We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average for a movenpick resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average for a movenpick resort”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The place was overpriced in my opinion. Great atmosphere, incredibly close to the entrance of Petra Park entrance. Food in restaurants was average, apart from 1 dinner in the Mediterrenean restaurant (still a bit pricey). Staff incredibly friendly and helpful (sometimes a bit too much -- as a woman traveling alone, there was some unwanted attention at times-- all perfectly innocent, but sometimes a bit unnerving. When I called downstairs to have the cable TV fixed, they sent up a repairman, who fixed it, but then stood in my room, just staring. Made me very uncomfortable, so I quickly ushered him out. I believe it's just a cultural thing -- they are not used to seeing women traveling on their own in Jordan. Apart from a few gawky stares, the place was fine. Bed comfortable, room clean with nice views of the hillside/sunset. Centrally located, near a lot of the Petra shops, and down the street from a fantastic Turkish Bath.

For a Movenpick, however, this was rather average. Not great, not bad, just meh....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjmegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

We have taken note of your comment in regard to our staff approach while serving you. This is an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Moreover, your feedback will be shared with the departments concerned for future improvements in the area with special attention from our Learning & Development Department.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,409
    1,145
    436
    134
    66
See reviews for
749
1,383
181
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Perfect location, great staff, beautiful design and the sky lit lobby, great breakfast and toiletries. Good sized rooms with balconies. We were upgraded to a higher category room and given complimentary breakfast. Hibiscus welcome drink on arrival was refreshing! Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DhruvKakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future assuring you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were upgraded to an executive room which was nice ! The front desk is really welcoming as well as the room service. The hotel is located just at the entrance of Petra site. The only thing that could be improved is the service at both restaurants. Thank you again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShenMueFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the hotel facilities. Your kind comments are source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

Moreover, we have shared your feedback in regards to our staff service in the restaurants for future improvements in this area.

We will be delighted to host you again should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed two nights in late June. As everyone else has said, the location of this hotel is unbeatable. After a day walking around Petra, it is a relief to know your hotel is the closest to the entrance. And for that simple fact, it is hard to go wrong (though there are other hotels nearby).

There was secure parking for our car, inside the hotel gate and next to the security entrance.

Service was friendly, and although there was a very small reception area, and only one man staffing it, we didn't experience any delays. We were upgraded on arrival, and the room was very spacious. We didn't realise the mini-bar was complimentary until our second day (after we were moved to another room), but this is a nice touch, especially in the heat of late June.

We enjoyed the buffet dinners both nights. The salad selections were wonderful - all the Arab favourites - fattoush, hummus, murtabal (eggplant dip), lots of olives, cherry tomatoes, etc etc. I was in heaven. And breakfast was also very good, as you'd expect in a good hotel.

The bar and atrium areas are beautifully decorated, and very pleasant places to relax - though the atmosphere of the bar was marred one night with a large TV on in the corner. Both areas were very warm though, and this leads to our main complaint about the hotel.

Air-conditioning appears to have a centrally controlled minimum of around 24-25 degs C. That may explain all the complaints on this site about air-conditioning. It was impossible in our room to get the air-conditioning below 25 degrees C. When we asked about it at reception, an engineer was promised to look at it. We went out to Petra for the day, and nothing had been done. Later an engineer came in and made a show of setting a temperature at 21, but nothing happened (ie the temperature didn't reduce) and the engineer never returned. We were eventually moved to an inside room, that opens out onto the inner atrium, and so doesn't receive any heat from the sun during the day. But the air-conditioning there also couldn't go below 24.5 degs, which makes me think it is a hotel policy. If we had been told this, we'd have accepted it. Not being told is worse.

Overall, we had a good experience, and so - because of the decor of the bar/atrium, the salads at the buffet, size of rooms, and proximity to Petra - I give it a Very Good rating, and I would recommend staying here - but NOT in summer, unless 25 degs C is your idea of the perfect temperature in which to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Moevenpick Resort Petra for your visit to Jordan. We appreciate you taking your time to review your stay with us.

We were thrilled to know that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and service provided by the staff met your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

Moreover, we have taken careful note of your comment in regards to the room temperature and the AC efficiency, we have shared your feed back with our Engineering team to ensure future improvements in this area.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the not to distance future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We are practically at the same level of the Dead Sea Moewenpick Resort. We had an upgrade to a superior room with balcony overlooking the valley. The functional and clean room, free wifi throughout the hotel, great bathroom with plenty of space and bathrobes. Very efficient staff at reception. The breakfast is of rare completeness and abundance, and meets all requirements: are declared gluten-free foods and even vegans will feel at ease. The buffet restaurant is very rich. Only note: the waiters are too efficient and run like bees continuously around your table. Relax, guys, we're in Petra, not at NY Stock Exchange!! The terrace is perfect for a cocktail at sunset as for a romantic dinner, with a good choice of grilled meats. The pool is not very big, but enough to recover your legs from the stress of the visit to Petra. Great property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sairam46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking your precious time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. My team and I were happy to read that we have succeeded in meeting & exceeding your expectations and to know that you have given us an opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to hospitality.

Your kind feedback is a source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

Looking forward to welcoming you to the Mövenpick Resort Petra should your travel plans bring you again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I stayed at the Moevenpick Resort Petra for two nights, last month. What a great location! Right next to the entrance to the Petra Site. I love when I can go walking to the attractions and staying at the Moevenpick Hotel made that possible! The hotel has a nice outdoor pool, which after walking more than 14km around Petra, was perfect for relaxation! They also have a fitness room, but, I think walking around Petra is a geat exercise already...LOL. We chose the rate that included breakfast and dinner. Both were very good and we had different options for dinner, on the 2 days we stayed there.They also have a nice restaurant at the terrace, with great views. I can´t comment on the food though, as we haven´t tried it. The hotel is also near the stores in town (very few) and you can also go walking. I have no complains and I will definetely stay there , if I ever visit Petra again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided by our employees.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future assuring you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great location next to the entrance to the Petra site. Rooms are comfortable and the complimentary mini bar (non alcoholic) is a nice touch. An iron in the room would have been appreciated.

The check in process was excellent and the welcome fruit drink on arrival was pleasant.

The restaurant and bar areas are excellent - the roof top bar is particularly beautiful. Staff are all friendly and efficient although the price of drinks was expensive.

The free wi-fi throughout the hotel was excellent!

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank paul1967sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It has been a great pleasure welcoming you to our hotel and thank you for taking your precious time to share your memories of your stay on TripAdvisor. As your comfort and well-being are always our highest priorities, I appreciate receiving your constructive comments.

Moreover, we have taken note of your note in regards to the existence of iron in the room, this service is available at the Housekeeping Department upon guest reuest. Your kind feedback is a source of great encouragement for the staff and the management to do even better in the future.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you should your travel plans bring you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,563 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
951 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing