We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay @ Moevenpick Resort, Petra!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay @ Moevenpick Resort, Petra!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights here in early April 2013 and we quite enjoyed the hotel property and the efficient service all throughout our stay. The central lounge area reminded us of a Moroccan riad, with uniquely Jordanian touches and our hotel room was very clean and modern with comfortable beds. Everything was where it should be and the breakfast buffet was fabulous, with a wide selection of fresh food on hand.
I do wish that the Moevenpick Resort (along with others in Jordan) would provide an ice-o-matic (ice vending machine) for their guests, so we wouldn't have to bother waiters for ice with every meal. The plus side of staying here was the close proximity of Petra..believe me, after walking for miles over a period of two days, you will be happy to duck back into this beautiful hotel just across the street from the site entrance! During one of the nights, we enjoyed a couple of delicious ice creams at the small corner dessert shop inside the hotel which was staffed by Ms. Robles. Her service was impeccable and mirrors the sort of hospitable service that we experienced all throughout our stay in the country of Jordan.
We are independent travelers who have been around the region (Syria, Turkey and Egypt) and on this trip we had our own driver, just a word about the Petra night walk - a good flashlight is important to bring, especially if it's your first trip to Petra which it was for us. We decided to do the night walk before our daytime trip - and what a difference it made to see it in the daylight and realize how close we were to the sides of the Siq passageway during the night walk! The walk is only lit by candles (covered with paper) so it is a very dim affair and you will feel better with a flashlight during the way which is over rough and uneven paving stones. Also, security should be more apparent along the night walk as there are a few shady people hanging around in the dark by the site. The only thing we regret is that we didn't spend more time at this hotel - but we will be coming back to the region and will definitely stop here during our next trip!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Djinnii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your comments on tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feel excited to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. The team and I are pleased to know that the hotel facilities and service provided were up to your satisfaction and exceeded your expectations.

We pride ourselves on providing "honest, uncomplicated, comfort" to all our guests and are pleased to hear we achieved our goal. The staff will be very proud to see that they were able to make your stay so great when we share your kind comments with them.

We would be delighted to host you should your travel plans bring you again to Petra.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,392
    1,129
    434
    132
    64
See reviews for
736
1,366
180
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our itinerary had warned us" that standard of accomodation and service in Petra does not compare to other parts of Jordan" However we found all the staff in the hotel were very helpful and the standard of food in the restaurant was excellent. Only complaint price of beer very high!!!
This hotel is the ideal base to explore Petra as you walk out of the front exit you are in the "Rose Red City"

Room Tip: You are so tired after walking around the site you will sleep in any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioan_wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Movenpick is fantastic--beautiful decor, great food, fantastic service. Don't miss happy hour (7-8pm) at the gorgeous bar--Vanessa, Brahim and Khaled H. will take great care of you! Being steps away from the entrance to Petra doesn't hurt either. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided by our employees.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Considering the price of this hotel, the overall service and quality was poor. The food was terrible. When we left, our meal at the airport was not only 10% of the price of the hotel meals, but was also considerably more tasty than anything we ate during our stay.

The internet connection was so intermittent as to be completely unusable, even for checking email. I would have preferred for there to be no internet at all, as this intermittent connection taunted us with the prospect that perhaps if we persevered it would be usable. It never was.

The room itself was OK, and the hotel is located very near the entrance to Petra. However, it is not worth what they charge. Stay somewhere else, you can do better.

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

I have taken note of your comments on Tripadvisor and am very sorry to read that your stay was marred with the mentioned deficiencies. Needless to say that I have discussed your comments with my team in order to avoid such inconveniences to our valued guests in the future.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Right outside the entrance so able to maximise time within Petra and then get back to great hotel. If you want a change one evening then other restaurants are just down the street.
Hotel has convenient car parking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPHWoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

April 21, 2013. Just got back from a site seeing trip to Jordan.
We visited the ancient city of Petra and Stayed at the Mövenpick Hotel right at the entrance of the ancient city.

The hotel is marvelous, build in the Arabian stile. The rooms are great and the service is perfect. Water and possibility to make coffee or the in the room is free of charge.
In the bathroom we’ve found “dead see products” (soap & shampoo) .
The evening meal is a buffet; lots of choice with the possibility to taste some local dishes? This 5 star hotel delivers the 5 star service, great hotel.

From the hotel it is a 2.600 feet (800 meter) walk to entrance of the clove and than 0.75 mi (1.2 km) to the Petra famous “treasury” building. Easily to do on foot in April (24° Celsius) .You don’t need a horse or carriage to bring you from the entrance to the end of the clove. Save your money to get a ride back in a carriage after you spend the whole day walking up and down in the sand. Ask the price of the carriage ride when you enter the site, so when you return you can discuss the price and don’t get hustled.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller/IT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

The team and I were delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us at the Mövenpick Resort Petra and the service and facilities provided to you exceeded your expectations.

Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you not in the too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Our accommodation was booked through Jordan Direct Tours as part of a week and a bit long tour. Checking in was straight forward at 5pm. This hotel is quite literally across the road from the main entrance to the main Petra site. Overall a nice room, clean with all the standard amenities, plus the bar fridge came with half a dozen complementary daily cans of soft drink and a packet of chips. Shower pressure was low but hot.

There was a roof top garden that had a closed sign on the door but some staff invited us through and we could have ordered drinks if we’d wanted. Staff overall were quite friendly throughout.

Breakfast was nice but no more memorable than most others. We didn’t eat at other restaurants at the hotel but went 50m up the road to the ‘Red Cave’ which was very nice.

Tip: If you want to order an ice cream, I’d suggest buying two single scoop cones as the second scoop always appeared to be less than half the size of the first.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GR8FUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,540 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
872 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
P Quattro Relax Hotel
P Quattro Relax Hotel
#1 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Property: Movenpick Resort Petra
Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'in Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing