We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Communication Breakdown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Amman, Jordan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Communication Breakdown”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here overnight so that we could see this sights of Petra. The hotel is very nice... but the service was terrible and the communication was terrible as well.

There were several things that really made our stay disappointing: 1) We ordered dinner and got different food to what we had ordered, 2) We had ordered stuff through room service and only half arrived, 3) We were in bed and one of the hotel staff members walked into our room after a quick knock and surprised us, 4) at breakfast we ordered drinks and the staff did not bring us what we had ordered.

I can definitely understand that english is not the 1st language of the staff or the country... but I find it appauling that they can't train their staff better so that their level of service is up to standards. I entend to come back to Petra with my family again... but i will never stay at this hotel again or recommend it to anyone!!!

Moevenpick = Moeven-Fail!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller-BOND007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on tripadvisor, I have taken note of your comments and am very sorry to read that your stay was marred with the mentioned deficiencies.

Needless to say that I will discuss your comments with my team to avoid such inconveniences to our valued guests in the future.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,407
    1,144
    436
    134
    66
See reviews for
749
1,382
181
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Two night stay in Petra, which is breathtaking! Hotel was very good, clean, comfortable, excellent food - try the scallops in orange sauce! Perfect location to visit the Petra historical site as only a short walk to the entrance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Was fortunate to be on the Thomson Celebration Red Sea Cruise which included a visit to the Rose City at Petra. After a couple of hours on a coach we arrived at the Movenpick hotel and were ushered into their beautifully decorated entrance and then into the restaurant for an unbelievable buffet lunch. The decor was outstanding, the cleanliness there for all to see. The food was exceptional, a vast array of both Jordanian and European foods. The lamb especially off the bone was stunning!! Have taken all the details of the hotel as intend to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePatersonGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I chose this hotel as it is very close to Rose City entrance. After a bit of a shakey start and delay in the room being ready, although to be fair i was perhaps a bit early, the rest of my stay here went very well. Good service throughout the hotel was well recieved and the food and beverage options on offer were all good. I had just two minor gripes, those being finding a porter for my luggae, at both check in and check out proved problematic and i had to carry my own luggae to the car on each time which i felt was poor for a 5 star resort. the second being the potentail for large tour groups in the hotel over lunch which crowded out the restuarant although they did set up a seperate eating place for around the pool which i aprreciated. I had a street facing room which i liked as i could get a view of the street scenes below my balcony. There are quite a few F&B venues on site to choose from a good selection of shops and such in the hotel. Overall a good stay and would recomend this property. Many thanks

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamirAbdallahAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided by our employees.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here in early April 2013 and we quite enjoyed the hotel property and the efficient service all throughout our stay. The central lounge area reminded us of a Moroccan riad, with uniquely Jordanian touches and our hotel room was very clean and modern with comfortable beds. Everything was where it should be and the breakfast buffet was fabulous, with a wide selection of fresh food on hand.
I do wish that the Moevenpick Resort (along with others in Jordan) would provide an ice-o-matic (ice vending machine) for their guests, so we wouldn't have to bother waiters for ice with every meal. The plus side of staying here was the close proximity of Petra..believe me, after walking for miles over a period of two days, you will be happy to duck back into this beautiful hotel just across the street from the site entrance! During one of the nights, we enjoyed a couple of delicious ice creams at the small corner dessert shop inside the hotel which was staffed by Ms. Robles. Her service was impeccable and mirrors the sort of hospitable service that we experienced all throughout our stay in the country of Jordan.
We are independent travelers who have been around the region (Syria, Turkey and Egypt) and on this trip we had our own driver, just a word about the Petra night walk - a good flashlight is important to bring, especially if it's your first trip to Petra which it was for us. We decided to do the night walk before our daytime trip - and what a difference it made to see it in the daylight and realize how close we were to the sides of the Siq passageway during the night walk! The walk is only lit by candles (covered with paper) so it is a very dim affair and you will feel better with a flashlight during the way which is over rough and uneven paving stones. Also, security should be more apparent along the night walk as there are a few shady people hanging around in the dark by the site. The only thing we regret is that we didn't spend more time at this hotel - but we will be coming back to the region and will definitely stop here during our next trip!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djinnii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our itinerary had warned us" that standard of accomodation and service in Petra does not compare to other parts of Jordan" However we found all the staff in the hotel were very helpful and the standard of food in the restaurant was excellent. Only complaint price of beer very high!!!
This hotel is the ideal base to explore Petra as you walk out of the front exit you are in the "Rose Red City"

Room Tip: You are so tired after walking around the site you will sleep in any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioan_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Movenpick is fantastic--beautiful decor, great food, fantastic service. Don't miss happy hour (7-8pm) at the gorgeous bar--Vanessa, Brahim and Khaled H. will take great care of you! Being steps away from the entrance to Petra doesn't hurt either. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided by our employees.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
884 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
338 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing