We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location For Petra Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Perfect Location For Petra Visit”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed in March 2013 for two nights the day in between was my 65th birthday and I always wanted to visit Petra and my birthday was a good reason to go then.

Was worried a few days before arriving as President Obama was due to visit and I would have been hacked off if was the same days as me. Fortunately, he arrived three days later.

It is almost at the entrance to the Visitors Centre but this was not a problem with noise. Little time was spent in the hotel apart from sleeping and meals. The food was OK.

Whilst I will not be returning to Petra as it has been crossed off my "bucket list", I would have no problem recommending this, purely on its location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GasFromSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided and hotel facilities met your satisfaction.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    1,129
    434
    132
    64
See reviews for
736
1,366
180
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2014

One of the best hotels we've stayed at and right door to the Petra Unesco world heritage site. The hotel has 5 star dinning, spectacular pool and great security. We'll definitely go back and we highly recommend Moevenpick Resort Petra, when you are in Jordan.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us; the hotel facilities and services provided met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

A two minute stroll from the Visitor's Centre, Moevenpick Resort Petra, is at the best possible location to visit the majestic Petra. My wife and I stayed overnight with little time in the hotel, but the time spent there was comfortable and most importantly relaxing. The room, relatively small was intelligently designed and the decor much comforting. The room service was prompt, efficient and food (beef burger) was delicious. Little choice for vegetarians, but a decent Margaritas Pizza did keep my wife pleased. The very important morning breakfast was decent, a bit scattered in the layout but an expert hand at the omelette station made up for it. The spaces in the hotel are well arranged for relaxing and has a good open roof bar. The staff are cordial and willing to lend a helping hand. We enjoyed our short stay and definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Uppermost level, so that less distance to travel from the roof top bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddhesh_Karanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.


Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isanti
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Closest possible location for visiting the old Petra site. It's literally a stone throw from the entrance to the Petra site. Excellent market area with many shops full of friendly, non-pushy merchants. Very clean rooms and extremely safe, friendly environment.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jlshowalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us; the hotel facilities and services provided met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.
Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

Best thing about this hotel is the location.. We just had to walk 40 steps to reach the entry gate to Petra.
This is a small, niche hotel.
Frankly, the fun is to spend as much time in old Petra instead of hotel hence I recommend this hotel as the location is strategic !
Go for it :))

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Siddkulish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your explicit review on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to welcome you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We toured Israel and Petra and this hotel was the best of the 5 we visited. The location is perfect, the rooms were beautiful as were the entire facilities in the hotel. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel. Both served excellent food with plenty of choices. If you are visiting the Petra historical site, there cannot be a better hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJWhiteSoxfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your explicit review on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to welcome you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
119 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We chose to stay at the Moevenpick in Petra due to its location next to the visitors centre. It is indeed 100 metres from where you buy the ticket to enter... and since you are going to walk A LOT it is really appreciated to have your hotel next door when you finish.

Other than that, our stay there for 2 nights was very pleasant. The room was smallish but very nice, comfortable bed and good quality amenities. We tried the room service which was ok and the buffet breakfast which was very good.

Don't forget to try the Moevenpick ice creams!! They even deliver them to the room 24/7!!

I would definitely recommend anyone visiting Petra and looking for a 4* or 5* option to choose this property!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddiecreagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,



Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
929 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
871 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing