We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Petra Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petra Gate Hotel
Dusseldorf, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Hotel team is very friendly and always available to provide excellent travel advice and make individual arrangements. Rooms are clean with comfortable mattresses. The rooftop terrace with a great view (especially at sunset!) makes you feel at home. In the evening, a tasty home-cooked dinner is served.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karl4562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    94
    36
    11
    13
See reviews for
19
83
55
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiryat Shmona, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Hands down, the best place to stay in Petra. The staff was extremely helpful and tended to our every needs. The food was great, the rooms were clean, and the price was fantastic, what more could you want! Very convenient as well, the hotel is located minutes from shops and not far from Petra's main gate at all. The staff arranged a cab to pick us up from the Aqaba border and saved us a bunch of money and time, not to mention the headache of not having to haggle with the cab drivers at the border. If you are going to Petra, pick the Petra Gate Hotel and you won't regret it one bit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Levin1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Staff very accommodating and friendly, going out of their way many times to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. They were very helpful in organising travel to other areas in Jordan - Taxi from Amman 70JD, bus to/from Wadi Rum 7JD and half day tour of Wadi Rum (including stay in camp site) for 40 JD or 50JD for full day tour.
Food was great and value for money costing 6JD with a hugh selection of dishes.
Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable with hot water and heating. 15-20 min walk to the gates of Petra. Would defiantly recommend Petra Gate to backpackers, as two female travellers we felt very comfortable here.
Thanks Nasser!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harperem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

+ The staff in Petra Gate H&H was very helpful and friendly, food tasted fantastic and it was able to walk from the hostel down to Petra in about 20min.
- The owner told us dinner would cost 6€ but for some reason once charged 8. Plus, it's called buffet, but actually never refilled, so have to be punctual otherwise there is only certain food left. Breakfast is cheap (2€), if you are picky, however, you better buy your own food since there is not a lot of choice.
All in all we felt very comfortable and safe staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Vera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naser A, Owner at Petra Gate Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your comment , Yes , you are right , The price for the Mansaf is 8 JD ,, and we only do this food when more tourist ask a bout it , because the cost is more expansive ,
I thing we told all our customers about the price , i am sorry if you not ,
Our breakfast is Jam , cheese ,butter , yogurt , Egg boil and fritz , saniora ,tomato, bread , Milk , tea , coffee , sorry if that a varied breakfast ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

All the staff is really kind and always ready to help you in anyway they could !
Special tnahs to Kimo and Ammar for their excellent cooking on the evening !
The hotel is clean, the rooms have hot water and heater even during the winter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank felix o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Super friendly! The manager drove down to Petra to give me my credit card after I left it at the front desk!

They made us a delicious breakfast in the morning for very cheap! Traveled with my girlfriend and a couple buddies. Great place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Melays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great budget option. Fantastic roof terrace. Great views over Petra, including from rooms. Clean and quiet. Hot water and showers. Staff extremely obliging and helpful in every way, even cooked me special meals for my food allergies. Make a plat du jour every day. Very helpful for information and organizing tours to Petra, Wadi Rum etc. We stayed here several days, wandering around in the area. Petra and Wadi Musa are fantastic.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nawal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,563 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#33 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopetra Hotel
Cleopetra Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Gate Hotel

Property: Petra Gate Hotel
Address: Petra St | P.O. Box 120, Petra - Wadi Musa 81001, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Petra Gate Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Gate Hotel is located in the city , center and same street to the site 10-15 Minutes walk to the site , we can pick you up from Amman airport or Aqaba border to Petra for cheaper price , and every day we arrange a tour to the desert of Wadi Rum, camping sleep , and there is a kind of tour with the kings highway via Dead Sea back to Amman In our hotel the customers can enjoy the roof terrace and see the sunset and the view of Petra Mountie and same time can enjoy the dinner at our rood terrace - see the photos in this website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petra Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Gate Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Gate Hotel And Hostel
Petra Gate Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing