We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Moevenpick Petra. The room and bathroom were clean and it is literally across the street from the entrance to Petra. There was free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, you just needed to get a code from the front desk (and they were happy to give out additional codes if you needed them for multiple devices). The breakfast was great with a huge selection including an omelette station. The lounge off the lobby is really nice for relaxing and having a drink or coffee. We ate at a restaurant outside the hotel and wanted to have dessert and coffee in the hotel. The waiter brought us a selection of desserts from the restaurant's buffet--very accommodating. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Petra.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra. We thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Moreover it delights us to know that our employees were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should you visit Petra again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,070 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,365
    1,104
    413
    126
    62
See reviews for
720
1,332
176
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Movenpick is located right at the gates to Petra and is a beautiful and well appointed property. The pool and workout facilities are beautiful, the bar is fun with interesting cocktails, and the breakfast is epic.

A fantastic, 5 star place to stay during your trip to Petra!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JesseM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor.

The team and I were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort Petra and the service and facilities provided to you exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards.


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great room, beautiful hotel, good food, really nice and helpful staff.

Anyone going to Petra - I will STRONGLY ENCOURAGE them to stay here.

And seriously- it sits on the ENTRANCE GATE to Petra.....so great.

Room Tip: they all seemed great- we had a standard room and it was fantastic-
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexFugit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel facilities and services provided by our employees met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

What a nice oasis from a series of HORRIBLE hotels.

Rooms- broom, bed, linens, wifi all great

Food- good

Common Areas Hotel- interesting Moroccan decor


Overall- Super nice hotel- the entire Property and the staff was nice too- Concierge helped up get a sim card advised us to price and provider- turned out Great !!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank venusbirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel facilities and services provided by our employees met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

When we arrived I asked about quality hotel of the Movenpick in Petra and he informed us that it was the best hotel in Petra... When we arrived, we were thrilled to see the location of the hotel is literally steps away from the entrance of Petra especially since you'll do a LOT of walking to get to the site. The rooms were clean and spacious enough, nothing exceptionally luxurious or fancy but the service was excellent! The breakfast buffet in my opinion was very limited and not very tasty but my husband said it was fine for him. In all it was ok for the price and we probably would stay here again however I would probably research other options just for the experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vette10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided and hotel facilities met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

Sure, this hotel is dated and like many others have said before me it is in need of a renovation. Yet, the location is impossible to beat. Petra is awesome and you will walk alot. We walked 15 miles during the whole day there... You will at least walk 6 miles just seeing the basics. When you finish all of this walking kt is really really nice to exit Petra and walk across the hotel and to your room. Further, this hotel is resonably priced. It is not a 5 star property by any means, but in no way is it a 3 star. The location makes up for its shortcomings. The pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Location- see above. Impossible to beat if you are are to see Petra and I am not sure why else you would come to this part of Jordan.
2. Restaurant and Ice Cream- The food was pretty good here, especially for the price and Movenpick Ice Cream is pretty darn good.

Cons:
1. The hotel needs a renovation. This isn't uncommon for a number of hotels we have stayed at in the mideast. The Movenpick properties in Egypt are in much more need of renovations than this hotel.
2. Staff was ok- the service wasn't great, but it wasn't terrible either. With better service, the dated nature of the hotel could be better compensated.

For a place to rest after seeing one of the coolest places on earth, this is a good option. Don't let all the negative reviews throw you off. Your legs won't regret the location!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tpwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for explicit review posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities and services provided by our employees.

Moreover, we have taken care of your comments, as they are an invaluable source to review our performance we have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is its proximity to the entrance to Petra.

The room was shabby and there were several pieces of trash from prior guests still in the room - an empty water bottle under the desk and a paper bag of discarded items behind the drapes.

The bed was uncomfortable. The linens were coarse and the pillows were very, very lumpy foam. The climate control did not work but thankfully the windows opened.

The bathroom was tiny and run down. The small hair dryer attached to the wall only dispensed cold air.

The food at the main buffet restaurant was terrible. Some of the hot dinner items were so bad as to be inedible.

This hotel is symptomatic of the overall experience in Wadi Mousa - local business owners and staff know tourists will come so they charge a lot for sub standard service and goods.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

We have taken careful notes of your comments and as they are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests, we have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra should your travel plans bring you again assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#2 of 41 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing