We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
6 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$246
Hotels.com$234
Priceline$246
Movenpick$246
Travelocity$234
ZenHotels.com$281
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,414)
Filter reviews
4,415 results
Traveler rating
1,922
1,550
625
213
105
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,922
1,550
625
213
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviews movenpick ice cream junior suite perfect location buffet restaurant dead sea movenpick hotel closest hotel after a long day main entrance long walk breakfast and dinner wadi rum petra site minibar gate convenience
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
2,270 - 2,275 of 4,415 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Movenpick is located right at the gates to Petra and is a beautiful and well appointed property. The pool and workout facilities are beautiful, the bar is fun with interesting cocktails, and the breakfast is epic.

A fantastic, 5 star place to stay during your trip to Petra!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on trip advisor.

The team and I were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort Petra and the service and facilities provided to you exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards.


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Great room, beautiful hotel, good food, really nice and helpful staff.

Anyone going to Petra - I will STRONGLY ENCOURAGE them to stay here.

And seriously- it sits on the ENTRANCE GATE to Petra.....so great.

Room tip: they all seemed great- we had a standard room and it was fantastic-
Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexFugit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel facilities and services provided by our employees met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

What a nice oasis from a series of HORRIBLE hotels.

Rooms- broom, bed, linens, wifi all great

Food- good

Common Areas Hotel- interesting Moroccan decor

Overall- Super nice hotel- the entire Property and the staff was nice too- Concierge helped up get a sim card advised us to price and provider- turned out Great !!!

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank venusbirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel facilities and services provided by our employees met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

When we arrived I asked about quality hotel of the Movenpick in Petra and he informed us that it was the best hotel in Petra... When we arrived, we were thrilled to see the location of the hotel is literally steps away from the entrance of Petra especially since you'll do a LOT of walking to get to the site. The rooms were clean and spacious enough, nothing exceptionally luxurious or fancy but the service was excellent! The breakfast buffet in my opinion was very limited and not very tasty but my husband said it was fine for him. In all it was ok for the price and we probably would stay here again however I would probably research other options just for the experience.

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dasharoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided and hotel facilities met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Sure, this hotel is dated and like many others have said before me it is in need of a renovation. Yet, the location is impossible to beat. Petra is awesome and you will walk alot. We walked 15 miles during the whole day there... You will at least walk 6 miles just seeing the basics. When you finish all of this walking kt is really really nice to exit Petra and walk across the hotel and to your room. Further, this hotel is resonably priced. It is not a 5 star property by any means, but in no way is it a 3 star. The location makes up for its shortcomings. The pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Location- see above. Impossible to beat if you are are to see Petra and I am not sure why else you would come to this part of Jordan.
2. Restaurant and Ice Cream- The food was pretty good here, especially for the price and Movenpick Ice Cream is pretty darn good.

Cons:
1. The hotel needs a renovation. This isn't uncommon for a number of hotels we have stayed at in the mideast. The Movenpick properties in Egypt are in much more need of renovations than this hotel.
2. Staff was ok- the service wasn't great, but it wasn't terrible either. With better service, the dated nature of the hotel could be better compensated.

For a place to rest after seeing one of the coolest places on earth, this is a good option. Don't let all the negative reviews throw you off. Your legs won't regret the location!

Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for explicit review posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities and services provided by our employees.

Moreover, we have taken care of your comments, as they are an invaluable source to review our performance we have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews