We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights and thought this was a great hotel. Our 3 floor corner suite was clean and comfortable. Free wifi, great breakfast buffet, close location to the Petra ruins entrance, helpful staff, TV in the room has an English Movie channel, free bottled water, fresh fruit upon arrival, free pop and chips in the fridge all make this hotel an excellent choice, who could ask for more. We arranged transportation to and from the Amman Airport and our driver was punctual and professional. We also hired him for day trips to Aqaba and Wadi Rum. Fairly expensive but you know you have a good driver, vehicle and insurance. The non smoking policy is great, the roof top pool and patio is a lovely area to sit around even though it is not in use in the winter. We rooted around and found chair cushions and made ourselves at home, perfect for reading and relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SookeB.C.Schoolbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the related teams. We are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,607)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

638 - 644 of 1,607 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were impressed from the first time we saw the hotel. It's exterior is very impressive. The location could not be better. The staff are immaculate and very helpful. We were immediately asked if we would like to have tickets for the evening light show in Petra and they already had those tickets at the desk. Nothing seemed too much trouble or was any problem. We considered that our booking represented very good value.

Room Tip: We were in 312. The advice would be to ask for a room at the front. We had a fantastic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nfluffball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the various amenities we offer and pleased we were able to assist in making your stay with us most comfortable.

Thank you again for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We were quite happy with Petra Moon, primarily thanks to its quick access to Petra, friendly and helpful staff, wifi, and clean, upscale rooms. The breakfast was fantastic and quite filling ahead of a day of hiking, but I'd recommend skipping the dinner if on a budget. Unlike several places in Jordan we stayed at, this was happily smoke free.
One caution: the website does not make clear that the additional services (transport at least) are not added to your bill. Rather, the driver expected payment at the hotel, making for an awkward moment. Still, we regret nothing about staying here and it was the best place we stayed in Jordan.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MariahM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel.
We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments, and are so glad that our great staff, Intelligent Nutrients products, and great location made for an overall great experience. We are truly grateful to you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is very close to the entrance to Petra, so it's really quick to get there in the morning and the shower is just moments away at the end of a long day exploring. Our rooms on the 1st floor overlooking the gates were comfortable, clean and airy. There was no English language TV, but that wasn't a problem because we couldn't keep our eyes open. The bed was great.
The staff were friendly, gracious and helpful.
The breakfast buffet was very good and I definitely recommend that you ask Chef to help assemble a serving of Arabic style beans ('fool') the Jordanian way.

Room Tip: We had the two rooms on the 1st floor on the corner overlooking the entrance to Petra. It was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Petra Moon Hotel and thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us.

Our utmost reward is to hear enchanted guests, paying compliments about our high standards of service. We hence thank you for pointing your satisfaction out.

The Executive Chef and I felt proud to read that you have had a very nice experience at our restaurant.

Looking forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

So here is a simple list of pros and con's:
Pros: - 1 minute walking distance from Petra main entrance. If you want to avoid crazy tourists, it's wise to go early (Petra opens around 6:20-6:30 am).
- Staff very friendly and helpful. They speak Arabic and English and would gladly help you out if you're planning to travel around.
- Clean and cozy rooms
- Good WiFi

Cons: - A bit expensive. But that's relative. It cost me 100JD for 2 nights + 34JD for dinner. I would have chosen a cheaper place but I ran out of time.
- Food is very normal. Breakfast is great though and you can always have dinner outside the hotel.

All in all I would recommend Petra Moon hotel if you're not on a budget!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank joeyayoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience at Petra Moon Hotel.
It is wonderful to read such an incredible review and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again in order for us to exceed your expectations at Petra Moon on future occasions!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

the hotel is on the doorstep to the Petra entrance. You will appreciate this fact once you have spent 7 hours trekking through the mountains to see the wonders of Petra and your feet are about to fall off. The staff were extremely helpful and on hand with all the information I needed for my stay. I had to make a few changes to my booking upon arrival and the manager was more than happy to accommodate them. The room was comfy, clean and spacious enough for a short stay. You have coffee facilities, hair-dryer, iron/iron-board and there is free wifi throughout the hotel.The room had a Juliet balcony from which I could see the sunset over the mountains which rounded off a wonderful 2 day visit to Petra. Breakfast was included and consisted of cereals, juices, bread/pastries, fruit and salad items as well as hot selection of eggs, sausages, beans etc. make sure to fuel up for all the walking you will do once at the site!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLOB3TR0TT3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel!

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the related teams. We are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The price was very reasonable. The room was clean and very nice inside. the breakfast was very good with an omelet and fruits, pastry, and other items. free wifi as well. This room is just as good as the Crowne Plaza in Amman. Very close to the entrance of Petra.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel. I am delighted to read you enjoyed the various amenities we offer and pleased we were able to assist in making your stay with us most comfortable.

Thank you again for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
995 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
367 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
914 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tetra Tree Hotel
Tetra Tree Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $57 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing