We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good modern mid range hotel”
Review of Petra Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petra Moon Hotel
Ranked #2 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Hotel has been renovated recently so the prices were double that suggested in the Lonely Planet. However it did not disappoint. Rooms were modern and very clean. Buffet breakfast excellent. Great location 5 mins walk from entrance to Petra.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
There are newer reviews for Petra Moon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2011

The Petra Moon provides acceptable accommodation at a reasonable price

It is very well located (5 minutes from the Petra gate: second only to the Movenpick), and on-site food is well prepared, vegetarian-friendly, and good value (all-you-can-eat buffet dinner is JOD10 despite what booking.com says). The dining-room staff are friendly and generally do their best.

But the Petra Moon has its limitations. First and foremost, the lift is noisy. (We were two rooms away from the lift.) The noise itself is hard to describe but it sounded like the surge-then-hum noise of Luke Skywalker's light sabre. When tour groups leave early in the morning, the surge-then-hum repeats itself again and again. If you are a heavy sleeper this might be fine but it didn't work out for us.

Second, the rooms themselves--though recently renovated--somehow depressed us. The bathroom was small and dark (brown tile?!?) and the room was overfurnished for its size. The satellite TV service consisted mostly of religious, shopping and phone-sex channels. (Petra at night: not much else to do.).

We also felt that the housekeeping service quality was spotty: one request had to be followed up in person several hours later.

All in all, a decent hotel in a GREAT location, but hard to rave about it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the lift as possible
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValueValueValue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had a wonderful 3 night stay in Nov 2011. The hotel could not be more conveniently located for getting straight to the Visitors Centre and into Petra – which is worth its weight in gold after a long tiring day of walking !

The staff are amazingly friendly and accommodating, and the owners are extremely knowledgeable and helpful when trying to organise trips anywhere in Jordan. We booked a one-day trip from the Dead Sea to Petra via the Kings Highway and all the sights along the way. We also booked a day trip with a 3hr 4wd trip to Wadi Rum, and finally the return car journey back to Amman . They provided an excellent service, very friendly, and reasonable prices too.

The food is excellent – all freshly prepared, and none of us had any upset stomach despite eating lots of salads etc. The dinner buffet is a bargain price at JD10, whereas the Movenpick is JD27 !

The beds were probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in, and the rooms were nice and spacious.

There is a pool on the roof, but a bit too cold in November, but would be lovely in the Summer.

Overall an excellent hotel, wonderful staff and we would definitely stay there again when in Jordan.

General Petra information:
I would thoroughly recommend a day-trip to Wadi Rum. Its only 1.5hr drive away, and you can cover all the main sights at a leisurely pace on a 3hour 4wd trip.
Petra itself is huge. On the first day we walked from the hotel to the Treasury, up to the High Place of Sacrifice, down Wadi Farasa to the Old City , up to the Monastery, and back to the Treasury passing the Theatre. This took from 7.30am to 4:30pm, and we were exhausted ! I would definitely recommend a 2 day pass for JD55 (a one day pass is JD50), and spacing out the sights between both days.
We had a half day on the 2nd day and took the path to the Royal Tombs, and up to the lookout over the Treasury which was lovely. That took from 8.30 to 1pm at a much more leisurely pace.
Wadi Mousa (the town) is very hilly. Petra Moon is right at the bottom of the valley, so if you want to walk anywhere in town, its all uphill. There are a few nice shops and restaurants within 5-10min walk, but beyond that is a fair walk.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank expressive-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Spent 3 nights at the Petra Moon with a group of friends and we all agree that it's a lovely hotel.
Their friendly (and funny) staff could not do enough for you. One of my friends' shoe ripped on the side and they fixed it for him within 20 mins - that's what I call service!
The location is perfect, nice rooms with very confortable beds and nice showers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrazilNutLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

You will not find any hotel better than brand new Petra Moon for excellent service, friendly staff and clean modern rooms. My husband and I had not booked a tour and spent 2 nights in this hotel in Oct. 2011. The location is close to many restuarants and right at the entrance of Petra so no need to hire taxis. The friendly manager, Ibrahim was particularly helpful and introduced us to a wonderful local guide named Jame ( Jimmy) Hamadeen, who spoke excellent English. After exploring spectacular Petra, Jimmy drove us in his 4 wheel drive through the desert in Wadi Rum, where he showed us unusual desert landforms, explained life in the desert, local customs and history. Elinor and Eugene P

Room Tip: We liked rooms overlooking Petra entrance for the view.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eperch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a couple of nights in November 2011. The hotel is very clean and the service is friendly. The location is good, right next to the entrance of Petra. The breakfast is okay, a few cooked items and cold cuts etc. Raed, one of the staff members at the breakfast service was so friendly and smiley and he provided excellent service each morning. There was also a friendly welcome when we arrived. Only a few negatives, the beds could have been more comfortable, they were a little hard and there was also a lot of renovation work during our stay but i'm sure the hotel will be even better once the renovations are finished. Good for a couple of nights stay to see Petra but there are nicer areas in Jordan for longer stays. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks in Jordan. Five different locations and 5 different hotels. Stayed at the Petra Moon 11th/12th Noveber. This hotel is first class and outperforms a number of 5 star locations.
Rooms first class with good en suite facilities. Service excellent. Staff very knowledgeable and helpful with respect to exploring the local area and Petra itself. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
980 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Moon Hotel

Address: Visitor Center Street | PO Box 216, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#4 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $70 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Petra Moon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Moon Hotel is newly reopened with four star services. The rooms of five star amenities, all day dining room, shuttle service from the hotel to all different destinations in Jordan. The location of the hotel can tell you a story for being very close to the entrance of the ancient city of Petra. The Sky Roof Terrace and Restaurant offers a variety of cocktails and snacks. The hotel has a roof swimming pool surrounded overlooking Sharrah Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Petra Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Petra Moon
Petra Moon Wadi Musa
Petra Moon Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing