We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

What a disappointment. The property is old and needs to be freshened up. The rooms are nice but dated. I'd say this is a 3 + star property. While it is nice the hotel is directly across the street from Petra - who cares. There is a line of cheap taxis outside of Petra who can quickly take you to any hotel in the city.

The staff did a great job. However, I think they are trying to work with limited resources. For example, it was probably 90 degrees out when we visited Petra. They must have turned off the A/C because it is now winter. While it does cool off at night that doesn't help much when you get back to a closed up room after 7 hours of hiking around Petra. We called numerous times and they said they would work on it. They finally moved us to another room which was on the other side of the building. This was better but I think it was due to being out of the sun.

Also, the wifi is, at best, unreliable and spotty. Again, the people trying to assist us were all great. Unfortunately, the property is getting outdated.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MinnesotaPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your review of your stay with the Moevenpick Resort Petra on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to know that our staff service met your satisfaction and at the same time we have taken careful note of your comments in regards to the AC efficiency and internet quality during your stay. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused to you.

As your feedback is an invaluable source to review our performance and fine tune our operation, we will share them with the departments concerned to ensure future improvements of the mentioned areas.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should your plans bring you back to Petra, assuring you in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,557 - 1,563 of 3,378 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

It is not of the biggest Moevenpick hotels, but the location -just by the entrance to Petra, makes it worth the stay!
The rooms are nice, some nicer , depending of the wiew. The pool is not big, but ok. The dinner buffet though, is super, excellent, actually among the best i have tried among buffet dinners. (and I normally never do the buffet dinner, because I have often been so disapointet). I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfatromsoe_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services provided were up to your expectation.

On the other hand, we are pleased that our Food & Beverage facilities met your satisfaction. Your kind feedback is a source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmosy care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in the Royal Suite and it had two large terraces, a kitchen, huge living room, two bathrooms, and large master suite. It's hard to judge what the other rooms were like but ours was really nice. We had to adjust to customs in a muslim country where you just don't see many women. The staff was very professional and all male. It is located right outside the gates of Petra so you can just go out the door and walk directly to it. My husband did not allow me to go walking alone on the streets but said was okay to go in the hotel shops. I found the owner in the jewelry shop to be agressive to the point of making me want to escape from the shop. Jordan is not a place where women feel comfortable walking alone so I would recommend going with a male or couple of other females. This is a good hotel if you want to see Petra.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Openstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel facilities and services provided exceeded your expectation.

Moreover, we have taken note of your comment in regards to the shop owner; in return we will convey your message and discuss the issue with him to avoid any future reoccurrences. Our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

You can't get much closer to Petra than this. The hotel is a little bit dated, the rooms are pretty dark with small windows. Pool area okay, workout room uninviting.....but.....you are not here for the workout room! Great location.
Pros: location
Breakfast is great.
Restaurants nice
nespresso coffee maker in room (whooppeeee!)
Free beverages in minibar (no alcohol)

Cons:
Dark rooms
Hard pillows

All in all, highly rcommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bzulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel facilities and services provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This another well run Moevenpick is uniquely situated, as other reviewers point out. The facilities are excellent and the staff consistently courteous and helpful. The very best place to stay for a short visit to the wonders of Petra.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geomeller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. My team and I were happy to read that we succeeded in meeting & exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.

Your kind feedback is a source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location of the hotel is right next to the entrance to Petra. This was the third Movenpick hotel we had stayed in on our visit to Jordan. It was not of such a high quality as those in Aqaba or The Dead Sea . The hotel looked rather 'tired' our room was a bit small and not really the standard of a 5 star hotel..however there was the bonus of a fridge with free soft drinks and a large bottle of water. The breakfast selection was not as good as it could have been. There was an outside pool but the water looked rather cloudy. Of the four hotels we stayed in in Jordan this was the poorest.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comments in regards to the general condition of the room, our breakfast quality and the pool.

As your comments are invaluable source to review our performance, we will share them with the departments concerned for future improvements in these areas.

We are hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Let's get right to it. After a full day off hiking around Petra, the last thing we wanted to do was walk or cab somewhere to get back to our hotel. The fact that the hotel is located right in front of the visitors center is what sold us on this place. But it only started there.

The ace was very nice. We got upgraded to a very nice room with a view of the city. The staff was very helpful with anything we asked about. We had the supper and breakfast buffets which were both pretty decent. All in all a great place to stay.

A little picky but worth every penny.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to Mövenpick Resort Petra. We thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and services provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Moreover it delights us to know that our employees were able to show you our commitment to hospitality.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should you visit Petra again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,019 reviews
0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,636 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
950 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#9 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
165 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $150 - $818 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing