We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a mixture of morocco and jordania”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Sulmona, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a mixture of morocco and jordania”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

After a long and rather tiring journey along the desert road, finally a nice, clean, sophisticated place where we had excellent dinner upon arrival and tasty, mouthwatering breakfast the next morning. Notwithstanding the crowd of tourists (average age: 55/60)tthe general atmosphere is quiet and relaxing. The room are well furnished and clean, the service is of good quality and professional enough. Our bedroom overlooked the inside court decorated in Moroccan style, which made it also a bit romantic. Considering that the comments made by the rest of our group (hosted in other hotels) were not excellent at all, I would recommend this accomodation. Besides...it just opposite the entrance to the archaelogical site of Petra

Room Tip: The rooms facing the mountains are great, but also the ones overlooking the court/lobby are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlads942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The team and I were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Moevenpick Resort Petra and the service and facilities provided to you exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you not in the too distant future, assuring you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,431
    1,154
    438
    134
    67
See reviews for
756
1,396
186
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed for two nights in October 2012 as part of a tour around Jordan.

Loved this hotel, the decor and Damascan charm of the lobby and bar areas was fantastic. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The Rooms were spacious and clean. The food in the restaurant was good, given the choice go a la carte.

The hotels location is perfect for exploring the sites of Petra which is almost on the doorstep, and the hotel pool is great to relax in after.

We had a great night at Al Iwan restaurant, amazing fine dining experiance well worth a visit.

Should i ever return to Petra again staying here would be my first choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caltravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We have been on a marriage anniversary with my wife and booked an executive suite. We were lucky to get upgraded for free to the Royal suite which had two rooms and a terrace with great views of the town. The hotel stands right in front of the entrance to Petra trail. Except the room and highly friendly service, overall experience was ok. The food in the restaurant was decent but not overwhelming - lamb and chicken main dishes were too dry. Same goes for the breakfast. Location was an advantage for accessing Petra but disadvantage during the night because it is right at the main taxi stop and busses were beeping through the night.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akonopl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

I will discuss your comments regarding food quality with the Food & Beverage Team to avoid similar re occurrence.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Not stopping with their unique location as the only hotel at Petra's entrance, the Movenpick excells at service, food and beautiful. Our experience started with a pre-arranged, English speaking driver at the border crossing with Israel (Elat). Although there are plenty of taxis waiting for tourists, there was security in knowing that someone with our name would be awaiting us, and had been arranged through the hotel.

The hotel has beautiful accommodations and five star service with very reasonable rates. The food at all three dining locations was also excellent.

Given that you should stay two nights to reasonably see the city of Petra, this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here overnight so that we could see this sights of Petra. The hotel is very nice... but the service was terrible and the communication was terrible as well.

There were several things that really made our stay disappointing: 1) We ordered dinner and got different food to what we had ordered, 2) We had ordered stuff through room service and only half arrived, 3) We were in bed and one of the hotel staff members walked into our room after a quick knock and surprised us, 4) at breakfast we ordered drinks and the staff did not bring us what we had ordered.

I can definitely understand that english is not the 1st language of the staff or the country... but I find it appauling that they can't train their staff better so that their level of service is up to standards. I entend to come back to Petra with my family again... but i will never stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone!!!

Moevenpick = Moeven-Fail!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller-BOND007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on tripadvisor, I have taken note of your comments and am very sorry to read that your stay was marred with the mentioned deficiencies.

Needless to say that I will discuss your comments with my team to avoid such inconveniences to our valued guests in the future.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Two night stay in Petra, which is breathtaking! Hotel was very good, clean, comfortable, excellent food - try the scallops in orange sauce! Perfect location to visit the Petra historical site as only a short walk to the entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Was fortunate to be on the Thomson Celebration Red Sea Cruise which included a visit to the Rose City at Petra. After a couple of hours on a coach we arrived at the Movenpick hotel and were ushered into their beautifully decorated entrance and then into the restaurant for an unbelievable buffet lunch. The decor was outstanding, the cleanliness there for all to see. The food was exceptional, a vast array of both Jordanian and European foods. The lamb especially off the bone was stunning!! Have taken all the details of the hotel as intend to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePatersonGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,578 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
959 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
344 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing