We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while visiting Petra and the area surrounding it. Clearly the prime hotel spot in Petra, right across from the entrance, and it lived up to our expectations. The room was large and comfortable, although the TV position made it difficult to watch from the bed. Our room faced west, so the curtains stayed closed most of the time to help keep the room cool enough, and it would have been nice to have a balcony - but we were only there for a couple of nights so no big deal.
Ate dinner on the rooftop restaurant the first night - lovely views and good food, too much for us with the mezzes first then a main course! We did have an icecream, as recommended, and it was good!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xenathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel facilities and services rendered by our employees exceeded your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,407
    1,144
    436
    134
    66
See reviews for
749
1,382
181
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I wonder who designed this building with such a ravishing profusion. I thought it was an old palace that had been restored as a hotel, but the staff informed me that it was originally built as a hotel, but it has changed company owner.
All guests are delighted to wander around the lobbies, restaurants, shops and ice cream parlor, taking pictures of walls, ceilings, furniture and chandeliers. And still... not everything is perfect.
The air conditioned works fairly OK in the rooms, but the public areas were too warm during July, making it difficult to enjoy lunch.
They have a small pool (I suppose tourists come here to visit the ruins, not to relax) but the only way to get there is through a half lit corridor and the gym (where I saw paunchy shirtless gentlemen exercising).
This is the best located hotel in Petra; the archeological site is right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RicherTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

Moreover, we have taken careful of your comments in regards to the room AC efficiency and the general atmosphere of the lobby area. We have shared them with the department concerned to ensure future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was my first trip to this particular Movenpick and was very pleased with the overall stay. Even though I was on business, when I bring my family to Petra, I will stay here because of the location. It is one of the few hotels this close to the entrance of the park and probably the best. The Marriott is very nice, but is in the town which means you have to drive to the park or take the shuttle bus.

As for the quality of the hotel, it was good. No complaints. And a great breakfast!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Int_Mt_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services provided by our employees.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked the Junior Suite on the hotel's site and asked for help getting to the hotel from the Eilat border- the email we sent got answered quickly, professionally and helped a lot. When we crossed the border a taxi was waiting for us (with a sign) and our very nice driver showed us around Jordan a little bit.
Arriving at the hotel, we were greeted with juice and the announcement we got upgraded to a better room, on the house, and that the mini bar (along with many other treats) are also a gift from the hotel.

The suite was amazing, it was two and a half really big rooms (living room, bedroom, and a walk in closet!), the bathroom was also really luxuries- a huge shower and a separated bathtub. Also the WiFi was pretty good and free.

The pool is very private and the water are really cold, which is actually nice during the boiling hot summer.
We ate all our meals at the hotel, at the rooftop bar and the buffet restaurant and had a great time.

The service was especially good- we were asked twice a day if we needed more towels, water, soaps or bath salts, the bed was supper spacious and comfy

Coming to pay our bill we had a small incident (a meal and cocktails were billed to our names and room- without us being there or signing, and mostly: it wasn't us), but the manager understood, apologized and fixed the mistake.
The staff was very helpful with tips about Petra and finding my iPhone, sunglasses and many other things I forgot around the hotel without even noticing it :)

Staying at the was really wonderful, and we will come back soon as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share such an explicit review of your stay with the Moevenpick Resort Petra here on TripAdvisor.

I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a junior suite with small terrace overlooking the pool area. The room was comfortable and plenty of space. Staff were attentive throughout the hotel. Had a nice swimming pool which was refreshing after a day out walking Petra site. We dined at the rooftop restaurant and had the bbq which was very nice. They serve a buffet breakfast which has a wide selection to choose from. This hotel is in a perfect location - right across the road from the Petra entrance. Overall enjoyed our stay and would recommend for your visit to Petra.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank destinationholiday_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. My team and I were happy to read that we succeeded in meeting & exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.

Your kind feedback is a source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even do better in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Please note that this is for the Movenpick resort, not the Movenpick Nabatean which is miles away from Petra city. This is a really nice hotel with good staff and restaurant. It's about 90 seconds walk to the entrance to Petra which is great as a trip to the city can be very tiring. The rooms are nice and comfy, can see why some have questioned if they are really 5 star but that is being a little picky.

The fitness room is pretty good and well equipped, the pool cold and uncomfortable with surprisingly small changing area so get ready upstairs in your rooms.

Recommended

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewartkrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We have taken note of your comments in regards to the changing rooms, we will share it with the concerned for future improvements.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in aug 13 after having been to Dead Sea stayed at Moevenpick but I give this hotel better rating when it comes to service.
The location of this hotel makes it perfect as is located just outside Petra site and on the street with many cafes, restaurants and local shops.

4 star...hotels needs a touch up in the bathrooms.
Hotel being at the gates of Petra has nice views of mountains especially at night with lights on. V nice property, middle eastern look with contemporary rooms, check in efficient , staff friendly and courteous, swimming pool small but adequate with water temperature 18-20'C feels v cold, we did raise this issue as other's felt the same and we were advised by one of the manager at the check in that it will be dealt with but nothing was done and when I commented at check out no comment was made.
The view at back of the hotel not pleasant due to empty space and other hotels back not maintained well. It has a Steam room and gym and rooftop restaurant with BBQ facility in the evening JOD25pp.
Swimming Pool staff Philippine ladies genuinely courteous and helpful.
Breakfast good variety overall with polite staff but egg chef was always running off his feet and was unable to cook eggs properly as used lots of oil but was never in shape tasted oily and pancakes a bit raw.
The air conditioning is set at 25'C centrally and can feel a bit warm sometime as unable to change it in the room.
Main Street in front of hotel is full of restaurants and ornaments shops, was calm as Ramadan going on but gets busy after Eid.
Service efficient. Free wifi was provided everywhere.
This would be my 1st choice in Petra with exception of swimming pool which my 9 years old daughter felt disappointed with.

Room Tip: Not the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upg_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comments in regards to the AC & pool temperature during your stay, as your feedback is an invaluable source for us to review our performance, we will share them with the departments concerned for future improvements in these areas.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,


Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing