We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2013 - Visited For Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movenpick Resort Petra
Ranked #6 of 40 Hotels in Petra - Wadi Musa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We visited this hotel for lunch only, and our visit was very pleasant. There was security and scanners at the entrance with kind welcoming guards. The entrance lobby was impressive and comfortable and in traditional eastern style. The bathrooms were as the rest of the hotel very clean. Our meal was very nice, very fresh and lots of choice from the buffet, and the restaurant very hygenic, and air-conditioned.

The big bonus to this hotel is it is only a few minutes walk across the road to the entrance of Petra.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oh-But-Is-It
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your time with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,741 - 1,747 of 3,347 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

A modern hotel as close to the Petra site as one could get.

Although apparently a 5 star Swiss hotel it disappoints.

The staff was correct but hardly warm and hospitable. The corridors were dark and the room was small with no place to put things except to live out of our suitcases. Hanging space but no drawers.

The outer doors to the lobby were left open even tho’ it was cold out with the result that the lobby and adjacent sitting areas were cold. None seemed know enough to close the outer doors.

The buffet meals were adequate but nowhere near as good or as exertive a selection as we had come to expect during this trip. The seating area of the dining room was inadequate and there was often a wait to find a place to sit. Obviously the hotel caterers to large bus group all of who seem to eat at the same time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

I have taken note of your comments on Tripadvisor and am very sorry to read that your stay was marred with the mentioned deficiencies.

Needless to say that your comments will be discuees and shared with the entire team, in order to avoid such inconveniences to our valued guests in the future.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed there 12 March. Superb hotel with an excellent location. Service, rooms, security, and breakfast buffet are all excellent. Due to the Syrian issue they were particularly vigilant with secuirty including using scanners. Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Petra entrace. You can't go wrong. Also stayed one night in the Petra Guest House. Interesting hotel with excellent service and a world class bar but not quite as nice. Even closer to the entrance. I am glad we tried both.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

very nice place, interiors were classic/ancient, looked very nice. the aroma of the cakes coming out of the lobby cafe filled the place.. very nice.
The rooms were clean and well maintained. the furniture was maybe a bit old but was still comfortable. The rooms had a complementary mini-bar filled with water and soft drinks and was refilled daily.
Of course location is perfect just next to the petra gate.
The breakfast buffet was brilliant, very good tasting food with quite a good variety.
Staff were great. We booked our room at reception (no prior booking) and the managed to sort everything out on the spot!
The only problem with the hotel was the A/C. It was not cooling at all. The room was too warm and I couldnt get much sleep due to that.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our week in Jordan and all felt that this was one of the best hotels of the trip. It is beautifully decorated with elegant public areas as well as gorgeous rooms. Our rooms overlooked the atrium; we enjoyed the sound of chatter percolating up but if you think this would bother you request a room on the other side. The children loved the complimentary mini bar and also enjoyed using the (very cold) swimming pool.

On both evenings we had Moevenpick ice cream (highly recommended); breakfast was average.

The staff were all friendly, welcoming and professional.

The hotel's location is second to none - an easy walk to the ticket office as well as restaurants and souvenir shops.

I would highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again should I be fortunate enough to return to Petra.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor. It goes without saying that I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay at our resort and that you were satisfied with the services and facilities provided by our employees.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Enough said about the location, but, after a long day it does make a difference !
Rooms were OK with complimentary soft drinks, water etc. Very useful for a day in Petra, mind you, you do not want to lug around 1.5kg in your back pack, so we decanted into smaller bottles. Fruit juices were useful for a lunch drink after all that climbing.
Breakfast was well organised with a good selection. Hint, when you go in there is a samovar with hot water, tea pot & a selection of tea bags so you can make your own rather than the weak tea from the jug.

Room Tip: Try to avoid West facing rooms as it heats up in the afternoon & AC works overtime. For Petra ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raffles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your kind feedback on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the services and facilities provided exceeded your expectation.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Mövenpick Resort Petra in the not too distant future and assure you already in advance of our best care and attention to your comfort.

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

You'll stay here for the location, and the hotel knows this. The property is older, but the public areas are well-kept. The rooms, on the other hand, are not. They obviously haven't been updated since the structure was built in the mid-90s. And for the cost of the hotel, it's very disappointing. The air conditioning works only minimally in the cooler months, so we ended up sleeping with the doors open to the street both nights. The street noise on Wednesday night was crazy--tons of booze-fueled arguing, techno blaring from car stereos, horns honking all night long.

Breakfast is continental. We went early in the day to avoid the raucous families, of which there are MANY. Children rolling on the lobby floors, fighting amongst themselves, and tantrums galore. It's almost as if the hotel doesn't want you to spend any extra time on site. On a different note, a sign posted on the doors to the rooftop bar stated that the bar was closed, but didn't state when it would reopen.

My two biggest grips, however, have to be: pay-by-the-day WiFi access (although, we only ended up paying for the first day, as the password kept working for our entire stay) and the staff's general level of English, especially by the concierge staff. We were planning to do a hike on the second day, that our guidebook said required a climbing guide after a recent death, and when we asked for the opinion of the concierge, he didn't understand that we were asking for a hiking guide and not a guide to the basic Petra layout. We resorted to the most basic English and hand gestures, and he still didn't seem to understand, so we just gave up.

We also discovered the staff is open about requesting cash tips, as they let you know the line on the bill will be put into the group pool and divided up evenly.

The food is poor value for money, and much better can be found at The Red Cave Restaurant just around the corner. Unfortunately, the first night we were exhausted from the previous two days in Wadi Rum, so we made the mistake of ordering room service. A mistake we did not make twice! The one good thing I can say is that they carry a rose by Jordan River Winery that is now one of my favorite warm-weather wines.

If you're a serious travel without children, I would recommend looking elsewhere.

Room Tip: The superior room 'upgrade' faces the street, and the street noise can make it hard to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWAISSI, General Manager at Movenpick Resort Petra, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Mövenpick Resort Petra.

They are an invaluable source for us to review our performance and strive to achieve excellent standards of product and service to our guests.

Hopping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Petra

Best regards,

Abedrabo Twaissi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Petra - Wadi Musa hotels
0.0 mi away
Petra Moon Hotel
Petra Moon Hotel
#2 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Petra Marriott Hotel
Petra Marriott Hotel
#7 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
1,010 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petra Guesthouse
Petra Guesthouse
#5 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sharah Mountains Hotel
Sharah Mountains Hotel
#4 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Rashid Hotel
Al Rashid Hotel
#3 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
530 reviews
0.9 mi away
Petra Sella Hotel
Petra Sella Hotel
#11 of 40 in Petra - Wadi Musa
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Resort Petra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Resort Petra

Address: Tourism Street P.O.Box 214, Petra - Wadi Musa 71810, Jordan
Phone Number:
Location: Jordan > Ma'an Governorate > Petra - Wadi Musa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#2 Business Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
#5 Family Hotel in Petra - Wadi Musa
Price Range: $154 - $789 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Resort Petra 5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the hidden city. The Movenpick Resort Petra is the ideal starting point for exciting excursions to the ancient City of the Nabateans. It also offers an enchanting atmosphere for you to relax and unwind as never before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Movenpick Resort Petra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moevenpick Resort Petra Hotel Petra / Wadi Musa
mövenpick Petra Wadi Musa
Movenpick Resort Petra Jordan/Petra - Wadi Musa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing