We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Place to Stay in Petra -- Well Worth the Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“THE Place to Stay in Petra -- Well Worth the Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

While the Petra site itself more than lives up to its Wonder of the World billing, the commercial and hospitality amenities of the towns of Petra and Wadi Musa are infamously seedy tourist traps. Of the hospitality alternatives, the exceptions are the Moevenpick and Crowne Plaza in Petra. The Moevenpick wins that competition because of its delightfully traditional decor and hugely convenient location, directly across the plaza from the site entrance. Given how dusty and weary one gets from a full day of hiking around the site's rough terrain, the extra couple of yards up a steep hill to the Crowne Plaza really do make a difference. We came from the Four Seasons in Amman, and of course the Moevenpick's amenities can't compare. Nevertheless, it is very nice. We were there over New Years, and the Moevenpick was packed, but the staff cheerfully and effectively rose to the occasion. When we made our booking, only the most expensive class of rooms were available. When we checked in, cheaper rooms had become available, and the staff voluntarily made us aware of the alternative -- a very nice touch. Excellent food also.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinoNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,367
    1,106
    414
    126
    62
See reviews for
721
1,334
176
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
640 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Movenpick knew what they were doing when they chose this location to build at. They probably also knew that sometimes in developing nations, service levels will vary despite honest managerial efforts. Luckily, none of the minor glitches are serious enough to fret over. Generally, our experience here was very, very good. And the famous Movenpick food is always worth looking forward to. This hotel was on our to-do list from its inception and it was exactly what we expected. *Franz, shukran again for your gracious handling of our Heathrow snow problems. We had a great time! We will return, inshallah....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zebecToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

It is exactly as other reviewers have commented - it is a very average hotel that does not deserve 5 star status, but it is right at the entrance to Petra, and I can tell you after a long day exploring the magnificent Petra, you will want a hotel that is close! I would stay there again for convenience, although it is irritating that the hotel does not live up to what you may expect - it needs a bit of a facelift. The breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuzzyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

The food was great! The teapot still had dirty water in it. We had two rooms. One had one bag of chips in the mini-bar, and the other didn't. The room was boiling. We asked if we could turn on the AC, but it had been turned off for the season. The front desk suggested we open the windows onto the courtyard, but we were on the second floor, and it was already so noisy that we couldn't sleep. So, there we were in a hard bed in a hot, noisy, room. Petra opens at 6:00 a.m., but the wonderful breakfast buffet wasn't ready until 6:40 a.m. Also, I called the switchboard at 6:15 and got no answer. I then called the desk...again...no answer. I went downstairs and the bell captian and reception desks were unattended. I stopped at the desk after breakfast to ask for a late check-out, and the person at the desk told me to come back at 7:30 when the manager came in. We were on our way into Petra and I wasn't going to wait around half an our for a manager. It was irritating that the desk wasn't empowered to approve a 2:00 p.m. check-out.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zest4living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

excellent location, few steps away from the Petra National Park " Petra entrance gate" the breakfast buffets were unbelievable

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank parkerkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

Comfortable, modern rooms with great lighting where the contents of the minibars including waters, are FREE!!! A really nice hotel with large and generous breakfasts. Located conveniently at the entrance to the Petra site.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

This hotel has excellent location only about 100 meters from the entrance gate to Petra. It is very clean, has very nice lobby and café. But I do not understand how it can have 5 stars because standard rooms are very small, comparable with other 3 star hotels, also bathroom is rather 3 star than 5 star. Free minibar with soft drinks. Service by buffet dinner is excellent but with the exception of salads there are no starters, but you can find some nice mains every evening and their desserts are delicious. Service by breakfast the first day OK, the second day I waited for my hot drink a very long time. When ordering a glass of wine in bar, I was surprised, the glass was dirty. There is also very nice á la carte restaurant but I have not visited it. I can recommend this hotel but with warning, that you pay 5 star price for 3 to 4 star quality. But fot its location and cleanness maby it is still the best one in Petra ?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing