We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful welcome, great stay”
Review of Petra Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petra Gate Hotel
Beirut, Lebanon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful welcome, great stay”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great budget option. Fantastic roof terrace. Great views over Petra, including from rooms. Clean and quiet. Hot water and showers. Staff extremely obliging and helpful in every way, even cooked me special meals for my food allergies. Make a plat du jour every day. Very helpful for information and organizing tours to Petra, Wadi Rum etc. We stayed here several days, wandering around in the area. Petra and Wadi Musa are fantastic.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nawal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    96
    36
    11
    13
See reviews for
19
83
56
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

When I arrived, it was like a welcome you get when visiting family/friends. They showed me around, showed me my room and brought me something to drink.

They helped me arrange trips to several places like Little Petra.
They also organised some trips to; Wadi Rum, the Dead Sea and Kings Highway, for cheaper prices then taxi.

Even when I got ripped off, they were doing their utmost best to help me.

They are all really friendly people who wish to help you out.

Also, rooms are clean, hot water shower, breakfast and diner were delicious.

I could really reccommend this hotel.
The three+ nights discount is really nice, one night free.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I strongly recommend staying at this hostel while in Petra, Naser is the best in Petra, I had an amazing time in the city thanks to the wonderfully helpful and welcoming staff. The hostel itself is very nice and incredibly clean. Naser, the owner, is a great guy who will go out of his way to make sure you have an unforgettable experience in Petra.The wonderful view from the roof terrace is amazing ! You can see Petra mountain from there Don\'t even look at another hostel, book this one right now.thanks for the great time.

Room Tip: I stay in 126 ,, It was very good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

GReat place, reasonal prices for good rooms, nice rooftop-terrace with great view, the breakfast and diner were delicious for a goid price and last but not least; excellent staff! Very friendly hostel, great value for the price. Don't look further!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moniekaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

During our stay, we found each member of the team at Petra Gate is exceedingly friendly and kind. The prices are reasonable.

My wife and I stayed here during our 33 country around the world trip and were very pleased. The Jordanian hospitality was evident at every moment of our visit. We found that there was none of the manipulative tendency that one might find in other adjacent countries in the region, and we rapidly and rightly came to trust the people at Petra Gate.

Sometimes reviewers seem to complain about that which they did not pay. Does one go to the Petra Gate Hotel and Hostel to experience 5 star accommodations and beach front property? Obviously not. There is no beach in Wadi Musa and the accommodations are not 5 star. However, for a traveller who wishes to stay somewhere safe, comfortable, and clean, and where wonderful food is inexpensive and the people really care...then you have found your spot.

We've stayed in 5 star, 5 diamond, world class, highly rated, and exclusive resorts. In the end, however, a comfortable, clean place to sleep and friendly and helpful people wins the day. You'll find the comfortable, clean place to sleep and the helpful, friendly people at Petra Gate.

Room Tip: Anywhere you stay in Wadi Musa will suffer from what a westerner would consider significant noise po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

this was not our first choice but as was near but our first chioce(which was booked out) we stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The owner Nasser is a particulaly friendly and helpful man. yes the palce is a little rough around the edges but that just adds to it's charm. The rooms were clean, the simple breakfast was tasty(and starts early if you want to hit Petra before the crowds) and every time you walk through the door you are made to feel as though you are coming home.Take ear plugs though as it is very close to the Mosque and the 4am call to prayer will feel as though it's right inside your head. this is however not a reason not to stay here.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel have a great view of the village but are very close to the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gavsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this hostel due to the good reviews and a friend's recommendation. The hostel is very basic and not in perfect, top-notch shape, but is is an excellent place to crash if you are on a budget and looking to spend most of the time out in Petra and the surrounding areas anyway, coming here to store your luggage and sleep. Nasser from the reception and management was EXTREMELY helpful giving me some information on the site, a ride from the hostel to Petra, and also arranging for a cab to pick me up from Wadi Rum to the hostel and from the hostel to Amman Airport, stopping at Little Petra, Shawbak, and the Dead Sea for a fair price, so my days were used to the max. As a woman traveling alone, it was of utmost importance to be safe and well taken care of, and he didn't fail in selecting the drivers and checking in to see if everything was fine. If you need a cab driver for either around Petra or long-distance in Jordan, ask the reception to contact IBRAHIM (+962 777511514). You won't regret it. He was extremely pleasant, his English was great, he had a lot of interesting things to share, and it is enough to say that he was the most respectful and courteous driver I have had the fortune to ride with. I felt very, very safe driving around with him. Tip: REMEMBER to leave the key at the reception when you are out! I forgot and could have saved them some headaches. ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hilda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,578 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#33 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopetra Hotel
Cleopetra Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Gate Hotel

Property: Petra Gate Hotel
Address: Petra St | P.O. Box 120, Petra - Wadi Musa 81001, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Petra Gate Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Gate Hotel is located in the city , center and same street to the site 10-15 Minutes walk to the site , we can pick you up from Amman airport or Aqaba border to Petra for cheaper price , and every day we arrange a tour to the desert of Wadi Rum, camping sleep , and there is a kind of tour with the kings highway via Dead Sea back to Amman In our hotel the customers can enjoy the roof terrace and see the sunset and the view of Petra Mountie and same time can enjoy the dinner at our rood terrace - see the photos in this website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Petra Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Gate Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Gate Hotel And Hostel
Petra Gate Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing