We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Roll on Morning...”
Review of Petra Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Petra Gate Hotel
beijing
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Roll on Morning...”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The best thing about this place is that I will never be coming back. Wish I had seen the comments re bedbug registry beforehand too. I write this at 02:00 hrs, not being able to sleep, which I put more to the comfort of the bed. Someone threw the towel in on this place long ago. Polite service does not offset the product here, as it is that bad. Are the people, who are giving this place good reviews, more accustomed to prison?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    89
    35
    11
    14
See reviews for
18
82
51
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Western, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

this was not our first choice but as was near but our first chioce(which was booked out) we stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed ourselves. The owner Nasser is a particulaly friendly and helpful man. yes the palce is a little rough around the edges but that just adds to it's charm. The rooms were clean, the simple breakfast was tasty(and starts early if you want to hit Petra before the crowds) and every time you walk through the door you are made to feel as though you are coming home.Take ear plugs though as it is very close to the Mosque and the 4am call to prayer will feel as though it's right inside your head. this is however not a reason not to stay here.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel have a great view of the village but are very close to the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gavsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trier, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked this hostel due to the good reviews and a friend's recommendation. The hostel is very basic and not in perfect, top-notch shape, but is is an excellent place to crash if you are on a budget and looking to spend most of the time out in Petra and the surrounding areas anyway, coming here to store your luggage and sleep. Nasser from the reception and management was EXTREMELY helpful giving me some information on the site, a ride from the hostel to Petra, and also arranging for a cab to pick me up from Wadi Rum to the hostel and from the hostel to Amman Airport, stopping at Little Petra, Shawbak, and the Dead Sea for a fair price, so my days were used to the max. As a woman traveling alone, it was of utmost importance to be safe and well taken care of, and he didn't fail in selecting the drivers and checking in to see if everything was fine. If you need a cab driver for either around Petra or long-distance in Jordan, ask the reception to contact IBRAHIM (+962 777511514). You won't regret it. He was extremely pleasant, his English was great, he had a lot of interesting things to share, and it is enough to say that he was the most respectful and courteous driver I have had the fortune to ride with. I felt very, very safe driving around with him. Tip: REMEMBER to leave the key at the reception when you are out! I forgot and could have saved them some headaches. ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Hilda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lokeren, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed at the Petra Gate hostel for two nights. The hostel keeper, Naser Farajat, was most helpful to provide any information we wanted and helped out with all of our practical needs, and he even called up someone to find out actual information he didn't know himself. He helped us organize out visit to Wadi Rum. He is very honest and personally engages with you as a guest, and we paid a reasonable amount for the comfort we got in a two-bed room.
I don't know what other hostels in Petra new town are like but I am confident that we made a very good choice to stay at the Petra Gate hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Renaat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good stay at a hostel that was clean and well run, and all rooms have en-suite and hot water. Spent two comfortable nights there and the staff were friendly and helpful and even helped arrange the bus to come and pick us up from the hostel to take us on to wadi-rum. It is a bit rugged around the edges, for instance the curtains had tears and the bathroom door was broken, this is not a 5 star establishment, but for somewhere inexpensive and practical to spend a few nights while you explore the surrounding area it was very good. The hostel is on a hill outside petra, it is 10-15 minutes away downhill along the main road to the main gate, but it will be more like 20-25 (especially after a tiring day) to get back up the hill, alternatively take a taxi, but do not pay more than 2JD for it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

we stayed in the hotel for 2 days on our travels through Jordan, this is a great cheap and cheerful hotel. The rooms are quiet small and the shower was interesting. But the guy who runs the place made up for everything he couldnt do enough for us, he gave us a lift to the site in the morning, the sell lunchboxes for you to take out for the day. He recommended little Petra which is well worth a visit. When we checked out he gave us a lift to the minibus but we missed it by 10 mins he called the driver and got him to stop then drove us to the bus. He wouldn't take any money he did it as he wants his guests to have a positive experience. I would 100% recommend this hotel, there are some really good cafe's within a short walk too.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MNJDIABATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I just stayed together with my wife in this hotel. I would totally not recommend this place. The rooms were small and old. Hot water was not available, so we had to take a cold shower. Furthermore there was no AC/fan and the window could not be opened so we were soaking wet of our own sweat at the end of the night. If you want to wake up multiple times due to the call of the nearby mosque, this is the place to be. If you want to have a decent rest, please go to another place. The other night we stayed at the valley stars inn hotel which was around 16 dinar more, with more than ten times the quality of this place.

The owner of this place arranged a trip for us, without mentioning additional costs which were considerable. After confronting him with these facts he replied that arranging a trip in his opinion only includes transport. We were told we would be taken to the dead sea and had to pay around 20 euro per person for just dipping into the dead sea.

In conclusion; don't stay at this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilbert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#19 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopetra Hotel
Cleopetra Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Gate Hotel

Property: Petra Gate Hotel
Address: Petra St | P.O. Box 120, Petra - Wadi Musa 81001, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Petra Gate Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Gate Hotel is located in the city , center and same street to the site 10-15 Minutes walk to the site , we can pick you up from Amman airport or Aqaba border to Petra for cheaper price , and every day we arrange a tour to the desert of Wadi Rum, camping sleep , and there is a kind of tour with the kings highway via Dead Sea back to Amman In our hotel the customers can enjoy the roof terrace and see the sunset and the view of Petra Mountie and same time can enjoy the dinner at our rood terrace - see the photos in this website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Petra Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Gate Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Gate Hotel And Hostel
Petra Gate Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing