We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel of our 10-day trip in Jordan”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2012

In January 2012 we stayed with our family two nights in two rooms. When we arrived by our rental car in the evening after a trip from Madaba with very bad weather with even snowy roads over the last 20 kilometers (yes: you can have snow in Jordan!), it was a delight to have such a nice (and warm) rooms in this hotel. Large rooms with a modern interior, where we had a good night sleep with no sound of neighbours or traffic. The next morning, when the weather fortunately was dry and calm again, we experienced an other advantage of this hotel. It is just a two minutes walk to the ticket office of Petra. In the evening it is also a short walk to some nice restaurants. Free Wifi is available in the hotel, but only in the lounge. We think you don’t find something better for the same price! Two ‘warnings’, not about this very good hotel but when you visit Petra. First, the price of a ticket for Petra was already steep, but it is recently doubled to 50 JOD a day! Secondly, because you have to pay cash in JOD we had a serious problem because in none of the ten ATM’s in Wadi Musa my wife and I could use our Maestro bankcards for cash withdrawals. The machines were only suitable for local cards (or not in working order). We had to drive 15 km to a village for an ATM were we had success. Be prepared!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MarcelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,164 - 1,170 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2012

Six of us recently spent two nights at the newly refurbished family owned Petra Moon. Excellent value for money and nothing was too much trouble, we arrived around 11.30pm and they served a light dinner, beds extremely comfortable. Good breakfast, highlight was welcome we received from all. Okla(?), brother of Samir, one of the owners, offered to guide us around Petra, most knowledgable guide we have ever had and very entertaining. Location great, only downside dry hotel, but Movenpick is near, although expensive as is Cave Bar but worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoyceP212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Good points: Comfy bed, good shower, everything new and clean, excellent choice of European as well as local food for breakfast. And after walking all day around Petra, the closer your bed is the better. Plus, in the bathroom, the best mistranslation pun I have ever seen:

'Jordan has pour water resources, please do not waste water.'

Minor downside: I stayed in backpacker hostels throughout my trip (there were none situated as close to the entrance of Petra as this, so I played my splurge card) The only downside to staying here was although the staff were perfectly cordial, there weren't as friendly as in other places. I guess that's the difference between a hotel and a hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterslide_victory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Amazing Hotel, and fantastic value for money
Rooms are great, the upgraded ones are fantastic (room 105 is also close to wifi router).
Reception are so friendly and helpful, parking right outside.
Within 100mn of Petra entrance
Breakfast is OK, but a bit arabic style, but this is being picky as it is a middle east country after all.
Choice of restaurants nearby.
Good for families, well off travellers or solo.
Find it hard to fault this place
AC works a treat (HOT and COLD)

Room Tip: 105 - excellent internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank haysinarabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Hotel is a 5-min walk to the entrance to Petra, which is extremely handy. On the way back, be prepared for a steep climb back to the hotel (which can be a killer if you are advanced in age & have just exhausted yourself walking around Petra grounds).
Hotel itself is comfy & beautifully furnished. Breakfast buffet is lovely and has all you need. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

As many have said before it would be impossible to improve on the location of this hotel for anyone wishing to visit Petra. Its only competition in this regard is the Movenpick which is however a more expensive option to stay at.

What makes this hotel outstanding is their family rooms. We stayed in what was possibly a suite room in an earlier existence but very sensible has been changed to a family room. This consisted of a spacious double bedded room with the adjacent room containing three well sized single beds for the children.

On top of this the hotel has clearly been refurbished recently and the rooms are of a very good standard for the price.

The only downside to our stay was that, like many hotels in Jordan, it was a dry hotel which meant that I could not enjoy a cool beer after a rather energetic day hiking around Petra. To get around this we all went to the Movenpick which has a very nice, if very expensive, bar and is only two minutes away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The hotel was great and I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Petra. Very smart, great staff, comfortable rooms etc. I was really happy with it and would stay there again.

While you're in Petra try to do the candlelit walk in the evening, and also stop for a drink at the Cave Bar (part of the Crowne Plaza hotel).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holidayerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
392 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#10 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $70 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing