We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed in Petra Moon Hotel for 3 nights just before the Christmas. The location of the hotel is just perfect, literally a few minutes walk to Petra gate. The hotel stuff is very helpful, always ready to be of assistance whenever we needed. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet. However, as for the dinner, I would have preferred to find more dishes to choose from. Also in my opinion, the hotel car park deserve some adjustments. It doesn't feel good to bring mud on your shoes to the hotel with you. Noises from the door slamming were little disturbing but this would be difficult to control. If we were to come during summer time, we would surely enjoyed nicely kept swimming pool on the roof top which offers some view!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mina_2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us. and I regret that you were not fully satisfied with some of the services you received from our staff. I have taken note of your comments and i addressed the issue with the relevant departments in order to prevent any recurrence in the future and we will certainly take your comment in consideration. We sincerely hope that this experience will not discourage you from staying with us in the near future, in order to demonstrate to you the improvements we have made as a result of your valuable comment.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    553
    130
    22
    11
See reviews for
299
660
127
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Many hotel managers say they want feedback, but the manager of the Petra Moon really means it. We had a problem with our room, and when I reported it to the manager he not only apologized and fixed it, but also asked if there was anything else he could do for us. The entire staff was solicitous without being intrusive. The room was spacious and nicely appointed. The breakfast and lunch were plentiful and tasty. The location is excellent--an easy stroll to the entrance to the Petra site. After seeing Petra By Night and walking back up the long hill, I was pretty tired and I appreciated the proximity of the hotel to the site. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel.
We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments, and are so glad that our great staff, Intelligent Nutrients products, and great location made for an overall great experience. We are truly grateful to you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White House
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights and ate breakfast and dinner here everyday. The food was great. I especially loved the pancake and omelette bar at breakfast. The customer service was exceptional. Best customer service I've ever had a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, Owner at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from Petra Moon Hotel and thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us.

Our utmost reward is to hear enchanted guests, paying compliments about our high standards of service. We hence thank you for pointing your satisfaction out.

The Executive Chef and I felt proud to read that you have had a very nice experience at our restaurant.

Looking forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

This is a pleasant and modern hotel within easy walking distance of the entrance to the Petra site. The staff are friendly, the (buffet) food is good and the rooms are agreeable. We had two problems. First, the toilet seat in our room was broken. We told reception - but the seat was never fixed over a couple of days. The other thing is that the hotel's hot water system is clearly inadequate; if you want a shower, it is likely to be a cold one - tepid if you are lucky, and hot if you are very early. Also: the marble steps at the front of the hotel can be dangerous if you're not careful - watch out and don't step sideways without looking. To put this in perspective: not that far away there are refugee camps full of displaced Syrians suffering in squalour - it is petty to kvetch over tepid bathwater and a bust loo seat. It is really quite a good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapellmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing a comprehensive review of your experience with us. I appreciate you choosing our hotel as your host here in Petra. and I truly value your comments, all the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve, as these give us the opportunity of improving the quality and service we offer. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. I also regret that you were not fully satisfied with the service you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and are looking forward to host you again, in order to exceed your expectations on further occasions.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Petra Moon is perfectly placed; two minutes from Petra and two minutes from Tourist Street where the restaurants are, but the hotel is so positioned you get no noise from the toenor Petra. The staff are excellent. I broke my glasses and within 2 hours they had made a local repair. The owner is on site most of the time and is constantly looking at ways to improve the hotel. I would unhesitantly recommend this hotel. Not too large that it looses the personal touch yet large enough to offer all the required services. The linch box for Petra was more than adequate and was just right for a long hard day in Petra.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resovoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was pleasant.

Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the related teams.
We are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a fantastic stay here. From the minute we walked in the door until the minute we left, we felt so very welcome. All of the staff went over and above the call of duty. They understand the true meaning of "customer appreciation". The room was a good size with a large sliding door.
They were apples, oranges, chocolates, tea and coffee for us to snack on. There were also bathrobes and slippers for us to use.

We choose this location due to it's proximity to Petra, and for the price, we could not have done any better.

There was an evening turndown service with a twist. There came a knock on the door asking if we would like any more coffee, tea, chocolates, towels, fruit. What a lovely touch. Never have had that happen before. (Customer appreciation).

Now don't get me started on the supper and breakfast. They were out of this world. The variety was amazing for both meals, (buffet style), and everything was delicious. If we had stayed at this hotel for more than a few days, we would certainly put on severe poundage. The wait staff in the restaurant was fantastic. So polite but not overbearing.

There was a room to store our bags until we were ready to leave in the morning and upon leaving, the manager asked if there were any areas that could be improved in the hotel or if we had any suggestions.
( Did I mention customer appreciation?)

Really, the Movenpick and other hotels in the area may be nice, but i bet no one can come close to the customer service we received here! When we left, I mentioned what cool pens they had, (they looked like an old quill feather pen), and the gentleman insisted that I take one with me.

If you stay here, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street and did not have an issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dody_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel.
We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments, and are so glad that our great staff, Intelligent Nutrients products, and great location made for an overall great experience. We are truly grateful to you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

A short walk from the Petra entrance, which I think is necessary after walking all day. Good breakfast. An excellent service from the afternoon/evening staff, Shadi Azzam, who was very welcoming when we arrived and remained very accommodating with our requests for tours each night. All other staff were courteous and very professional. Free wifi, you don't hear much noise from outside (I am prepared to be woken up in the early mornings by call to prayers if I'm in the middle east, but I hardly hear it from the room).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaG_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,


I sincerely appreciate your kind review posted on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel!

Thank you for acknowledging the service you received from Mr. Shadi Al-Azzam and the rest of our team. We have shared your comments with each of them as they truly are the driving force!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Petra Moon Hotel to exceed your expectations on future occasions!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#19 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Property: Petra Moon Hotel
Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing