We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location guy that runs the place is a really great guy”
Review of Petra Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Petra Gate Hotel
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

we stayed in the hotel for 2 days on our travels through Jordan, this is a great cheap and cheerful hotel. The rooms are quiet small and the shower was interesting. But the guy who runs the place made up for everything he couldnt do enough for us, he gave us a lift to the site in the morning, the sell lunchboxes for you to take out for the day. He recommended little Petra which is well worth a visit. When we checked out he gave us a lift to the minibus but we missed it by 10 mins he called the driver and got him to stop then drove us to the bus. He wouldn't take any money he did it as he wants his guests to have a positive experience. I would 100% recommend this hotel, there are some really good cafe's within a short walk too.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MNJDIABATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for Petra Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 255 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

I just stayed together with my wife in this hotel. I would totally not recommend this place. The rooms were small and old. Hot water was not available, so we had to take a cold shower. Furthermore there was no AC/fan and the window could not be opened so we were soaking wet of our own sweat at the end of the night. If you want to wake up multiple times due to the call of the nearby mosque, this is the place to be. If you want to have a decent rest, please go to another place. The other night we stayed at the valley stars inn hotel which was around 16 dinar more, with more than ten times the quality of this place.

The owner of this place arranged a trip for us, without mentioning additional costs which were considerable. After confronting him with these facts he replied that arranging a trip in his opinion only includes transport. We were told we would be taken to the dead sea and had to pay around 20 euro per person for just dipping into the dead sea.

In conclusion; don't stay at this place!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hilbert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Staff were amazingly helpful, went out of their way to get us cheap taxis and the best contacts for the rest of our trip, and provided an amazing packed lunch for 3.50 JD for us to take into Petra. Breakfast was included and we could have it at anytime - on the morning we left for Petra at 6am, he packed it up for us to take with us as he wouldn't be there to serve it! Very close to restaurants and about a 20 minute walk to the Petra site, or a 1JD taxi ride. Has a fantastic roof terrace overlooking the town and mountains. However the time we were there it was incredibly quiet - I think we may have been the only people staying there so not great if you're looking to socialise. The room itself was clean enough but a little shabby.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Becky211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great service and hospitality! Very helfull, friendly and good english speaking staff. Clean and comfortable room with a nice shower. On the rooftop of this hotel you will find the most beautifull view across the valley. 1 minute walk to the shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank reisfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I stayed only 1 night, and loved this place. It is a typical hostel, but the people and the service were beyond welcoming.
I arrived too late to go see Petra, so I sat in the lobby for a bit checking emails and chatting with the staff. Ammar and Kemo, the 2 staff guys, sat and chatted with me and made me feel like family, right at home! They suggested I go see little Petra since I had a late arrival. The owner even drove me the 15 minute drive to little Petra, dropped me off, and picked me up. He even drove me out of the way a little bit just to show me some amazing views. He is a great man.

I planned a day trip to Petra and then to take a bus to Amman in the evening, but I found out there is a good chance the Jett bus will have no availability in the evening, so the owner even called around to find me a ride to Amman, for about the same price as the bus, much cheaper than a taxi.

I inquired about this guy josef that I read about in the bad review from the solo girl passenger. The staff were so disappointed and told me that he was fired immediately. I can say all the staff are outstanding. We sat outside drinking tea and chatting at night, and they constantly went out of their way to make sure I was not in need of anything.

If you re looking for a budget place to stay, this is it

Amar, Detroit

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Aaamaraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a basic hostel, but it is cheap and thanks to the staff we had a brilliant time there. The owner of the hostel was one of the most friendly and helpful I have come across. He actually drove us down to Petra and arranged to pick us up again in the evening so that we didn't have to get a taxi. He brought us mint tea and coffee as we were sat out on the roof terrace enjoying the (amazing) view. He even sent us off with a load of bottles of water as we left, and we weren't charged for any of this - it was all very genuine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Yon_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Situated a short walk from the main bus station, this hostel is conveniently located within walking distance from the local shops, restaurants and town centre. The rooms though basic provide a comfortable and affordable nights sleep. I was given a single room at the front of the hostel, but was offered a double upstairs at no extra cost (though I was happy with the room I was given). But the shining feature of this hostel has to be the unwavering hospitality of the staff. From the moment I arrived until the sad time when I had to depart, the staff at Petra Gate made my stay very enjoyable. Having unfortunately injured my ankle at the Petra site (wear appropriate footwear!) meant that I was pretty much house bound for the rest of my stay, but doing so at Petra Gate was like staying at home with family. They were more than willing to help me out whether it meant buying me lunch or getting painkillers from the local pharmacy. They truly went above and beyond what I would have expected. Workers Omair and Faheem were enjoyable to spend time and have lengthy conversations with. The manager even offered me a lift to bus station which meant I caught my bus to Amman just in time.
All in all, Petra Gate Hostel is a comfortable, clean yet affordable place to stay to enjoy the wonders of Petra. I would definitely stay here again if I was to visit Petra once more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Faieq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.8 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seven Wonders Hotel
Seven Wonders Hotel
#8 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cleopetra Hotel
Cleopetra Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
432 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Maison Hotel Petra
La Maison Hotel Petra
#33 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petra Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petra Gate Hotel

Address: Petra St | P.O. Box 120, Petra - Wadi Musa 81001, Jordan
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $19 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Petra Gate Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petra Gate Hotel is located in the city , center and same street to the site 10-15 Minutes walk to the site , we can pick you up from Amman airport or Aqaba border to Petra for cheaper price , and every day we arrange a tour to the desert of Wadi Rum, camping sleep , and there is a kind of tour with the kings highway via Dead Sea back to Amman In our hotel the customers can enjoy the roof terrace and see the sunset and the view of Petra Mountie and same time can enjoy the dinner at our rood terrace - see the photos in this website ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Petra Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petra Gate Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
Petra Gate Hotel And Hostel
Petra Gate Hotel Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing