We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel for backpackers - Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Petra Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petra Gate Hotel
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel for backpackers - Helpful Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Consider this hotel if you are looking for a budget hotel which is very close to the main attraction - Petra. They arrange our pick up from the Amman airport in a very reasonable price, driver (Mohammad) old chubby and extremely funny guy knows all the good places to eat local food. They arranged our entire Petra and Wadi rum tour. Small but clean room - very helpful staff. Overall great place in very cheap price.
I will not recommend you to take their dinner package as there are many options available outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the reception are quieter and has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dino_8438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    89
    35
    11
    14
See reviews for
18
81
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

A big thank you to Nazeer and his team for making our stay an absolute bliss! It's the best hotel with great price and so friendly staff. Rooms are very clean, hot water available throughout the day, clean bathroom. Breakfast and Dinner was great at such price.
Hotel arranged taxi for our entire trip and would like to extend our heartfelt thank you to Mohammed, the cab driver. He's the BEST!!!!
Thanks again!
People travelling with low budget and looking for great location, good price and good hospitality, please just book Petra Gate Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashima_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hotel team is very friendly and always available to provide excellent travel advice and make individual arrangements. Rooms are clean with comfortable mattresses. The rooftop terrace with a great view (especially at sunset!) makes you feel at home. In the evening, a tasty home-cooked dinner is served.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karl4562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiryat Shmona, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hands down, the best place to stay in Petra. The staff was extremely helpful and tended to our every needs. The food was great, the rooms were clean, and the price was fantastic, what more could you want! Very convenient as well, the hotel is located minutes from shops and not far from Petra's main gate at all. The staff arranged a cab to pick us up from the Aqaba border and saved us a bunch of money and time, not to mention the headache of not having to haggle with the cab drivers at the border. If you are going to Petra, pick the Petra Gate Hotel and you won't regret it one bit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Levin1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

Staff very accommodating and friendly, going out of their way many times to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They were very helpful in organising travel to other areas in Jordan - Taxi from Amman 70JD, bus to/from Wadi Rum 7JD and half day tour of Wadi Rum (including stay in camp site) for 40 JD or 50JD for full day tour.
Food was great and value for money costing 6JD with a hugh selection of dishes.
Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable with hot water and heating. 15-20 min walk to the gates of Petra. Would defiantly recommend Petra Gate to backpackers, as two female travellers we felt very comfortable here.
Thanks Nasser!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harperem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

+ The staff in Petra Gate H&H was very helpful and friendly, food tasted fantastic and it was able to walk from the hostel down to Petra in about 20min.
- The owner told us dinner would cost 6€ but for some reason once charged 8. Plus, it's called buffet, but actually never refilled, so have to be punctual otherwise there is only certain food left. Breakfast is cheap (2€), if you are picky, however, you better buy your own food since there is not a lot of choice.
All in all we felt very comfortable and safe staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naser A, Owner at Petra Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your comment , Yes , you are right , The price for the Mansaf is 8 JD ,, and we only do this food when more tourist ask a bout it , because the cost is more expansive ,
I thing we told all our customers about the price , i am sorry if you not ,
Our breakfast is Jam , cheese ,butter , yogurt , Egg boil and fritz , saniora ,tomato, bread , Milk , tea , coffee , sorry if that a varied breakfast ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

All the staff is really kind and always ready to help you in anyway they could !
Special tnahs to Kimo and Ammar for their excellent cooking on the evening !
The hotel is clean, the rooms have hot water and heater even during the winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank felix o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#17 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopetra Hotel
Cleopetra Hotel
#9 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Gate Hotel

Property: Petra Gate Hotel
Address: Petra St | P.O. Box 120, Petra - Wadi Musa 81001, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Petra Gate Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Gate Hotel is located in the city , center and same street to the site 10-15 Minutes walk to the site , we can pick you up from Amman airport or Aqaba border to Petra for cheaper price , and every day we arrange a tour to the desert of Wadi Rum, camping sleep , and there is a kind of tour with the kings highway via Dead Sea back to Amman In our hotel our customers can enjoy the setting in our roof terrace and see the most beautiful view of Petra Mountin and same time can enjoy the buffet dinner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petra Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Gate Hotel And Hostel
Petra Gate Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Gate Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing