We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Ask for Better”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We planned our trip to Petra last minute. I had just booked my flight a little over 24 hours before departure. We knew we wanted to visit Petra, but did not really plan on anything else much—not even our method of getting from the airport to our hotel 2.5 hours away. Luckily, we called Petra Moon and they were able to arrange a driver to collect us from the airport and whisk us to Petra. Possibly fate, but I must say Yahya was the best driver I have ever had while traveling.

Yahya collected us from the airport and after we told him we were hungry, he quickly made a call and arrange for a restaurant to be open and serve some wonderful local foods. If you plan to visit Petra, you can call Yahya to help you see the sites in Jordan. Send me a message for his contact details or you can reach him through Petra Moon.

Now, back to review of the hotel. The staff was very courteous and all amenities were in the hotel that anyone would expect. The rooms were spacious, well designed, free Wi-Fi, wonderful morning breakfast buffet, evening dinner buffet, terrace, pool and I am certain there is more I am leaving out. Plus, the hotel is right next to Petra, so it is easy to just walk across the street to the main gate for entry.

Thanks to Petra Moon connecting us with Yahya, they helped us make the most of our two days in Jordan. After our day exploring the ruins in Petra, Yahya helped us make the most of our last day before making our 8:35pm departure. Yahya collected us from Petra Moon and took us to visit a Crusader Castle, swimming in the Dead Sea and lunch at the sea, Mount Nebo, view of the Promised Land, visit a mosaic art studio and a visit to St. George church. We also went to a bakery to try some great Jordanian sweets. We couldn’t ask for more from these two days and I will certainly be visiting both Petra Moon and Jordan again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joelarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

636 - 642 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

this is a valuable experience, great and convenient location, airport pickup, great to walk the site, amazing food, this is a good experience! I would stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to friends and family!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carli2sway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Hotel and staff are great and they will go out of their way to assist you. The buffet breakfast is out of this world and the location is right next to the entrance of Petra and walkable distance to the restaurants. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jolandavanDijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were very impressed by this hotel - the location is perfect for visiting Petra and the customer service was excellent. We also had free (and surprisingly fast) wifi because we booked through booking.com (otherwise I think the charge is 10 JD). The breakfast is also very good with lots of options.

I have given the hotel 4 rather than 5 stars because of one minor but niggling issue - room cleaning started at about 9am (we only arrived at 4.30am our first morning so this woke us up, and another time came back from breakfast and our room was already being cleaned so it was difficult to get ready to go out). But this is a small point and we would definitely return and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choirgirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

In general this was a great choice -- reasonably priced and just 100 m from the entrance gate to Petra. Staff were helpful and friendly and so I am glad we stayed here -- because it was great to just roll out of bed, eat breakfast, and walk down and into Petra without worrying about catching transport there, etc.
But a few minor gripes (nothing major, all first world problems):
1. Internet access, while free/included, basically meant you had to re-sign up with a device-specific username and password every time your device went to sleep, which got to be a pain after a few days.
2. The shower curtain was hung too high so it didn't touch the top of the tub, meaning water still sprayed onto the floor when you used it. It also billowed in and wrapped itself around your wet body every time you showered.
3. Bidet had only cold water and really poor water pressure.
4. Our double room was two twin beds pushed together -- which meant snuggling caused someone to fall into the crack.
5. Toilet paper holder fell off the wall on day two.
6. The sliding closet doors were off the tracks.
7. The mini-bar wasn't plugged in or working.

As I said, nothing major that truly impacted our trip drastically, so overall, I liked it and would definitely recommend it to others, but with a little extra effort at fixing some of the above mentioned things, they could really improve the place, I think.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UmmJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Petra Moon Hotel, in the "family room" (one king and 3 single beds).
Clean, helpfull staff. The bathroom is small though.
Breakfast was included and perfect for an early start. The food of the buffet (dinner) was very good as well!
Location of the hotel is excellent, very close to the heritage site.
We enjoyed our (short) stay in Petra!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_Ottenbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a wonderful visit. Nice room, good breakfast, and fantastic service.We were able to arrange a guided tour of Petra (great!) and car service between the Amman airport and hotel, to Wadi Rum and back to Amman. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. (Stayed in Aug 2012, but that's no longer a option to select).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleGlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
408 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,024 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
533 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
202 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $69 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing