We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Simply not up to the mark” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Mumbai
Level Contributor
361 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Simply not up to the mark”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Having stayed at Movenpick Hotels in the Dead Sea and Aqaba, this was areal let down.
Though it's a big property, it is dingy, needs to refurbish its carpets in the corridors which were dusty and stained. The rooms are average and the food not up to the mark. The breakfast was quite bleak and the dining room area could be more cheerful. Besides, the staff were quite unhelpful.
Also it is quite away from the ruins,and far from any marketplace if one chooses to eat out.
This hotel really needs to pull up its act.

Room Tip: Opt for a room overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

I have taken careful note of your comments and sorry to read that your stay was marred with the mentioned deficiencies.

As your comments are an invaluable source to review our performance and achieve excellent service to our valued guests, I have discussed them with my team in order to avoid such inconveniences to our valued guests and ensure future improvements.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    35
    36
    36
    15
See reviews for
27
68
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

I came to Petra in July 2013 to see the wondrous and mystically beautiful Rose Red City of Petra. And decided to stay at the Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel. After my flight to Jordan and then a long journey from Amman to Petra by Taxi I was understandably exhausted.

It thus came as a pleasant surprise that when I reached the Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel at around 4am, I was greeted very pleasantly and upgraded to the Superior Suite at no extra cost.

I booked in and requested a wakeup call to see the amazing City of Petra. This hotel is perfectly located for the Petra excursion and is just a few minutes walking distance to the Tourist Office of Petra where you can hire a tour guide.

The interior of the hotel is beautifully decorated and air conditioned. I especially liked the Arabian interior and Water Fountain as it reminded me of a beautiful Arabian Palace. And my room was very nice and comfortable.

Petra itself is truly such an amazing and magnificent place. It’s a place which needs to be experienced as the photos just do not do it justice. Looking and exploring this amazing City and its amazing architecture and charm I saw why Petra it is one of the New Wonders of the World. And at Sunset this beautiful and enchanting Rose Red City and Treasury turns into such a splendid colour.

After exploring Petra it was very refreshing to go back to this excellent hotel. And the service was second to none. I was warmly greeted each day and the staff would go out of their way to ensure my comfort. Nothing was too much trouble and this was one of the best hotels in which I've ever stayed in and well worth its five star status. And if you have never tried Moevenpick Ice Cream, you don't know what you are missing.

I very much recommend this hotel to those who are planning an excursion in Petra. It's in a great location and the service is great.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

The hotel was good, but could use some improvements in the sense that, the bathrooms and the furnishings can be renewed. The service was good, but the general feel need to be pepped up. The staff are friendly and helpful and this really tops all else.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deeceego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comments and as they are invaluable source to review our performance, I have them with the departments concerned for future improvements in these areas.

We are hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton ma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

It seems that no Moevenpick hotels in Jordan have even average service - see review on Moevenpick Dead Sea. We had buffet breakfasts every morning. The wait staff were not trained to provide reasonable service. One had to wait awhile after being seated to get a cup of coffee. We often went twice to the buffet. When we returned, we found the dirty plates from round 1 had not been removed when it was obvious that we were finished with them. The rooms were nicely furnished. The dining experience in the grille room was superb. The view is breathtaking. The food was grilled to order, and we could see it being prepared.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nutlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel.

We have taken care of your comments and as they are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests, I have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Hotel looks nice from the outside. The paint is peeling on the inside. WiFi is horrible. It does not work even standing next to the router. The dinner was good. The breakfast was poor. The eggs were not real. I do not recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skiibum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel.

We have taken care of your comments and as they are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests, I have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel should not have MOVENPICK in it's name, as it makes you misunderstand the level expected.
It is a 3 star hotel, a long way from a 5 star one it makes itself out to be.
Poor service, shabby bathrooms, cold swimming pool (only one shower working in the changing rooms out of 3 !!)
Carpets dirty, food very average, slow internet just in the lobby and no ambiance, and quite a way out of the town.
Don't take it as a second choice if ever the Movenpick just outside the gates of Petra is full.
Try instead a small boutique hotel called TIERTA HILL HOTEL

Room Tip: If any a view on the desert mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank charlotte v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

I have taken careful note of your comments and sorry to read that your stay was marred with the mentioned deficiencies.

As they are an invaluable source to review our performance and achieve excellent service to our valued guests, I have discussed them with my team in order to avoid such inconveniences to our valued guests and ensure future improvements.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voula, Greece
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Althoght this hotel is a 5 star one, in practice I can only critisized as a 3 star one. This is because the rooms are small, old furbished, far away from Petra and the omonimus village, the air condition was difficult to be adjusted and the most important was the very poor food quality. The breakfast was totally unacceptable, served in a dark room without even a windaw. On a request to move on another- more apropriated table-, we had to face a very unpolite manager, positioning us into the dark area!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on upper floors. At least to have some outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vagpol56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

I have taken careful note of your comments and sorry to read that your stay was marred with the mentioned deficiencies.

As your feedback is an invaluable source to review our performance, I have discussed them with my team in order to avoid such inconveniences to our valued guests and ensure future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
2.8 mi away
Beit Zaman
Beit Zaman
#24 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.1 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#6 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
#17 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
2.7 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,424 reviews
2.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel

Property: Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel
Address: Upper Main Rd, Wadi Mousa | PO Box 184, Petra - Wadi Musa 71811, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel is a 10 minute drive from the entrance to the historic site of Petra, situated in a breathtaking secluded position on a hillside at an altitude of 1,400 metres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Moevenpick Nabatean Castle Resort
Movenpick Nabatean Castle Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing