We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not 5 star but overall good. But beware...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location, not 5 star but overall good. But beware...”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This hotel is at the gateway to Petra and the location cannot be beat. The hotel lobby and restaurants are beautiful. However, upon checking in, we were told that our room had twin beds. I showed my confirmation for a King bed and was told that those rooms were being occupied by people whose reservations were made earlier than mine. They refused to reduce the bill.

5 star does not mean St. Regis or the Peninsula. The rooms were just OK and the safe didnt work. The high end restaurant was beautiful with great ambience but the food was fair. The rooftop bar, especially at sunset, was spectacular.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank irwinblevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comments in regards to the room preference of a king size bed and the food quality of our terrace did not meet your satisfaction, our apology for any inconvenience.

As such feedback is an invaluable source to review our performance, we have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,393
    1,131
    434
    133
    65
See reviews for
739
1,367
180
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spend two days in Jordan - coming from Eilat border on south, we took a cab to Petra and after long ride to nowhere we arrived right to the entrance to Petra in Wadi Musa. The hotel is right across the street to the entrance. As soon as we came to the hotel, they treated us (even with backpacks) as the most precious guests. We felt really flatterd by the attention they gave us, starting by the tireless helping as we returned several times to the hotel before definitive entry to Petra (at first we didnt have cash to pay for entry tickets - they dont accept credit cards, but hotel did; secondly they didnt believe us at the entry that we stay at Movenpick so we came for the print-out of the reservation). The rooms were top class, notably the confy king size bed. The 5 star experience was underlined with one great service - before going on the night tour in Petra we went to dinner at the rooftop restaurant but we didnt end it. We asked the waiter to bring the dessert after the tour at 11 PM to our room and they bring everything as we asked for. After all those hours walking in Petra, Movenpick was the best place to rest before going back to Israel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spachtosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The location of this hotel couldn't be closer to the entrance of Petra - which was a huge relief after a full day of trekking.

The hotel itself was quite nice, comfortable and decent size rooms. We ate at the mediterranean and rooftop restaurants and enjoyed both. There was some noise from the downstairs area and also the morning call to prayer.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Whales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The plus of this hotel is surely to be the nearest one to Petra entrance. After a long and tiring walk through the fantastic city, to be so near to your room and to the hotel facilities is really a pleasure. The hotel is comfortable and clean. Rooms are spacious, we have been pleasantly upgraded to a suite, well equipped with cooking, espresso machine and tea boiler. Good quality and variety of buffet at dinner as well as at breakfast time. Hotel is always crowded by every sort of tourists, not always properly behaving, in dress and attitudes. You can easily perceived that the hotel is used only as a basis for Petra visit, for one or two nights maximum stay: this affects the behavior of staff, especially waiters, a little rude, scarcely ready to fulfill customers needs, conscious that in any case new guests will come the day after. As a recommendation , a dress code should be asked for: it is not acceptable for a 5 stars hotel to admit guests at dinner time with bathroom slippers!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank picbal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel facilities met your expectation, as well as you were satisfied with the dining options.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comments in regards to our staff approach and responsiveness to our guests needs. We have shared them with the departments concerned for future improvements.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you want 5-star accommodations and service, Movenpick Petra will not disappoint. The huge staff is just waiting to serve you. If we asked for it, they provided it, including a third bed in our room. The hotel offers a range of eating options: white napkin dinner spot; splendiferous buffet; snacks in the courtyard; an ice cream parlor; a bar; barbecue on the rooftop. There's an in-house ATM, quality gift shop, and upscale craft gallery. At Movenpick, the only thing you need to do is enjoy yourself (and pay the rather large bill).

Room Tip: Our room looking out over the pool was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forthwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided by our employees.

Moreover, we are pleased to know that our dining options met your expectations.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Excellent location at gates to Petra but otherwise fairly average hotel. Wouldn't say it is 5 star, maybe 4. Bathroom in room dated. Good breakfast. Good service and of course great Movenpick ice cream

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comment in regards to the condition of the bathroom which is an invaluable source to fine tune our operation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lovely hotel, great rooms and amazing service. We travelled with my father who has Alzheimer's and they were happy to alter our booking so we could have connecting rooms, nothing was too much trouble.
Just across the road from Petra couldn't have been more convenient.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene9594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel facilities and services provided met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,542 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
932 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
875 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing