We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, amazing staff and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, amazing staff and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Recently stayed at Petra Moon in September with my family. The hotel room was very nice. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Did not have dinner there, but breakfast was awesome. I enjoyed the omelet bar. Staff was very helpful with booking a driver (last minute) to take us to Amman, when our rental car situation did not work out. Hotel is steps away from Petra. Overall, had a great stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LaurieY82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    790
    535
    126
    21
    11
See reviews for
283
639
124
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

As many other reviewers have stated, this IS the place to stay when visiting Petra. It has the best location, is spotlessly clean, quiet and is only one year old. Everyone goes out of their way to please. For example, we returned after a long hike too tired to go out for lunch in the middle of the hot afternoon. The restaurant staff graciously prepared lunch for us at a time when no one else was around. This is an example of the high level of service.

The rooftop, open air lounge provides a great view of the area; the city of Wadi Musa in one direction and the Petra mountains in the other. A great spot to view the beautiful sunsets.

We arranged through the hotel to be picked up at Aqaba after crossing via Israel from Egypt. Through a timing misunderstanding, the driver waited three and a half hours in the heat for us and then was very gracious during the couple hour drive to the hotel.

We booked guided tours of Petra for two days through the hotel. Sameer, who is one of the local owners of the hotel, was our fabulous guide at a reasonable rate. He pointed out many things we would have missed on our own. He took us to all the main places as well as many others that we never would have found or seen by ourselves. He was great at pacing the trip according to our needs and was patient with my many photography stops.

The time in Petra exceeded our high expectations thanks in part to the wonderful accommodations and services provided by the Petra Moon Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haleconia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, Owner at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your very kind review on our hotel and our services. From the beginning that we planned to have this new hotel we wanted to combine the ideas about good modern services and our Bedouin tradition of hospitality. From your review we think we succeeded in this idea and that really makes us happy.

Of course it makes me personally happy that you liked my guiding. We do try to give our guests a little more than the things that they can learn themselves from the guidebooks. Petra is worth it! So we do hope to see you again for another visit to our beautiful country and a more extensive acquaintance with our culture.
Best Regards
Sameer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

A delightful, comfortable hotel very close to the monument site entry. We had a lovely room overlooking the hillside across the valley at the front of the hotel. There were more expensive rooms but this had everything you would need. A reasonable sized room with great aircon (very important) & enough room to put everything, a great bed (impecably clean) and a more than adequate bathroom. Even more outstanding though were the staff! The Jordanians bring a new meaning to charm with wit and friendliness - not to mention a 'twinkle in the eye'. The breakfast and dinner buffets were varied & enjoyable. We looked elsewhere for dinner but came back to the hotel and joined in the fun. This hotel is very pleasant & affordable. Run efficiently with the help of staff who enjoy people and love life. Enjoy a night or 2 of their hospitality. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellingMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

I was staying here with friends for 2 nights, we had a family room and it was great value for money. On the morning we planned to leave our hire car wouldn't start, we spoke to the hotel reception and they took the keys and got the car jump started for us. It was a superb service and the staff we very kind. The location of the hotel is 2 minutes walk to the enterance to Petra and the breakfast was very tasty.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay at this hotel after reading the stellar reviews online. We had been traveling in the middle east for about 13 days and this hotel was, hands down, the best. The staff was genuine, the dinner was 5 star and the room was beautiful. We arrived early for our check in, no problem. We asked if we could upgrade our room, no problem. We apologized that we would be changing our reservations for one less night of stay due to our changed travel plan, no problem. We asked if they could arrange for a ride to Waddi Rum, no problem. We asked if we could get a bite to eat even though the kitchen was closed, no problem.

One of the owners personally drove us to Wadi Rum after there was an issue with the original car. While we were coming back through Petra on our return to Amman the staff told us it was OK if we wanted to lounge by their rooftop pool while we waiting for our driver to take us back. The pool, by the way, is fantastic.

Petra is a wonderful place to visit, staying at the Petra Moon makes your stay beyond wonderful.

Thank you to the great staff of the Petra Moon for making our Jordan experience so great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed at Petra moon hotel for two nights and our first impression took place when we entered to the lobby, after a long drive to find a chilled and refreshing welcome drink, they call karkadeh.

Our other gift from heaven was the room, we felt like we are home far of our home. Comfortable beds with clean sheets and modern furniture. They went through every single detail, even a free WiFi services at the floors and the lobby also. I LOVED THE IDEA.

Dinner was amazing. Breakfast was wonderful with lots of choices, swimming pool at the roof floor was woooow. and the service was perfect all around.

All the staff made us feel at home in a professional way.

One more thing to add here, it took us only two minutes walking from the hotel to main entrance of Petra.

All in all, we would love to go back again to experience the memorable stay and we will definitely recommend it to our friends, coworkers and family...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lord l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, Owner at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Valued Guest!!!
Thank you very much for your kind review on the Petra Moon Hotel on Trip advisor. We understood that you had a nice time in our hotel and that our services and facilities made you happy. We do try to make it our business to make tourists feel welcome in our country and especially in Petra. It is nice to hear when we succeed in this. So please, if you have any comments that will make it possible for us to improve our services, do not hesitate to tell us.

Hope to see you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Sameer Nawafleh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This hotel has everything correct - the hotel was full when we arrived but as we had prebooked they upgraded us to a beautiful suite, and said they would come up with the things it was missing as they had not planned on it being used. Sure enough, within a few minutes a man was knocking at the door with extra pillows and towels. This was not a problem, and the staff were so polite and efficient it made no difference to us at all.
We returned from Petra the next day in the afternoon and the waiter by the pool said he would make us a 'light snack' for 5JD as we had missed lunch - he came back with two enormous chicken burgers with salad, chips, olives...it was delicious!
The location is excellent, which is definitely a big draw when you've walked for 6 hours in the heat up and down hills, only having a short stroll back to the hotel was bliss. The roof-top pool was lovely, good atmosphere comparing our experiences with other travelers, and the rooftop bar was beautiful at night with the view over Wadi Mousa, especially on BBQ night!

Would recommend to anyone wanting to see Petra.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emmatrindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PetraMoonHotel, Owner at Petra Moon Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dearest Guest

We thank you for your kind review on Trip Advisor. We were sorry for the inconvenience at the start of your stay with us, but happy that we could solve it and that you liked the solution.

We do hope to see you again. There is so much to see and experience in Jordan and also Petra is worth a second and more thorough visit. We will be happy to advice you on your trip, help you with transfers to any place in Jordan and experienced personal guiding for Petra. We are proud of our history and culture and want as many people as possible to come and get to know our country more extensively.

Best Regards
Sameer
Petra Moon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#6 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
1.6 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Property: Petra Moon Hotel
Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing