We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Petra”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Location in Petra”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I went to Petra Moon Hotel at night. So I can see the beautiful view around it. I stayed here only one night but have good impression here. There is the welcome fresh drink for the guests. The staffs are so helpful and informative. We can walk from the hotel to the bar, restaurants and souvenir shops for only 10 minutes. they opened at night. Many taxis are stand by for tourists' service. The room is very comfortable and clean. Bathroom is wide and good amenities. Good dining. The best thing of this hotel is its location because we can walk to Petra, the ancient city for about 10 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sutasikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel.

I sincerely appreciate you acknowledging our associate team and our amenities as it is with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Petra Moon Hotel on future occasions!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    843
    568
    133
    22
    11
See reviews for
313
678
129
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Great location! Just few steps from the entrance to Petra. Staff super nice and helpful; rooms just renovated and very clean. Plus welcome drinks, fruit basket and chocolates in your room, nice touch!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sugy-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Petra Moon Hotel and for posting a review of your stay on TripAdvisor.

It is wonderful to read such an incredible review and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again in order for us to exceed your expectations at Petra Moon on future occasions!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the perfectly located hotel, easily walkable to Petra, and one of the closest hotels to the ticket office. We arrived in the morning and were unable to check in early, however they did lock our luggage up in a stored area until we could check in, so we did that and set off to Petra for the day.

Upon check in, we were beyond pleased with our room, a large family suite with a huge king bed and 2 nice sized singles, all with thick comforters and were very comfy. A sitting area with a TV split the beds up. Free fruit in our room upon arrival as well we were given a free welcome drink. The room also features a generous free minibar of 3 pop, 1 water, and 1 bag of chips to enjoy. The room was spotlessly clean and there was lots of hot water in the blissfully wonderful rainhead shower. Had a difficult time getting out of it! LOL. There is also a small balcony off the room.

Service is very good as is the staff if not a bit too formal for our tastes, moreso at the restaurant. There is a supper buffet that charges 14JD per person. There is a selection of fish, beef stew, chicken, lamb, salads and dessert. Everything is good, but nothing that necessarily stands out.

I can definately recommend this hotel, especially for families as the family room really is fantastic. There is also a swimming pool, but it was not open when we were there unfortunately.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely appreciate your kind review posted on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel!

Thank you for acknowledging the service you received from our associate team. We have shared your comments with each of them as they truly are the driving force!

We look forward to welcoming you again to Petra Moon Hotel to exceed your expectations on future occasions!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great location - Hotel just by the entrance. In walking distance to town and the cave bar. Good quality accommodation at a good price. Very good breakfast. Very nice rooms wish we stayed longer. Need at least 2 days at Petra

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwifamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel.
We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the hotel's location and amenities. We do hope you had a pleasant stay in Petra while we were hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just back from Jordan. Petra Moon Hotel is an excellent base for a two or three night stay to get to expereince one of the key sites in the country. Good food and accomodation and good value. Pleasant and efficient staff. At the nearby taxi rank ask for Ali - a gentleman.

Room Tip: Ask for second floor or above to avoid backround aircon/refridgeration/kitchen noises. I am blessed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel.
We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments, and are so glad that our great staff, Intelligent Nutrients products, and great location made for an overall great experience. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked this after reading the reports here at trip advisor and have to say it was very disappointing.
Room 201 : Avoid!
On arrival we found the toilet had no seat on it, just broken off at the hinges. Removed from the room so they must have known. This was reported and fixed the next day.
The bathroom was tiny and the sink hidden behind the door so you have to close yourself in before you can get to the sink.
Bath foam supplied but the sink and bath had no plugs.
We requested 2 single beds but they just squashed them together because the room wasn't big enough.

We booked 2 rooms , the other 205 , which was much better and was only for one person. Why squash two people into the small room?
Pool was empty, roof snack bar closed for building work and sunloungers etc all stacked, internet intemittent.

Room Tip: Avoid 201 but 205 was better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your constructive comments. But, let`s clarify something here, Your booking was made for twin bedded room and therefor, your room has two beds. We have taken note of your negative experience in the toilet and we wish to apologize for any inconvenience. It is a top priority for us to ensure our service levels are always at the highest. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SFO
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly good hotel. Big comfy bed and pillows. Well-decorated rooms and excellent service. The only complaint is the shower, which looks expensive but the water wasn't easy to control, and the shampoo and soaps weren't great. The breakfast is good for the region and buffet dinner also not bad for the price. The location can't be beat. Other hotels farther away may be cheaper and just as good, but the taxis aren't cheap, and after a long day hiking, you'll have a hard time waiting for the bus to get to a hotel farther away. The entrance to Petra is at the lowest part of the valley, so walking anywhere from there is all uphill.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wvzjxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience at Petra Moon Hotel.
I would like to apologize for the condition of the shower; this is not of the high standard we expect, but I am relieved that it did not detract from your pleasant stay. I am glad to hear about the efficient and friendly service you had from our great team, and I hope we will welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
343 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
155 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Property: Petra Moon Hotel
Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing