We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We were very impressed by this hotel - the location is perfect for visiting Petra and the customer service was excellent. We also had free (and surprisingly fast) wifi because we booked through booking.com (otherwise I think the charge is 10 JD). The breakfast is also very good with lots of options.

I have given the hotel 4 rather than 5 stars because of one minor but niggling issue - room cleaning started at about 9am (we only arrived at 4.30am our first morning so this woke us up, and another time came back from breakfast and our room was already being cleaned so it was difficult to get ready to go out). But this is a small point and we would definitely return and recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank choirgirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
There are newer reviews for Petra Moon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

In general this was a great choice -- reasonably priced and just 100 m from the entrance gate to Petra. Staff were helpful and friendly and so I am glad we stayed here -- because it was great to just roll out of bed, eat breakfast, and walk down and into Petra without worrying about catching transport there, etc.
But a few minor gripes (nothing major, all first world problems):
1. Internet access, while free/included, basically meant you had to re-sign up with a device-specific username and password every time your device went to sleep, which got to be a pain after a few days.
2. The shower curtain was hung too high so it didn't touch the top of the tub, meaning water still sprayed onto the floor when you used it. It also billowed in and wrapped itself around your wet body every time you showered.
3. Bidet had only cold water and really poor water pressure.
4. Our double room was two twin beds pushed together -- which meant snuggling caused someone to fall into the crack.
5. Toilet paper holder fell off the wall on day two.
6. The sliding closet doors were off the tracks.
7. The mini-bar wasn't plugged in or working.

As I said, nothing major that truly impacted our trip drastically, so overall, I liked it and would definitely recommend it to others, but with a little extra effort at fixing some of the above mentioned things, they could really improve the place, I think.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UmmJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Petra Moon Hotel, in the "family room" (one king and 3 single beds).
Clean, helpfull staff. The bathroom is small though.
Breakfast was included and perfect for an early start. The food of the buffet (dinner) was very good as well!
Location of the hotel is excellent, very close to the heritage site.
We enjoyed our (short) stay in Petra!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_Ottenbourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had a wonderful visit. Nice room, good breakfast, and fantastic service.We were able to arrange a guided tour of Petra (great!) and car service between the Amman airport and hotel, to Wadi Rum and back to Amman. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. (Stayed in Aug 2012, but that's no longer a option to select).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleGlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Petra Moon Hotel when we visited Petra. The hotel is lovely and is very close to the entrance to Petra. They had very adequate meals, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MDR47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Booked a family room - 1 kingsize bed and 3 singles for a family of 3 - 2 adults and 1 teen. Pre arranged with the hotel to collect us from the airport in Amman, driver was there to meet us on time. It took just over 2 hours and it is a boring road through the desert, only the last 15 minutes are a bit more scenic. Arrived around 12 lunchtime and room was ready, quick unpack and went to the Movenpick Hotel opposite for a snack and a drink, very good. No idea if Petra Moon serve lunch but we just wanted something quick. The heritage site is just a few steps away so hotel is excellent in regards to location. We had been advised by our driver to go in for just a few hours on the Saturday afternoon and at least get to see some of it so bought a 2 day ticket for 55 JOD a good deal as a daily is 50. Take your passport with you, it is essential or you will get charged a lot more - sorry just cannot remember why! Our daughter as under 15 got in free. If you can not take hassle from hawkers this is not the place for you, it is CONSTANT. Just be polite and refuse. We walked both days, no donkeys or horses, they did not look too well cared for and did not want to contribute to that. Went to the Treasury on day 1, everything is just amazing. Day 2 we did the whole long walk and 800 steps to the Monastery, couldn't walk the next day but so worth it. Have done so much travelling since moving to Dubai from the UK but Petra has to be my life long highlight. The beds in Petra Moon were very comfortable although possibly I could have slept on the floor and slept wonderfully I was so exhausted! Bathroom was small but the shower was fantastic, Breakfast was included and good, egg station with eggs and pancakes, pastries, cereals, cold cuts and cheeses. I do not eat bread but my husband said the brown bread was wonderful and kept going back for more. Do stock up on your carbs at breakfast - you will need them! Did not eat dinner here but went over the road to Movenpick as Petra Moon does not serve alcohol and we felt we had earned a beer. Food was buffet style and good. Overall, I would stay here again as room was ideal for us and that shower was amazing after a days walking. A great location and was good value too. Think the car for the airport was 90 JOD each way but both drivers good and informative.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArabianRanchesLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

A great hotel with beautiful, very clean rooms! The people in the hotel were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was fantastic : great food, very tasty, beautiful presented, everything was more than ok!
The hotel was very close to the entrance of the historic site of Petra. This was very convenient!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $70 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing