We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Terrific base for Petra” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Petra Moon Hotel to your Saves list
Petra Moon Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrific base for Petra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a comfortable hotel with good service and close to the entrance to Petra. I left one of my favourite jackets behind and when I emailed the hotel to see whether they could locate it, they were very helpful indeed and arranged to have it sent to me.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    491
    103
    21
    8
See reviews for
249
584
113
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

The front desk really shone through. They were very helpful and sincerely wanted to be of service. They recommended a good hamam and a decent restaurant and gave good directions.

Room was nice with some free soda, water and fruit. Wifi was fine (and we heard very bad things about the wifi at the Movenpick). Very good breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank apt5c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the Petra Moon Hotel for only a couple of days, 11th March to 13th. We had regular contact with the hotel leading up to our stay( which i recommend you do, they respond quickly and are very helpful), regarding the best possible route from Airport to hotel. We arranged transport via the hotel to pick us up from the airport. We were greeted at the airport by our driver who was the perfect person to take us to the hotel. Unfortunately it was dark and could not see many of the surroundings. This didn't stop the driver telling anything we needed to know, and allowed to feel comfortable enough to relax from our flight. The journey to the hotel was about 2-3 hours which sounds a lot, but if you are going to Jordan to see Petra, then you are going to have to make this trip if you come from the airport. We also had the same driver on the way back to the airport, stopping along the way to see some sights, which was great to see!( including the Dead Sea)

We arrived at the hotel at around 7pm, checked in. We were greeted very well, welcomed and well received. Luckily, we were in time for the buffet dinner service they had. The evening buffet was 18JD and you can eat as much as much of the great food they have on offer. each time i had this, i was full. Breakfast was included and again, a huge range of food was on offer that i could not fault.

The rooms were perfect, large bed, tv, good bathroom etc. everything you want from a hotel. the view outside neither amazing or bad so we were not fussed about that, as during the day we were rarely there as we were off in the Petra site. Over the Road, once it was light, you could see the entrance to the Petra tourist office. This is the place you to get tickets( if you haven't already got them).

Any problems, questions we had within our stay was easily answered from a call or visit to the front desk who were always willing to help and assist!

Overall i am surprised this hotel isn't classed with more stars. If you go to Petra, then this is the place to stay, you cant go wrong!

Room Tip: not saying this is the best room, but we had 214 and was good, spacious and looked over towards the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank dayglowmoonboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluche
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We arrived in Petra by car with no booking.
We were lucky to find (near the gate of the site) this clean 4 stars hotel.
From there you can just walk to the gate to visit this ancient fantastic Nabatean capital.
No frills but essential and good value

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel is reasonably priced and only a minute's walk to the Petra site. The room was comfortable and clean. The shower was poor with very little water pressure. When the breakfast buffet items ran out (milk, cereal, bread), it could be slow getting them replenished. However, if you are looking for somewhere close to Petra that is comfortable and reasonable value, Petra Moon is ideal.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElainewUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We were here last week, and although front of house is impressive, our room just didn't have the finish of our previous hotel in Aqaba.The small bin in our room had not been emptied ( used tissues/ bits of rubbish) the shower over the bath was very inadequate although the water was hot, broken toilet seat and television didn't work, we were told someone would come to sort it while we were out, nobody came, and it never worked.
There was a nice bowl of complimentary fruit.
Maybe we had one of the rooms due for refurbishment?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel is close to the movenpick and holiday inn -- just across from the park entrance. If you want to get an early start in the park, and don't want to pay extra for the other hotels, this is a solid pick -- very clean, no frills but comfortable, with decent views. I have stayed in the Movenpick and the rooms are nicer in the Petra Moon, and if you want to eat in the Movenpick or sit in the bar, you can easily do so while staying at the Petra Moon. The beds were very comforable and the breakfast was good. They even packed a breakfast for us when we left at dawn before the breakfast room opened. very nice staff would stay there again.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are good - they seem similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomeKedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.6 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#6 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 641 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#2 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#4 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
1.1 mi away
Petra Nights Hotel
Petra Nights Hotel
#36 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
0.8 mi away
Amra Palace Hotel
Amra Palace Hotel
#7 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Property: Petra Moon Hotel
Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing