We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel has a great location for visiting Petra but the rooms were very plain and were more like a three star hotel room than a 5 star facility. The bathroom was also very plain. The air conditioning did not work properly and in fact this seemed to be a problem throughout the hotel. We were unable to sleep due to the heat even though they gave us a fan. The pool was very cold so not enjoyable. Not sure how it was rated as 5 star, try somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiJanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comments regarding AC, Pool, they are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,407
    1,144
    436
    134
    66
See reviews for
749
1,382
181
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I visited Jordan for Eid, and took our young children.
We found the hotel very nice, and is located adjacent the entrance to Petra which was very convenient.
The hotel food was very very good, and they have an amazing roof-top garden/ terrace where they serve food/ drinks. We went there both nights, as it was a wonderful way to watch the sun set behind the mountains of Petra and relax - even in the height of summer this was a fantastic spot to relax,
The staff were excellent! Very very helpful and friendly.
We now are travelling with triplets (!), and the hotel was very accommodating - I emailed ahead and we arranged adjoining rooms and cots, and the staff seemed more than happy to help.
Great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VITaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to our hotel and we thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories of your stay here on TripAdvisor.

Moreover, we were thrilled to know that not only the hotel facilities and services provided by our employees but also we were able to accommodate your request met your expectations.

As your comfort and well-being are always our highest priorities, I appreciate receiving your constructive comments.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for one night in July, and had an excellent experience. The hotel is one frequented by my family living in Jordan, and did not disappoint. Firstly, location is amazing; right on the doorstep of the newly opened Petra entrance/ticket area. When going in to Petra that may not seem important, but trust me, after hours of walking around in the heat you will be grateful to be able to walk straight into the hotel! Staff were friendly and accommodating, we received a refreshing drink when we checked in (early).we left our bags in our lovely spacious room, and then went off to Petra. On our return, we managed to drag ourselves to our rooms to change and go for a really refreshing and relaxing dip in the pool. The pool is only little, but just what you need to cool down and recover from the walk! We also popped into the steam room for a bit before going out for dinner at the Cave Bar... Absolutely delicious food there! And amazing views. We went back to the hotel to sit at the terrace for ice-cream. Again, wonderful views and beautiful atmosphere. Very comfortable night's sleep, really lovely room. Then a grand breakfast! All you can eat buffet. Only (small) comment is that there doesn't seem to be any allergy or diet option, but there is so much food you almost don't notice. Check out was smooth, and my only regret is that we didn't stay for another night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorythy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share such an explicit review of your stay at the Moevenpick Resort Petra on TripAdvisor.

The entire team and I are more than happy that we were able to show you our commitment to hospitality. On the other hand, I am thrilled to know that the hotel facilities and our staff service exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel should your travel plans bring you back to Petra, assuring you in advance of our utmost care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Jordon. or stay at the hotel was fantastic the hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful. It was my husbands birthday when we were on holiday and the staff could not have done enough to make it a special day. The food in the hotel was excellent with plenty of choice. We could not have been any closer to Petra we will be back but we will stay much longer in this hotel. Thank you to all staff for looking after us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to our hotel and we take this opportunity to thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories of your stay here on TripAdvisor.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great hotel and great location. Only steps from the gates to Petra. Services and concierge were great and the food was great too. A welcome sight after the LONG, HOT trip down the desolate King's Highway from Amman. Don't bother with the upgrade to access the lounge (JD20 pp. for our stay). There's not much there and certainly not like the club level at some high-end properties. Well worth the trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funflier1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor.

It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided by our employees.

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel is right opposite the entrance to Petra - we could not have stayed any closer!
The rooms are spacious and clean and the service is good. There is a lovely balcony overlooking the valley on the 4th floor where you can have a drink and/or dinner and a nice pool. Would recommend to anyone planning a visit to Petra.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irettef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Tripadvisor.

The team and I were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort Petra and the service and facilities provided to you exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you not in the too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

After driving for HOURS on the dessert highway from Amman to Petra, it was a treat to arrive at the Movenpick located at the front gate of Petra. BEWARE there is another Movenpick about 3 miles from this one...so be sure to go into the middle of town to the Petra Gate. The hotel was very warm and accommodating, and offered a late night dinner for after I trekked into Petra for Petra By Night...around midnight. The beds were comfortable and it was all that I could ask for as a retreat from the heat and dust outside.

Room Tip: I imagine the main reason to go to Petra is to visit the natural monuments and there is no better oa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shermaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,559 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
884 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing