We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
340 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We didn't stay here but ate here a couple of times as it was far better than the food where we were staying.

Ggood lunch in the lobby, croque Monsieur was more of a standard cheese and ham toastie. Fairly expensive at 9jd but good quality and not skimping on the fillings - more cheese than bread! Chips were good too.

Excellent ice cream, walnut and maple syrup the highlight.

Dinner of salmon and chicken good portions and well cooked, buffet looked ok too for 25jd with a good selection of good quality stuff. This was in the main restuarant at the back which was fairly busy. We did think about the fine dining one but it was a bit pricey and we only saw one couple in it al night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra and I wish to thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

We are thrilled to hear that our dining option met your expectations and you have enjoyed your meals.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to our resort should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    1,131
    434
    133
    65
See reviews for
739
1,367
180
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on 14/15 April with my wife. Really frustrated by the poor internet connection which went off repeatedly. Called reception several times and was assisted by eager staff who visited our room, tried their level best and were apologetic but their fix would last only a short while. We had a half dozen access codes given to us during the 2 days all of which worked intermittently. We spent so much time on getting proper connection on our first afternoon that we said forget it. They simply do not seem to have enough capacity to meet guests' demands and a shame that their management does nothing to fix it. So frustrated spending so much time in a hotel room we decided to go for a late afternoon swim. A beautiful pool beckons but the water was just too cold. The excuse was that many guests prefer cold water. So we ditched that as well. In addition to close proximity to Petra entrance the confirmation of internet availability in rooms were key reasons we chose to stay at the Movenpick, as we had to deal with some important matters. If you do not need connectivity then proximity may be the only saving grace and if you are willing to pay top dollars for an unexceptional hotel then this is fine. One would have expected with such pricey room rates to get some perks over a more modest alternative. While staff were polite and appeared quite caring no one really did much apart from saying sorry. My suggestion is give this hotel a miss. Frankly not worth it and we will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0cky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.


I have taken careful note of your comments and sorry to read that your stay was marred with the mentioned deficiencies. They are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra, assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

The pool was freezing, the aircon in the room only good for 24 degrees. The service was by and large slow but friendly. Just don't expect normal Swiss service level. Best was re location right opposite the Petra entrance. All in all lower your expectations and you'll be fine.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joerg b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

I have taken careful note of your comments and sorry to read that your stay was marred with the mentioned deficiencies.

As your comments are an invaluable source to review our performance and achieve excellent service to our valued guests, I have discussed them with my team to ensure future improvements.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I'm only reviewing the dinner buffet as I was not staying here. This seems every bit a five star hotel. The lobby and dining area are gorgeous. The staff attends to your every need. And, oh yes, the dinner buffet's simply awesome.

But be forewarned, the price is 5 star too. Our buffet dinner for three was $152! Seems like a lot for a buffet, LOL. There's no denying it was good though.

Location's right outside the Petra Visitor's Center. Taking off 1 star for the outrageous cost.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahdim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your short time visit to Mövenpick Resort Petra, the dining option and our staff service met your expectations.

With regards to the prices for our food & beverage offers, we do believe that we are well situated in comparison to our competitors. Furthermore, we do feature diverse restaurants, lounges and bars in our resort which provide our guests with alternatives.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra, assuring you in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 nights at this hotel during a recent trip to Jordan. It is the closest hotel to the entrance to Petra which helps to get in before the crowds start to arrive.

I stayed in a suite which was nice and spacious with good equipment levels. As an arrival gift, a half bottle of local red wine was provided which went down well sitting on the patio watching the sun go down. Plenty of fresh fruit was also provided which I took with me on longer exploration runs in Petra.

The restaurant provided a good buffet with a wife selection of dishes, both local and international. The restaurant manager was very friendly and always keen to explain the dishes. The waiters were efficient and friendly but a bit too keen to find out how I was enjoying the food. I think I was asked 7 times during one meal!

Overall I very much enjoyed my stay here and would definitely come back.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank PDAV237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usmma, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights, The room Was in an M floor, The Restaurant food (we had The buffet included) wasn't so fresh, The second Night Was better. The location it's excellent, it's just infront of The Main door of Petra. The rooms are not big.
Internet!!!! I tryed to conect Many times And we had a message "sorry to Many log in's" I went to front desk And They told me, sorry try later!!!!!!!! Amazing!!!!!!!!!!
Everybody nows, that when you Travel part of your blood it's Internet...
This is The First time in Moevenpick And I Was expecting more...
The waiters at Breakfast They are very servicials......

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelJoined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

I have taken careful note of your comments and sorry to read that your stay was marred with the mentioned deficiencies.

Needless to say that I have discussed your comments with my team in order to avoid such inconveniences to our valued guests and ensure future improvements.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calangute, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Next to the entrance of Petra is the Movenpick hotel , like the other properties in Jordan everything is great about the Movenpick- amazing location, fairly big rooms with free minibar , super food , attentive staff - I really like staying in this chain , anything is easy to get as there are many shops around the corner.This hotel is ideal for visiting Petra with family . I really enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: Great rooms , very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zubin v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra. We thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Moreover it delights us to know that our employees were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should you visit Petra again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,543 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing