We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Hotel Next to Petra Entrance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Movenpick Resort Petra. We arrived in the late afternoon, after a car ride from Amman. It took us about three hours with a stop for refreshments. Most of the trip from Amman is on a relatively flat road but begins to twist and turn as you near Petra. The hotel is just before the entrance to Petra. Our drive dropped us off at the front and we had to go through the usual but casual security. Check in was quick and we were given M106. It was a standard room, and I would not consider it a luxury room, but it was quite adequate and comfortable. We soon had trouble with the toilet and we called reception and a service person was sent to fix the toilet. After "fixing" the toilet the service person left and within an hour we had the same problem. I went to reception and they struggled to find a replacement but were successful and gave us another room on the fourth floor that was perhaps slightly bigger. Our luggage was transferred by hotel staff.
The hotel is not overly large and all parts are readily accessible. We had a half board room arranged for us in our tour of Egypt and Jordan by Freelancers Travel and we had requested deluxe hotels where possible. For the area this hotel fits this requirement and was true for other areas we stayed.
The room was quite adequate for a one night stay. It might be small for a longer stay. Our main complaint about the room was the shower/tub. The floor of the tub was slippery and dangerous. We used a wet bathroom towel on the floor of the tub to help give a grip. We found this worked.
There is free internet in the business office. I never had any problem accessing one of the computers. Next to the business office is a small deli which has sandwiches, drinks and the famous Movenpick ice cream (really good). We used this for a small lunch before we left and it was nice.
Breakfast and dinner on the half board are buffets. They are large buffets and are typical of most buffets...overcooked food and flavorings are generally bland. Service was poor. Hard to get a cup of tea or coffee. At dinner coffee and tea were extra cost but not at breakfast!
As others have noted this hotel is right next to the entrance to Petra. You exit the hotel, cross the street and turn right. Go through some vendors to the ticket office. You can hire a private guide or do it on your own. I highly recommend you start by 7 a.m. or so. It becomes much warmer by 10 a.m. and the tourist crowds really start to appear around 10 a.m. I found the pictures of the Treasury were lighted differently at around 7 a.m. vs 10 or 11 a.m. In the bookstore you can find some lithographs of sketches done by an artist of Petra in 1839. Really shows how the area has changed.
I rate the hotel as four star minus. It is nice, with good architectural features and decent hotel service except at the buffet. Our room was not luxurious but still above a standard motel room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

On the other hand we appreciate receiving your constructive comments. They are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 3,347 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel is very convenient for Petra which is very handy after a day's exploring. There is a very noisy taxi rank outside the hotel which kept us awake until the early hours. The rooms are basic, even though we paid extra for a deluxe, although very clean and well looked after. The on site restaurant serves great food via indifferent waiters who are most concerned about how much you tip them, even though 10 percent service is compulsorily added at the bill. When we didn't offer to tip extra we were subjected to some overt rudeness, not a good sign as the service was not good enough to warrant additional gratuities. Personally, I will not stay at this hotel again. A negative review is unusual for me.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Moevenpick Resort Petra.

They are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

LOCATION, this is a lovely hotel on the doorstep op Petra . You can't stay any closer which is very important at the end of a long day on your feet inside the wonder of Petra. This hotel service is excellent with complementary mini bar and lovely dead sea products. The food is excellent, but nothing and I mean nothing beats the LOCATION. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthAfricandella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

After a long and rather tiring journey along the desert road, finally a nice, clean, sophisticated place where we had excellent dinner upon arrival and tasty, mouthwatering breakfast the next morning. Notwithstanding the crowd of tourists (average age: 55/60)tthe general atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. The room are well furnished and clean, the service is of good quality and professional enough. Our bedroom overlooked the inside court decorated in Moroccan style, which made it also a bit romantic. Considering that the comments made by the rest of our group (hosted in other hotels) were not excellent at all, I would recommend this accomodation. Besides...it just opposite the entrance to the archaelogical site of Petra

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountains are great, but also the ones overlooking the court/lobby are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlads942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

The team and I were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Moevenpick Resort Petra and the service and facilities provided to you exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you not in the too distant future, assuring you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights in October 2012 as part of a tour around Jordan.

Loved this hotel, the decor and Damascan charm of the lobby and bar areas was fantastic. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The Rooms were spacious and clean. The food in the restaurant was good, given the choice go a la carte.

The hotels location is perfect for exploring the sites of Petra which is almost on the doorstep, and the hotel pool is great to relax in after.

We had a great night at Al Iwan restaurant, amazing fine dining experiance well worth a visit.

Should i ever return to Petra again staying here would be my first choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caltravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been on a marriage anniversary with my wife and booked an executive suite. We were lucky to get upgraded for free to the Royal suite which had two rooms and a terrace with great views of the town. The hotel stands right in front of the entrance to Petra trail. Except the room and highly friendly service, overall experience was ok. The food in the restaurant was decent but not overwhelming - lamb and chicken main dishes were too dry. Same goes for the breakfast. Location was an advantage for accessing Petra but disadvantage during the night because it is right at the main taxi stop and busses were beeping through the night.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akonopl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

I will discuss your comments regarding food quality with the Food & Beverage Team to avoid similar re occurrence.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Not stopping with their unique location as the only hotel at Petra's entrance, the Movenpick excells at service, food and beautiful. Our experience started with a pre-arranged, English speaking driver at the border crossing with Israel (Elat). Although there are plenty of taxis waiting for tourists, there was security in knowing that someone with our name would be awaiting us, and had been arranged through the hotel.

The hotel has beautiful accommodations and five star service with very reasonable rates. The food at all three dining locations was also excellent.

Given that you should stay two nights to reasonably see the city of Petra, this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,010 reviews
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#12 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $153 - $812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing