We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane, australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a wonderful property, fairly new, very clean, very large rooms with big comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is delicious. And the location of course can NOT be beat! This is THE place to stay in Petra. Only nice touch would be if the pool was heated!! Even when severely hot after a big long Petra hike, the pool is still too cold to enjoy for more than a few minutes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was pleasant. Your kind words are much appreciated, in particular the ones about our employees and our service; we will make sure to pass on your praise and comments to the related teams.Rest assured that your valuable comment regarding the swimming pool will be addressed with the relative departments in order to enhance our provided services.

We are always happy to hear from a satisfied guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    561
    131
    22
    11
See reviews for
307
673
127
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Heath, IL
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We were very pampered. We arrived early and our rooms were not ready. After our return from touring the antiquities, our luggage was in the room, and flowers and a fruit plate were waiting for us. Wonderful bed and lovely bathroom. Dinner menu was very good and breakfast buffet was wonderful. Loved the bed turn down and chocolates after an evening walk.

Definitely would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are more than delighted to read your comments, as they are an invaluable source to us. We cherish your kind review and we have shared it with our team, as it is a great motivation to continue a high standard of service.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

I didn't actually stay here, but they were kind enough to let me stash my luggage with them during my rush visit to Petra! I was on my way from Wadi Rum to Amman, and only had a few hours. I offered to pay, but they wouldn't accept my money. I don't know how I would have seen Petra otherwise, so I just wanted to write a note of appreciation. The lobby was very nice, and they even gave me a nice hibiscus drink while I was stuffing one of my bags. The location is great, they are very close to the entrance and the bus station. The next time I come to Petra for a longer visit I will certainly stay with them!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank TaraWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AymanFarajat, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

It was our pleasure to host you at Petra Moon Hotel, even for a short time! and we thank you for posting such great review here.

The Petra moon hotel strives for excellence, and invests time, effort and resources to ensure our guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves.

Therefore, it is always nice to know that we have succeeded in doing our job.

We trust your stay in Jordan was pleasant, and hope to see you among our guests in the future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a perfect place to stay when you are visiting Petra and are looking for a good price/quality hotel. We stayed at one of the family rooms with 5 seperate beds in a very big room but with a tiny bathroom. We stayed 3 nights here, enjoyed the buffet-style breakfast and also took advantagous of the buffet-style dinner (2 evenings). Food was great with a good local taste but no alcolhol (they serve tasty alcohol free beer). The top floor swimmingpool and area is very well done. Sadly enough freezing cold water at that time of the year but still enjoyable if you stay dry. The terrace must be great in summer time to enjoy the view, have a drink and take a splash in the pool. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had two problems with the room. One was a broken lamp (and consequent electrcity failure) and the other one was a smell in the bathroom. The electricity was fixed but they never got the smell out of the bathroom.
I really recommend this hotel but don't want to give it 5 stars given the minor problems we got and you cannot expect to have the same as in the nearby Movenpick. But given you pay 4 times more at the Movenpick, I know Petra Moon is where I will go back!

Room Tip: They have big family rooms for 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your kind words are much appreciated.

We have addressed the issue with the relevant departments in order to prevent any re occurrence in the future and we will certainly take your comment in consideration. We sincerely hope that this experience will not discourage you from staying with us in the near future, in order to demonstrate to you the improvements we have made as a result of your valuable comment.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

An adequate hotel. Room marred by size of bathroom - very small and towels were wet !!!. Note this hotel is "dry" as it is a family hotel. But you can get a drink at other hotels in the immediate vicinity. Ideally positioned within walking distance of the Petra visitor centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EddieRidgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. Yes, Petra Moon Hotel is a family business and we are proud of it...

We do apologize for any shortcomings, and your constructive comments will be taken to our consideration.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Booked through Atlastours.net my tour agency for my independent trip. I cross-checked this hotel with Trip Advisor prior to approving it and it was an excellent choice. The hotel is behind the high end Movenpick Hotel. I would rate this a 4 star hotel. All rooms seem to be good, there does not seem a bad side to the hotel. It was nice to go to a quiet hotel after along day hiking around Petra. i stayed 3 nights with two full days of Petra sight seeing on my own. Very good breakfast buffet was included. The dinner buffet was very good also as an optional 15 dinar add-on. The hotel is only a block from the pedestrian entry to Petra. You walk by some vendors on a pedestrian walk area before the ticket entry area for Petra. Note Petra entry is a lot for one days but has only a 5 dinar add-on for the second day if you get that when you buy your ticket. Hotel is newer and rooms have ultra modern bathrooms. It has bathroom fixtures I have not even seen in expensive homes in the US.

Room Tip: all sides of hotel seem to have quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnHChicagoIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are more than delighted to read your comments, as they are an invaluable source to us. We cherish your kind review and we have shared it with our team, as it is a great motivation to continue a high standard of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yosemite National Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This hotel was a great value. The meals both provided and that you were able to purchae were very high quality. The rooms were exceptionally clean. I have never been anywhere that the hotel staff were more friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, General Manager at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Valued Guest.

It was our pleasure to host you at Petra Moon Hotel, and we thank you for posting such great review here.

The Petra moon hotel strives for excellence, and invests time, effort and resources to ensure our guests are comfortable and enjoy themselves.

Therefore, it is always nice to learn that we have succeeded in doing our job.

We trust your stay in Jordan was pleasant, and hope to see you among our guests in the future.

Kind regards,

Ayman Farajat
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
950 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
147 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#33 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Property: Petra Moon Hotel
Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing