We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if you just visiting Petra”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Petra Moon hotel, is not a hotel you use for a weeks vacation in Jordan, but it is good to use if you're going to see Petra.
We spend 2 nights at the hotel, and compared to other hotels in Jordan it is not a luxury hotel, but the prices are low and location perfect. Rooms are small. we had nice view facing the entrance to Petra.
.
There is a small pool on the roof, with bar, but besides that there isn't anything else to spend your time on at the hotel.

The dinner buffet and breakfast are not 4 stars, but again, compared to what you pay it is ok.

Staff very friendly and helped us with tickets to the Petra by night tour, which is a must-see if you're going to Petra.

The hotel is alcohol-free, and there is parking close by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fru_jensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Recently stayed at Petra Moon in September with my family. The hotel room was very nice. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Did not have dinner there, but breakfast was awesome. I enjoyed the omelet bar. Staff was very helpful with booking a driver (last minute) to take us to Amman, when our rental car situation did not work out. Hotel is steps away from Petra. Overall, had a great stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LaurieY82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

As many other reviewers have stated, this IS the place to stay when visiting Petra. It has the best location, is spotlessly clean, quiet and is only one year old. Everyone goes out of their way to please. For example, we returned after a long hike too tired to go out for lunch in the middle of the hot afternoon. The restaurant staff graciously prepared lunch for us at a time when no one else was around. This is an example of the high level of service.

The rooftop, open air lounge provides a great view of the area; the city of Wadi Musa in one direction and the Petra mountains in the other. A great spot to view the beautiful sunsets.

We arranged through the hotel to be picked up at Aqaba after crossing via Israel from Egypt. Through a timing misunderstanding, the driver waited three and a half hours in the heat for us and then was very gracious during the couple hour drive to the hotel.

We booked guided tours of Petra for two days through the hotel. Sameer, who is one of the local owners of the hotel, was our fabulous guide at a reasonable rate. He pointed out many things we would have missed on our own. He took us to all the main places as well as many others that we never would have found or seen by ourselves. He was great at pacing the trip according to our needs and was patient with my many photography stops.

The time in Petra exceeded our high expectations thanks in part to the wonderful accommodations and services provided by the Petra Moon Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haleconia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, Owner at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your very kind review on our hotel and our services. From the beginning that we planned to have this new hotel we wanted to combine the ideas about good modern services and our Bedouin tradition of hospitality. From your review we think we succeeded in this idea and that really makes us happy.

Of course it makes me personally happy that you liked my guiding. We do try to give our guests a little more than the things that they can learn themselves from the guidebooks. Petra is worth it! So we do hope to see you again for another visit to our beautiful country and a more extensive acquaintance with our culture.
Best Regards
Sameer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A delightful, comfortable hotel very close to the monument site entry. We had a lovely room overlooking the hillside across the valley at the front of the hotel. There were more expensive rooms but this had everything you would need. A reasonable sized room with great aircon (very important) & enough room to put everything, a great bed (impecably clean) and a more than adequate bathroom. Even more outstanding though were the staff! The Jordanians bring a new meaning to charm with wit and friendliness - not to mention a 'twinkle in the eye'. The breakfast and dinner buffets were varied & enjoyable. We looked elsewhere for dinner but came back to the hotel and joined in the fun. This hotel is very pleasant & affordable. Run efficiently with the help of staff who enjoy people and love life. Enjoy a night or 2 of their hospitality. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I was staying here with friends for 2 nights, we had a family room and it was great value for money. On the morning we planned to leave our hire car wouldn't start, we spoke to the hotel reception and they took the keys and got the car jump started for us. It was a superb service and the staff we very kind. The location of the hotel is 2 minutes walk to the enterance to Petra and the breakfast was very tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at this hotel after reading the stellar reviews online. We had been traveling in the middle east for about 13 days and this hotel was, hands down, the best. The staff was genuine, the dinner was 5 star and the room was beautiful. We arrived early for our check in, no problem. We asked if we could upgrade our room, no problem. We apologized that we would be changing our reservations for one less night of stay due to our changed travel plan, no problem. We asked if they could arrange for a ride to Waddi Rum, no problem. We asked if we could get a bite to eat even though the kitchen was closed, no problem.

One of the owners personally drove us to Wadi Rum after there was an issue with the original car. While we were coming back through Petra on our return to Amman the staff told us it was OK if we wanted to lounge by their rooftop pool while we waiting for our driver to take us back. The pool, by the way, is fantastic.

Petra is a wonderful place to visit, staying at the Petra Moon makes your stay beyond wonderful.

Thank you to the great staff of the Petra Moon for making our Jordan experience so great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed at Petra moon hotel for two nights and our first impression took place when we entered to the lobby, after a long drive to find a chilled and refreshing welcome drink, they call karkadeh.

Our other gift from heaven was the room, we felt like we are home far of our home. Comfortable beds with clean sheets and modern furniture. They went through every single detail, even a free WiFi services at the floors and the lobby also. I LOVED THE IDEA.

Dinner was amazing. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices, swimming pool at the roof floor was woooow. and the service was perfect all around.

All the staff made us feel at home in a professional way.

One more thing to add here, it took us only two minutes walking from the hotel to main entrance of Petra.

All in all, we would love to go back again to experience the memorable stay and we will definitely recommend it to our friends, coworkers and family...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lord l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, Owner at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear Valued Guest!!!
Thank you very much for your kind review on the Petra Moon Hotel on Trip advisor. We understood that you had a nice time in our hotel and that our services and facilities made you happy. We do try to make it our business to make tourists feel welcome in our country and especially in Petra. It is nice to hear when we succeed in this. So please, if you have any comments that will make it possible for us to improve our services, do not hesitate to tell us.

Hope to see you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Sameer Nawafleh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,055 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
428 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
220 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $70 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing