We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent choice for a visit to Petra...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Resort Petra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #5 of 39 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for a visit to Petra...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

When we arrived I asked about quality hotel of the Movenpick in Petra and he informed us that it was the best hotel in Petra... When we arrived, we were thrilled to see the location of the hotel is literally steps away from the entrance of Petra especially since you'll do a LOT of walking to get to the site. The rooms were clean and spacious enough, nothing exceptionally luxurious or fancy but the service was excellent! The breakfast buffet in my opinion was very limited and not very tasty but my husband said it was fine for him. In all it was ok for the price and we probably would stay here again however I would probably research other options just for the experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vette10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided and hotel facilities met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,206
    965
    351
    111
    54
See reviews for
622
1,165
161
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
167 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Sure, this hotel is dated and like many others have said before me it is in need of a renovation. Yet, the location is impossible to beat. Petra is awesome and you will walk alot. We walked 15 miles during the whole day there... You will at least walk 6 miles just seeing the basics. When you finish all of this walking kt is really really nice to exit Petra and walk across the hotel and to your room. Further, this hotel is resonably priced. It is not a 5 star property by any means, but in no way is it a 3 star. The location makes up for its shortcomings. The pros and cons:

Pros:
1. Location- see above. Impossible to beat if you are are to see Petra and I am not sure why else you would come to this part of Jordan.
2. Restaurant and Ice Cream- The food was pretty good here, especially for the price and Movenpick Ice Cream is pretty darn good.

Cons:
1. The hotel needs a renovation. This isn't uncommon for a number of hotels we have stayed at in the mideast. The Movenpick properties in Egypt are in much more need of renovations than this hotel.
2. Staff was ok- the service wasn't great, but it wasn't terrible either. With better service, the dated nature of the hotel could be better compensated.

For a place to rest after seeing one of the coolest places on earth, this is a good option. Don't let all the negative reviews throw you off. Your legs won't regret the location!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpwoofs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for explicit review posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities and services provided by our employees.

Moreover, we have taken care of your comments, as they are an invaluable source to review our performance we have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel is its proximity to the entrance to Petra.

The room was shabby and there were several pieces of trash from prior guests still in the room - an empty water bottle under the desk and a paper bag of discarded items behind the drapes.

The bed was uncomfortable. The linens were coarse and the pillows were very, very lumpy foam. The climate control did not work but thankfully the windows opened.

The bathroom was tiny and run down. The small hair dryer attached to the wall only dispensed cold air.

The food at the main buffet restaurant was terrible. Some of the hot dinner items were so bad as to be inedible.

This hotel is symptomatic of the overall experience in Wadi Mousa - local business owners and staff know tourists will come so they charge a lot for sub standard service and goods.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

We have taken careful notes of your comments and as they are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests, we have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra should your travel plans bring you again assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Excellent location, extremely close to the entrance to one of the great wonders of the world! Rooms are clean and comfy, and very close after walking around petra for hours it provides excellent rest bite. Lobby is impressive and has plenty of character. A great base to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLotties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

The team and I were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort Petra and the hotel facilities met your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you not in the too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Right across the road from Petra old city so easy access to explore before it gets too crowded. Hotel is terrific, great rooms, facilities and dining. Amazingly friendly staff from Jordan and elsewhere in particular the Philippines. This is the one to stay when exploring Petra!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dabhand2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

My team and I were happy to read that we succeeded in meeting & exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.

Your kind feedback is a source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
589 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Others suggest this hotel could do with a revamp because of tired decor and this may be true, but what it lacks in contemporary refinement it more than makes up for in convenience. After a 7.5 hour walk around Petra this is important because walking up the hill, as I did on my last Petra stay is especially tiring after an enthusiastic day of sight-seeing. Food is good, breakfast has great variety, staff are really friendly and go out of their way to provide help. Avoid those rooms located above the bus drop off area. Coach drivers arriving early to pick up passengers or dropping them off keep their engines running as early as 6.30. Very annoying.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above coach drop off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the dining options and service provided were up to your satisfaction.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great location. Yes the hotel had character but it really was like being taken back into time into the 1980s. Such a pity as the furniture is wonderful but the decor dated. Cracked tiles and dated furnishings in the bathroom. Dislike hotel food, lamb chops tasted like chicken and fish tasted like pork. But for Petra, the hotel is the best you can get. Location and price offset the negatives.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Che1928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We have taken careful notes of your comments and as they are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests, we have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra and assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#6 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#4 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.0 of 5 stars 741 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
Crowne Plaza Resort Petra
#18 of 39 in Petra - Wadi Musa
3.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing