We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, reasonable price, excellent building”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent location, reasonable price, excellent building”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The great:

- Really friendly staff in the restaurant;
- Excellent location;
- Excellent security;
- Most amazing breakfast buffet - plentiful high quality food of both Arabic, Mediterranean and British styles;
- Amazing architecture;
- Rooms are great;
- Free soft drinks in the mini bar;
- Fast wifi (which was free - not sure if this was a perk of our suite or free anyway);
- Welcome drink while checking in!

The not so great:

- The airconditioning system is actually central air, meaning in the winter, it only blows hot air and in the summer only blows cool. Which is fine, if you're from a hot country. Unfortunately, living in Scotland, a Jordanian winter is still quite warm, and I wanted a cool room for sleeping. I wasn't able to adjust my room temperature to 17c (or anywhere near!), which is what I normally sleep at.

Finally - when I left my coat at the hotel, they were good enough to arrange a car to take the coat to my next hotel, at a very reasonable rate. It was really appreciated that they would do this for me, and so quickly, given the distance was far!

I would not hesitate to book here again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing such an explicit review of your recent stay at Mövenpick Resort Petra on Tripadvisor.

It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities and services provided by our employees.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comments in regards to the AC efficiency in your room, as your feedback is an invaluable source to review our performance, we will share it with the departments concerned for future improvements.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,429
    1,152
    438
    134
    67
See reviews for
755
1,395
185
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel has the BEST location if you want to visit Petra. It is right in front of the entrance. If you want to save energy for the walking in Petra, go here. Other hotels are higher up in the town and the walk towards the entrance will make you tired already. The hotel itself is really average though. The design is really old (but that might fit Jordan) and the rooms outdated. The staff is quite friendly though and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roald22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided by our employees met your satisfaction.

As for your feedback in regards to the hotel design, it is very authentic and oriental to complement the nature of Petra, while all our rooms were renovated in the year 2010.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra asuring you in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed there for about three days and a half over New Year and New Year's Eve. It was absolutely stunning location and in a really convenient location near the Tourist Centre where the Valley was...
On New Year's Eve, they put on a splendid evening with a buffet of so many different foods followed by lots of entertainment and music and to end the night; Balloons, Fireworks, Music and Confetti.
To get there from the Dead Sea and Amman, we had organised transportation and a Hertz rent available ready for us had we decided to want to drive ourselves.
The rooms were very spacious and the room service relatively fast.
Personally, I enjoyed the trip very much...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra. We thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Moreover it delights us to know that our employees were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should you visit Petra again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The services in the hotel function quite well, the rooms are reasonable, very clean, food is good, it is just a good hotel in the entrance to the tourist site, you do not get the spirit of Petra and Jordan in it.
If you want something special, authentic, romantic, with the local spirit and you have more then 1 night to spend in Petra use Taybet Zamman. It is 20 minutes drive from tourist site and with some maintenance problems, but it is very special.
I think the Moevenpick Resort Petra hotel need to spend more effort to make it "Petra style"

Room Tip: You should state what type of bed you want, the regular room is always twin bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided and hotel facilities met your satisfaction.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The Moevenpick resort in Petra is a clear example of an hotel that just relies on location and that's it!
Our driver arrived very late at the appointment at the Isreali border so we were bothered by taxi drivers "mafia" that wanted to have the exclusivity on transfer from the border to Petra... nothing dangerous but we lost a lot of time because when the driver finally came, he had to discuss with police and taxi drivers.... I appreciated that at least the front office manager at the arrival apologized.
From that moment nothing worked right:
We stayed in a suite that was apparently ok but we could not set the heating system: it was pretty cold outside and we wanted to have a reasonable 22 C degrees in our room but we could not (maintenance dept could not fix it despite we called several times).
Another embarassing situation was when my wife wanted to take a warm bath: the temperature of the water was so cold that I had to fill the bath tube with the hot water from the kettle!!! (of course I had to repeat the operation more than 20 times in order to fill the tube).
Wifi was never working because there were "too many users connected" so front desk replied: "please try again in 5 minutes", they repeated this for the 3 days we stayed there.
One day it was raining outside so I asked for an umbrella at the concierge and they told me that I had to buy one for 10 JD!!! It never happened to me in a 5 stars hotel worldwide.
There was not toilet brush in the room and when I asked one they gave me one in plastic bag!
The "fine" restaurant was pretty average and the menu was probably made by leftovers of the buffet lunch of the other restaurant...
Overall, for being a 5 stars hotel, it was a very very poor experience, staff was ok but the lack of management and attention in the facilities was umbelievable... I am really disappointed by Moevempick, if you want to stay here, just do it because of the convenience of the location to visit Petra but don't expect a 5stars service, there is a loooong way to get it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabriComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share such an explicit review of your stay with the Mövenpick Resort Petra on TripAdvisor.

We have taken careful note of your comments with regards to the deficiencies you have been through related to lack of hot water, insufficient internet service and efficiency of AC.

We do apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and sorry to read that your expectations were not met in several points. Moreover and as your feedback is an invaluable source to review our performance and even do better in the future, it has been shared with our team to ensure future improvements of the mentioned areas.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra, assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just returned from a trip to Petra, and the Moevenpick was a wonderful place to stay. I wish the family and I had more than one night, because this hotel knows how to do service. It is a beautiful facility located steps from the entrance to Petra. The staff is wonderful, professional and very friendly. The rooms were very comfortable, and after sleeping on many uncomfortable beds during our two week trip to Israel, the comfort of the bed in our double room was amazing. The food was very good. We had dinner and breakfast in the Al Saraya Restaurant and both meals were great. Buffet style with so many food choices -- both Western and Jordanian. The bar is located in a beautiful room. I wish we could have stayed to try out the other restaurants and the steam room, but we had very little time. Hopefully we will return soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayarimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

we are two friends and asked for a twin bedded room and were assigned a twin-queen-sized-bedded room, which was great. The staff is friendly and helpful. The generous breakfast buffet inlcuded Middle Eastern Food, which we loved. It is located a short walk from the gate to the ancient City of Petra, which makes it easy to get there before the huge crowds arrive. i would say it is THE place to stay in Petra

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra. We thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations. It delights us to know that our employees were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should you visit Petra again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,576 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
958 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
343 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing