min walk from the entrance of Petra and near other shops, restaurants, and hotels. Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nas_to_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed at the Petra Moon Hotel which is just outside the Petra Visitor Centre.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Parking in a secured lot is free to guests.
The rooms include a free Mini Bar service (non alcoholic drinks only) which included bottles of water, coke, diet coke, juices and potato chips!!!
This was a welcome surprise after a long hot day walking around ancient Petra.
The rooms were very comfortable and clean.
The bathroom was large and they provide top quality bath products at no extra charge.
Our breakfast was included, which was very good, especially the omelettes!
Great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Very convenientle located, nice big room, great food. Pool on the roof is very cold, so you will only able to swim in summer probably. There are some restaurants around, but Petra is the main attraction and you can easily spend 1-2 days there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabella_lea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel is perfect for visiting Petra, located just up from the entrance and close to a few restaurants.

The room had everything we needed, was a good size, comfortable and reasonably priced. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating and there were nice touches like fresh fruit and a early evening chocolate bar delivered to the room - ensuring it was cold. Unfortunately the electrics were off when you left and there was no backup for the fridge meaning things were warm when you got back - which after a day in Petra is not ideal.

The breakfast had a good selection of food but we didn't eat here in the evening - although wished we had as we struggled to find a good meal elsewhere.

There is a really nice upstairs pool area but sadly the kitchen/bar up there was not open which was a shame as the views and location would have been lovely for an evening drink.

A good choice of hotel for a couple of days visit to Petra.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Petra Moon Hotel is an excellent hotel, located just outside the entrance to the ancient city of Petra. The rooms were modern, spacious and clean, and the price was very affordable in comparison to the quality. I would gladly recommend the Petra Moon Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Airfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth,Texas
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Clean, comfortable family room a short walk from the entrance to Petra. Breakfast buffet was good, offering an array of choices, including made-to-order omelets and pancakes.. The hotel's dinner buffet was excellent & reasonably priced. Service was good--the hotel arranged our transportation from Aqaba to Petra and from Petra to Amman. Internet service was reliable. The hotel did have trouble connecting to a phone line for payment with credit card which necessitated payment in cash. I would place this hotel in the 2.5-3 star range. Overall, Petra Moon Hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sms1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Property: Petra Moon Hotel
Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing