We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, free wifi and helpful & friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, free wifi and helpful & friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Good view and half a block from entrance to Petra and restaurants. Breakfast buffet is included and is yummy. Service is helpful and friendly, very obliging. Outdoor pool on the roof and good views across the valley from roof top too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me2penders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear valued guest,


It was our pleasure to host you at Petra Moon Hotel, and we thank you for posting such great review here.

The Petra moon hotel strives for excellence, and invests time, effort and resources to ensure our guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves.

Therefore, it is always nice to know that we have succeeded in doing our job.

We trust your stay in Jordan was pleasant, and hope to see you among our guests in the future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    545
    128
    22
    11
See reviews for
292
648
127
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We loved this hotel. Nice rooms at a reasonable price. it's a short walk to the entrance of Petra so very convenient. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel were both good.

The owner, Sameer, and staff are very kind people. We spent two days trying to cross into Jordan from Israel after a rain storm closed the Arava border. When we called Sameer for help, he refunded the night we were unable to make and arranged for one of his drivers, Daniel, to meet us at the Sheikh Hussein border crossing up north. For a very reasonable price, Daniel worked a very long day to ensure we saw as much as possible on our way to Petra Moon Hotel since our time in Jordan had been shortened. He even grabbed lunch for us while we were sightseeing. We're very grateful to them both. If you're looking for a driver in Jordan, Daniel was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

We are always delighted to hear from a happy guest- your kind words are much appreciated and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We have shared your most kind comments with the rest of the team as there is no better motivation than praise for a job well done!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The management is a pleasure to deal with and extremely helpful. We had to change our itinerary on the fly and even had to cancel a night due to circumstances beyond our control. Even though it was past the cancellation date, they didn't charge us for the missed night.

They arranged a wonderful driver who truly saved the day for us. If you ever need a driver, ask for Daniel. He works for the owner of Petra Moon. He is extremely professional and very knowledgeable. The room was great as were the meals. It is a great value. The Location is great. Its only a few minutes walk to the entrance of Petra.

The only problem we had was the driver they arranged to take us back to the border. He was awful! He turned a 3 1/2 hour trip into a 5+ hour trip. He insisted he knew where he was going. However, he kept getting lost. In fact we almost didn't get to the border on time to make the crossing. Ask for Daniel - he's the best.

I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to some friends. Thanks for your help Sameer!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochester_NYTrunkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the related teams. We are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest.

On the other hand I was concerned in regards to your comment about our driver, in the way back to the border. Therefore I have shared your comment with the transportation's in-charge and we are already working on enhancing our drivers` knowledge, maps and directions.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and I can't speak highly enough of this hotel. It has a superb location right by the entrance to Petra which saved us a lot of time, money and hassle, and we had a large, beautiful room with a big window, really comfy bed, helpful staff, nice and quiet and a fantastic breakfast included - we couldn't believe it considering what we'd paid. The hotel also has a pool on the roof, although unfortunately it was too cold for us to use it. I seriously doubt there is anywhere better to stay in Wadi Musa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RdeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,


It was our pleasure to host you at Petra Moon Hotel, and we thank you for posting such great review here.

The Petra moon hotel strives for excellence, and invests time, effort and resources to ensure our guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves.

Therefore, it is always nice to know that we have succeeded in doing our job.

We trust your stay in Jordan was pleasant, and hope to see you among our guests in the future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

We were looked after very well at this clean and comfortable hotel. We arrived very late on our first night but were met with a warm welcome by all the staff. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a well priced hotel that is in a perfect location for exploring Petra. Special mention must go to Ashraf who was particularly helpful and accommodating.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to read how happy you were with the hotel, our beautiful view and convenient location. It is wonderful to hear that you had a comfortable and relaxing time with us, as is always our main goal with every guest we host. Thank you for recognizing our staff, we do appreciate it. We are especially pleased to read that you would love to come back which would allow us the pleasure of hosting you again. We thank you for choosing Petra Moon Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

After a few harrowing experiences with more expensive hotels in Israel, we arrived at the Petra Moon not knowing what to expect. We were very pleasantly surprised. Our room was gigantic with a view of the mountains. The hotel looks very new and is easy walking distance to the main entrance to Petra -- which was our main concern as we were planning to enter the park before sunrise and wanted to be able to basically roll out of bed in doing so. We also had a great dinner at the hotel restaurant that I would recommend.

My only complaint is that all of the beds were twins. Granted, the room had FIVE twin mattresses (for a party of three), so we pushed some of them together. But the huge room could've easily fit a couple of king beds instead of the laughably large number of twin mattresses.

There's not much else in the neighborhood but other hotels and tourist shops, but if you're staying here it's really just to see Petra, and this hotel is better located for that purpose than most other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReadyForThisJelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the hotel's location and amenities. We do hope you had a pleasant stay in Petra while we were hosting you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

we traveled to Petra in the heat of May and still couldnt get a room at the Move n Pick. We settled at the next best option- the Petra Moon, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised.

A stand alone building, I didn't expect much out of it. Reading other reviews had prepared me for an alcohol free stay! But one night shouldn't really matter- oh well it did and we went to the Cave at the entrance of Petra for a drink.

About the hotel- the rooms were neat and clean...not luxurious. When we took a shower, the shower head came off, but they go tit done by the time we back back from our drinks at the cave.

The next morning, we left for Petra before breakfast was served, but the chef willingly agreed to prepare a small breakfast of eggs for us when we returned.
We returned around 11 am and sure enough the chef dished up 2 fluffy omlettes which was a blessing after the heat and the way we were feeling.

Wifi was free in the lobby and that enabled me to blog.. Staff was eager to please and I must say that I am extremely happy with this place and would recommend it if you do not get a room at the movenpick in front of the Petra Moon.

But yes do not expect 5 star luxury........ but it is still great for Jordan... and if your sole aim is to visit Petra. And yes it is a 5 minute walk to the gate so that makes all the difference in the world...

my pics aren't being uploaded here... for more info check it out on my blog- http://antheaschronicles.wordpress.com

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntheaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

It was our pleasure to host you at Petra Moon Hotel, and we thank you for posting your review here.
The Petra moon hotel strives for excellence, and invests time, effort and resources to ensure our guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves.

Therefore, it is always nice to know that we have succeeded in doing our job.
We trust your stay in Jordan was pleasant, and hope to see you among our guests in the future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Property: Petra Moon Hotel
Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing