We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms & location - do not book tours through hotel”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #4 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great rooms & location - do not book tours through hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Family room with was great layout and very comfortable. Rooms were clean and beds perfect.

Buffet dinner in restaurant was average but good value. Bread pudding-like dessert was fantastic. They don’t serve alcohol in this hotel.

Staff was very helpful and friendly. Wifi did not work in lobby or rooms and when it did it was so slow that it was useless. Probably an ISP issue rather than the hotel.

Booked a trip to Wadi Rum through the hotel and coordinated with the hotel Manager. Things started off OK but after arriving in Wadi Rum, things fell apart. I paid for a 4 hour tour. The camel ride was much shorter than promised and then the jeep tour was an hour less than agreed to. On top of this the whole tour started at 11am but the guide did not bring with any lunch (and you cannot buy lunch anywhere) so by 2pm my family was starving. After a number of calls between the Petra Moon Manager, the tour operator, the taxi driver and the jeep driver, they all agreed that there was a miscommunication and they could take us back into Wadi Rum for an hour. By this point is was too late and completely impractical. Suggest booking with a reputable tour operator rather than through the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wagumbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent experience at Petra Moon Hotel.
I would like to apologize for the condition of the excursion and the way it ended up and therefor, I would kindly like to ask you to contact us through our website `info@petramoonhotel.com` in order to communicate further in this regard. This is not of the high standard we expect, but I am relieved that it did not detract from your pleasant stay. I am glad to hear about the efficient and friendly service you had from our great team, and I hope we will welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    553
    130
    22
    11
See reviews for
299
660
127
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Good hotel right nect to Petra with warm and friendly staff. The rooms were very clean with excellent service. It had easy access to the main attractions around and the ambience of the hotel was very nice. It is very reasonabley priced as well. Would definetely recommend for families to stay. But its only a 3 star hotel so dont have high hopes!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmy_dsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to write it. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the hotel's location, great service and amenities. We do hope you had a pleasant stay in Petra while we were hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The Petra Moon is a 2 minute walk from the entry to the park, the only hotels closer are the movenpick and crown plaza and honestly i dont know why you would pay the premium! The week we were going to Petra it snowed, and the roads were closed for 2 days so we had to change our plans. Not only were the staff understanding, allowing us to move our dates, they were very helpful with personal mobile phone contact to ensure we got in safely. So needless to say the service was excellent! We wanted to do a cooking class at Petra Kitchen, and the staff called to arrange it and went to pay to secure our booking (the class was great too).
The rooms are more than large enough, very comfortable and have modern bathrooms. The hot water was a bit on the warm side, but some people we spoke to had no hot water due to frozen pipes!
The breakfast buffet is tasty with good variety, and wi-fi works well in the rooms.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2_Vietnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay at Petra Moon Hotel.
We are truly humbled by your wonderful compliments, and are so glad that our great staff,Intelligent Nutrients products, and great location made for an overall great experience. We are truly grateful to you for taking the time to recommend our hotel, and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again!

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Petra Moon hotel is a nice place to stay if you are planning to visit Petra. It is at a walking distance from the entrance gate of petra. The hotel is modest which offers required amenities. The stay was perfect as we were looking for a budget hotel close to Petra. This hotel is perfect for that purpose. It also offers family rooms with 5 beds, which is economical for a big group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rina_chhetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that all of the details you were expecting were included in your experience. These details and attention to service are what set us apart as a hotel and it brings me great pride to hear you that enjoyed them. Please know that I have shared your comments with our entire team, so that we can continue to strive for excellence with each and every guest.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide your feedback. We certainly hope to welcome you back sometime in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Petra Moon for four nights last month, visiting Petra and Wadi Rum. The housekeeping staff tried very hard to please, checking on us every evening to see if we needed anything, giving us complimentary bottled water and Kit-Kat, and a fruit platter on arrival. We really appreciate all this effort.

My only complaint is their charges for taxi service seem a bit high. They charged 50JD (55JD now) to go to Wadi Rum in December, when the standard taxi fare was 35JD. We took the morning (6:30am) bus to Wadi Rum which cost only 7JD per person. We had to ask the hotel reception to call the bus company the day before to have the bus pick us up from the hotel the following morning. I asked the reception twice just to make sure they made the phone call.

We did use the hotel taxi when we left for Queen Alia Airport. As we checked out, the guy at reception tried to charge us 190JD for airport transfer, which I corrected him immediately. We paid 90JD in the end. Taxi fare has to be paid in cash. So be sure you know the exact cost. It is best to check other's prices before using Petra Moon's "Extra Services".

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 920Katy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing a comprehensive review of your experience with us. We appreciate you choosing our hotel as your host here in Petra. I truly value your comments, all the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve, as these give us the opportunity of improving the quality and service we offer. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. I also regret that you were not fully satisfied with the service you received. I have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be taken into consideration in our efforts to provide the best service experience possible.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was quite satisfied with my stay here. The beds were comfortable, the service was friendly and the breakfast and dinner buffets were very tasty. There were just a few things that I think needed improvement:
- A couple of service requests were forgotten
- The double bed was actually two single beds
- Water from the bath tap was too slow to fill the bath (only important since it was snowing at the time!!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wozbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience at Petra Moon Hotel.
Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our service and our food.
We do apologize for any shortcomings you may faced during your stay with us, and we will certainly pass on your comments to our team and address the issue with the relevant departments.
We hope that this recent unfortunate incident with us will not deter you from staying with us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Petra Moon in December. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable with excellent beds and nice cozy comforters. Our room also had a wonderful view! The staff were really nice and helpful and always quick to respond to requests. It's only about a 5 minute walk over to Petra, which was extremely convenient. We loved this hotel and it would be my first choice on a future visit to Petra!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to read how happy you were with the hotel, our beautiful view and convenient location. It is wonderful to hear that you had a comfortable and relaxing time with us, as is always our main goal with every guest we host. Thank you for recognizing our staff, we do appreciate it. We are especially pleased to read that you would love to come back which would allow us the pleasure of hosting you again. We thank you for choosing Petra Moon Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Property: Petra Moon Hotel
Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing