We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Max Convenience food & sites & Hotel Comforts”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The other positive reviews say it all! in addition: the daily Amman bus stops very close by. ATM next door at the Movenpick hotel, and local Jordanian restaurants a few minutes walk. The hotel arranged a taxi to Wadi Rum for a jeep tour and then dropped us off at the border to walk across to Eilat-- seemed a reasonable price, but check other agents/ hotels for prudence.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Globelmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are more than delighted to read your comments, as they are an invaluable source to us. We cherish your kind review and we have shared it with our team, as it is a great motivation to continue a high standard of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

918 - 924 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

The Petra Moon Hotel is conveniently located a few minutes from the entrance to the Petra Archaeology Site and many shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the friendliness of the staff, the breakfast that was included, and the hospitality "perks" (fruit basket and candy bars). The staff was extremely friendly and gave a partial refund when it was pointed out that the room at the end of the hallway had no wi-fi and the water was lukewarm. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this hotel to travelers.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room at the end of the hallway (furthest from the centrally located elevator) becaus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertPC118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel.
We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the related teams. We are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Excellent room. Good breakfast. We had a great dinner. Clean. I would stay again.

The only negatives were small. First, the decor is perhaps not superbly elegant, but, certainly very nice. Second, I asked the manager for a taxi and the rate to Wadi Ram. He said JD 60. Then, I told him a taxi at the stand in front of Petra's entrance had quoted me JD 35. He said that is a good price. The lesson learnt is that he is on his countrymen's side. I got a taxi from the stand and went to Wadi Ram for JD 35. Just don't believe his first quoted rate :-)

But, as I said, this hotel looks new, has a great location, great food and generally nice service. You can't go wrong if you don't ask them to call you a taxi :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prasen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience at Petra Moon Hotel.
I would like to apologize for the condition of transportation's rate; As quoted rate you were given was for a private transportation's company, fully insured in case of any accident. God forbid it. As you can get a lower rates from an ordinary taxi, but I am relieved that it did not detract from your pleasant stay. I am glad to hear about the efficient and friendly service you had from our great team, and I hope we will welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Beautiful and comfortable room with good quality bedding and furnishings. A level of hospitality and service that is rarely seen any more. Very elegant dining room with good breakfast and dinner buffets and very attentive service.

Location is literally a one minute walk from the entrance to the archeological site.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are more than delighted to read your comments, as they are an invaluable source to us. We cherish your kind review and we have shared it with our team, as it is a great motivation to continue a high standard of service.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had stayed at the Four Seasons in Amman and this hotel whilst not obviously being able to compete on that scale - was like a mini version. I think no more praise is needed!

There is certainly no need to stay at the 5 Star Hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbieEastwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel! We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments. Thanks in most part to the great team that I`m lucky to have here, who make the Petra Moon Hotel the best place to work and for the guest to stay in. We are truly grateful to you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, and we are looking forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January. It's location within 200 metres of the entrance to Petra is ideal, and the hotel is a perfect base to visit the site.

The hotel is working hard to impress guests, and service was very good. We wanted to do the Petra by Night trip shortly after we arrived, and the hotel arranged to get tickets for us while we settled in. When we went to our room we found complimentary bottled water and Kit-Kats, as well as a fruit platter.

The room was a reasonable size, with a huge bed. Everything was very clean, and the only issue we had with the facilities was one electric socket didn't work. The bathroom was fairly small, and a bit of a disappointment compared to the rest of the room. Breakfast was a full buffet, and had a good variety of products to choose from.

The hotel obviously aspires to a high standard, and it is making an effort to get there. It does fall short on some of the detail (no plugs in the bath or sink, for example) but overall it is a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure to host you at Petra Moon Hotel, and we thank you for posting such a great review on TripAdvisor.

The Petra Moon Hotel strives for excellence, and invests time, effort and resources to ensure our guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves. I would like to apologize for the condition of electric sockets. ; this is not of the high standard we expect. Talking about bath plugs; We're actually looking at it from sustainability way, since we have a very poor sources of water here in Jordan. However, they are available upon request.
We trust your stay in Jordan was pleasant, and hope to see you among our guests in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Family room with was great layout and very comfortable. Rooms were clean and beds perfect.

Buffet dinner in restaurant was average but good value. Bread pudding-like dessert was fantastic. They don’t serve alcohol in this hotel.

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Wifi did not work in lobby or rooms and when it did it was so slow that it was useless. Probably an ISP issue rather than the hotel.

Booked a trip to Wadi Rum through the hotel and coordinated with the hotel Manager. Things started off OK but after arriving in Wadi Rum, things fell apart. I paid for a 4 hour tour. The camel ride was much shorter than promised and then the jeep tour was an hour less than agreed to. On top of this the whole tour started at 11am but the guide did not bring with any lunch (and you cannot buy lunch anywhere) so by 2pm my family was starving. After a number of calls between the Petra Moon Manager, the tour operator, the taxi driver and the jeep driver, they all agreed that there was a miscommunication and they could take us back into Wadi Rum for an hour. By this point is was too late and completely impractical. Suggest booking with a reputable tour operator rather than through the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wagumbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience at Petra Moon Hotel.
I would like to apologize for the condition of the excursion and the way it ended up and therefor, I would kindly like to ask you to contact us through our website `info@petramoonhotel.com` in order to communicate further in this regard. This is not of the high standard we expect, but I am relieved that it did not detract from your pleasant stay. I am glad to hear about the efficient and friendly service you had from our great team, and I hope we will welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
408 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,018 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
532 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
200 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $69 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing