We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay and right on the gates of Petra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed here with my partner and our friend for a visit to Petra this month. The building is beautiful and the facilities excellent. To top our visit off the breakfast offering was far better than expected and even ideal for a wheat allergy sufferer too.

Room Tip: The rooms don't have air conditioning int he winter and still get reasonably warm - if you need...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities, breakfast buffet and services provided by our employees.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,267)
There are newer reviews for Movenpick Resort Petra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,433 - 1,439 of 3,267 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Those who are exploring Petra for 1-2 days on your own from day till dusk, this hotel is most ideal for you.

Reason: Super near hotel after a long day's walk. Plus, there is turkish bath service shops near the hotel. Make a booking early before that. You hardly have any enerygy after being on your feet the whole day. Plus, near evening where its quite dark in dec, you will not want to use the toilet there in Petra and you will want to quickly step right into your hotel's bathroom, serious!

Food at hotel is excellent and the atmosphere is classy with high ceiling and unique wall pattern. There is no spa facilities in movenpick.

Very good service in the restaurant as well! Do eat the movenpick ice-cream! Take an evening walk along the hotel if you need to buy any other items from provision stores.

Average Hotel : No spa, only steam room. Views from room - average

Room Tip: Not familiar with all the rooms.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AidanEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay on Tripadvisor.

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided.

Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The great:

- Really friendly staff in the restaurant;
- Excellent location;
- Excellent security;
- Most amazing breakfast buffet - plentiful high quality food of both Arabic, Mediterranean and British styles;
- Amazing architecture;
- Rooms are great;
- Free soft drinks in the mini bar;
- Fast wifi (which was free - not sure if this was a perk of our suite or free anyway);
- Welcome drink while checking in!

The not so great:

- The airconditioning system is actually central air, meaning in the winter, it only blows hot air and in the summer only blows cool. Which is fine, if you're from a hot country. Unfortunately, living in Scotland, a Jordanian winter is still quite warm, and I wanted a cool room for sleeping. I wasn't able to adjust my room temperature to 17c (or anywhere near!), which is what I normally sleep at.

Finally - when I left my coat at the hotel, they were good enough to arrange a car to take the coat to my next hotel, at a very reasonable rate. It was really appreciated that they would do this for me, and so quickly, given the distance was far!

I would not hesitate to book here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing such an explicit review of your recent stay at Mövenpick Resort Petra on Tripadvisor.

It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities and services provided by our employees.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comments in regards to the AC efficiency in your room, as your feedback is an invaluable source to review our performance, we will share it with the departments concerned for future improvements.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel has the BEST location if you want to visit Petra. It is right in front of the entrance. If you want to save energy for the walking in Petra, go here. Other hotels are higher up in the town and the walk towards the entrance will make you tired already. The hotel itself is really average though. The design is really old (but that might fit Jordan) and the rooms outdated. The staff is quite friendly though and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roald22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided by our employees met your satisfaction.

As for your feedback in regards to the hotel design, it is very authentic and oriental to complement the nature of Petra, while all our rooms were renovated in the year 2010.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra asuring you in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed there for about three days and a half over New Year and New Year's Eve. It was absolutely stunning location and in a really convenient location near the Tourist Centre where the Valley was...
On New Year's Eve, they put on a splendid evening with a buffet of so many different foods followed by lots of entertainment and music and to end the night; Balloons, Fireworks, Music and Confetti.
To get there from the Dead Sea and Amman, we had organised transportation and a Hertz rent available ready for us had we decided to want to drive ourselves.
The rooms were very spacious and the room service relatively fast.
Personally, I enjoyed the trip very much...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra. We thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Moreover it delights us to know that our employees were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should you visit Petra again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The services in the hotel function quite well, the rooms are reasonable, very clean, food is good, it is just a good hotel in the entrance to the tourist site, you do not get the spirit of Petra and Jordan in it.
If you want something special, authentic, romantic, with the local spirit and you have more then 1 night to spend in Petra use Taybet Zamman. It is 20 minutes drive from tourist site and with some maintenance problems, but it is very special.
I think the Moevenpick Resort Petra hotel need to spend more effort to make it "Petra style"

Room Tip: You should state what type of bed you want, the regular room is always twin bed.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided and hotel facilities met your satisfaction.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Moevenpick resort in Petra is a clear example of an hotel that just relies on location and that's it!
Our driver arrived very late at the appointment at the Isreali border so we were bothered by taxi drivers "mafia" that wanted to have the exclusivity on transfer from the border to Petra... nothing dangerous but we lost a lot of time because when the driver finally came, he had to discuss with police and taxi drivers.... I appreciated that at least the front office manager at the arrival apologized.
From that moment nothing worked right:
We stayed in a suite that was apparently ok but we could not set the heating system: it was pretty cold outside and we wanted to have a reasonable 22 C degrees in our room but we could not (maintenance dept could not fix it despite we called several times).
Another embarassing situation was when my wife wanted to take a warm bath: the temperature of the water was so cold that I had to fill the bath tube with the hot water from the kettle!!! (of course I had to repeat the operation more than 20 times in order to fill the tube).
Wifi was never working because there were "too many users connected" so front desk replied: "please try again in 5 minutes", they repeated this for the 3 days we stayed there.
One day it was raining outside so I asked for an umbrella at the concierge and they told me that I had to buy one for 10 JD!!! It never happened to me in a 5 stars hotel worldwide.
There was not toilet brush in the room and when I asked one they gave me one in plastic bag!
The "fine" restaurant was pretty average and the menu was probably made by leftovers of the buffet lunch of the other restaurant...
Overall, for being a 5 stars hotel, it was a very very poor experience, staff was ok but the lack of management and attention in the facilities was umbelievable... I am really disappointed by Moevempick, if you want to stay here, just do it because of the convenience of the location to visit Petra but don't expect a 5stars service, there is a loooong way to get it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabriComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share such an explicit review of your stay with the Mövenpick Resort Petra on TripAdvisor.

We have taken careful note of your comments with regards to the deficiencies you have been through related to lack of hot water, insufficient internet service and efficiency of AC.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and sorry to read that your expectations were not met in several points. Moreover and as your feedback is an invaluable source to review our performance and even do better in the future, it has been shared with our team to ensure future improvements of the mentioned areas.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra, assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,586 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
520 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
354 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $131 - $1,471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing