We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely attentive staff. Excellent location near the entrance to Petra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level Contributor
275 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Extremely attentive staff. Excellent location near the entrance to Petra”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I rarely write a review before I check out of a hotel, but the staff at this hotel has been so exceptional, I feel inclined to convey my experience.
First of all, the property is in the absolute best location for visiting Petra. The restaurants have delicious food and the rooms are fully stocked with all kinds of great amenities. Ours included breakfast, free mini bar, free parking and free internet. Believe it or not, that is not what makes this hotel so great---it's the staff. After checking in, our bellboy, Wilgred was extremely helpful in giving us advice. Later, when we had a more serious issue that had nothing to do with hotel, both he and the hotel manager, Wail Al Jundi made sure our problem was solved. Wail even offered to have one of the staff accompany us while the issue was being resolved with a car rental. Although not necessary, it made us feel well cared for. Upon returning to the hotel Wail was waiting to be sure our situation was resolved and we were happy. We were. What a great manager and what an incredible staff. There were many others on staff who were also wonderful and I want to sincerely thank them all. Jordan is a very special and wonderful place to visit and the team at this hotel reflects the hospitality and kindness of the country. If you visit Petra, stay here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank labonnevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your explicit review on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to welcome you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,382
    1,122
    426
    131
    63
See reviews for
731
1,353
178
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We arrived to this hotel on a Friday night. This hotel is located literally 2 minutes from the beginning of the City of Petra tourist sites. The hotel room was a nice size and clean. The front desk was nice and eager to please. The lobby was elegant, open, and clean. The food times were convenient and there was an abundance of different varieties of food to eat. Everything I ate was tasty. The only thing I would be cautious about is the fee of the drinks. A small can of soda is at least 6 dollars I found out. The water is also a little bit of a fee. This was really the only part I thought was a con. If you are coming to the area, I would look into this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank illpotion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for explicit review posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities.


With regards to the prices for our food & beverage offers, we do believe that we are well situated in comparison to our competitors. Furthermore, we do feature diverse restaurants, lounges and bars in our resort which provide our guests with alternatives.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future assuring you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were upgraded to this hotel and it is in an excellent location a stones throw from the entrance to Petra. The room was huge with very nice toiletries and a free minibar. Hotel staff were helpful and the pool was very nice. We also used the steam room - very welcome after walking around Petra. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anita470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra. We thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Moreover it delights us to know that our employees were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should you visit Petra again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were very happy with our two night stay in Petra. The location was fabulous, service was lovely, breakfasts were very good, and we came home to ice cream each night. The rom was more Han adequate, and it wS a comfortable stay in a lovely hotel. We enjoyed the most expensive beers of our lifetime!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacalyker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

My team and were happy to read that we succeeded in meeting & exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.

Your kind feedback is a source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Right on the entry to the ancient city of Petra, this is the only hotel to stay in when visiting.
The front desk staff seem disinterested, rooms are normal, and the service is simply decent.
Three positives: Location, good food quality, and beautiful lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubaistateofmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel facilities met your expectations.

Moreover, we have taken care of your comments and as they are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests, I have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, Australia
Level Contributor
565 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This is a fine example of a hotel trading on location (right at the entry to the main site) and not much else. The building itself is impressive, as is the large open lounge inside with a truly beautiful ceiling and skylight on the entry level. The hotel services a large number of tourist buses and so the whole place has that 'mass market' feel - the breakfast area is a zoo with hordes of people being served very basic food. The rooms are looking tired - our Junior Suite sounded fine, but in reality it was fitted with tired furniture and the two queen size beds (couldn't get anything else) were in reality two large singles! An ordinary hotel - not sure what the others are like, so it might be the best of a bad lot

Room Tip: Try somewhere else and walk the extra distance to the site
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

We have taken care of your comments and as they are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests, I have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent hotel - quite expensive, but perfect location and everything was so comfortable - beds, trinitae soaps, breakfast, wifi - not for budget travel, but definitely worth it if you are looking for something a bit spesh.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided and hotel facilities met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,532 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing